Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

21 Apr 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ezangl3032
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2018
5.1

Maybe I just had bad luck but my mattress was extremely saggy, so I could actually feel the slatted frame underneath. The woman who seems to be running the place didn’t seem too friendly either. Having breakfast included was nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • drew_wilson11631
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2018
7.1

Very basic breakfast enough for all. Room standard. Clean but basic. Towels supplied, shower was Okay, clean. There are activities like pool table and table tennis I think in the other room. Location is excellent close to all shops restaraunts and beach. They have 3 parking spaces close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jimijazz1010
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Apr 2018
8.9

Really nice art deco building. Great kitchen, pool table, ping pong & location is superb. Stayed in a private room so unsure how clean dorms were. Showers hot & decent. Not the liveliest place but neither is he town tbh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Mar 2018
8.3

Great location and good kitchen and common areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2018
7.7

Great to have breakfast from a budget accommodation. Needs maintenance as lights missing and door locks. Situated in a great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dero6662525
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2018
8.3

Only stayed overnight checked in at 6pm gone by 10am. Room was as expected. Lounge and kitchen facilities looked good but only walked through. Will stay again next time we're in Napier

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Mar 2018
8.6

I don't really know how staying in this hostel feels like, because I cancelled my stay last minute and that wasn't a problem at all. So thanks a lot to the hostel! And the location is perfect. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • janerogers6445
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2018
8.9

I absolutely loved this place and wish i had booked for longer i am going back next week! Great communal space, relaxed atmosphere, considerate other guests. Room was fine but overall it is let down by the shower/toilet facilities, which need updating urgently. weedy partitions between toilets, showers etc is not great when it is mixed facilities! The location is a dream - the only drawback being no parking a d even drop off is difficult.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • oreilly97918
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2018
2.9

We booked this accommodation in January last. When we saw the dorm we were allocated it was dark, very small for three people with no facilities inside- no hooks to hang things, only a small window looking out onto a messy inne courtyard. Later we found 2 other people in our room saying they were sharing with us.,The staff was most arrogant and unapproachable. Other rooms were open and not in use. Seems they are trying to sell the hostel. We left after 2 nights instead of 4. Our worst hoste

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • astridbreck754
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2018
7.7

Old building, not the cleanest, but very charming though a bit worn down. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very nice location - 2 minutes from the ocean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×