Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

21 Feb 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2018
8.0

Beautiful hostel and loved the art deco theme. Common room space was great, the kitchen was good too and location...honestly doesn't get any better than that! Really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rosiemclister3291
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
11th Feb 2018
7.7

There were no lockers available, but worse, the door to my room was constantly left open (it also had no light in front of it in the hall way, so actually unlocking the door was very difficult) so i didnt feel like my belongings were safe at all to be honest. Other than that, the bathrooms were good, the balcony area is really lovely and everything was clean. Location is ideal :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Feb 2018
7.4

The hostel is located in a really cool building, but beyond that we didn't love it there. Facilities were ok, but not always clean - kitchen often messy & unclean. Atmosphere felt very hyper & loud, although this may purely have been down to other guests, a lot of who seemed inconsiderate of others. Staff were friendly, although not always easy to find as not always at the reception desk. It's an ok place to stay, but not up there compared to others in NZ.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2018
8.3

I perfectly fine Hostel for the price...definitely has more character than most Hostels in NZ...a Large, useful and inviting kitchen...plenty of Lounge space and a Nice Balcony for a morning coffee overlooking the Street!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jan 2018
8.6

Just stayed for one night in a private room but it was a lovely place to stay - very cute and homely. Good location, seemed like a nice atmosphere but we didn't spend much time in the hostel itself. Great value for a private room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2018
9.4

This is a great location but they need another kettle and toaster as it's busy at breakfast and one of each wasn't enough. Staff helpful and friendly. Table tennis, snooker table, board games, books and dvds so there is a lot available otherwise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2018
10.0

Great hostel, would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jan 2018
6.0

We were really disappointed after reading all the great reviews. There was no parking although it said so in the description. We booked 2 beds in an 8 bed dorm which turned out to be a 10 bed dorm without any explanation. Some toilet and shower stalls can't be locked, microwave didn't work and there were no security lockers. Unfortunately we had some really disrespectful room mates ruining our stay. The location was great though and breakfast was good too. The common area was quite comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2018
9.1

I had a good stay at Criterion Art Deco Backpackers. Its location is fantastic, right in the heart of Napier, and its facilities are good, with free breakfast provided every morning. The bathrooms and toilets are very clean, and there are laundry facilities available at the hostel too. Wifi didn't really work within the rooms, but it works fine in the common areas. Security was good with the downstairs door needing a passcode entry after 20:30, and the room doors having individual keys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nickmcneil1255
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2018
8.0

Great room but the long term Tennant's were very unfriendly. Irish bar across the road was too loud as were the beggars on the street. Left early and decided the 400kms drive home was more appealing than trying to stay there another night. Sorry 😐

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×