Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

28 May 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ellieedwards04119002
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th May 2018
8.3

Excellent location. Right in the middle of town. Staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2018
9.4

Great staff, thanks for a great weekend. They have recently taken over the place and are very helpful people. Good value for money. The location couldn't be better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Apr 2018
7.1

Basic accomodation but very clean and central for the price. We stayed in other hostels for the same value that were awful so we were happy with this!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kathyctierney4264
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2018
5.7

On arrival we found the staff slow to respond to our questions and easily confused. We paid for 2 nights, yet after the first night we had a knock on the door waking us up asking us if we were staying a second night, we were told we had to pay now, we said we had already paid. On a number of occasions we herd, presumably the owner, speaking to staff about their work and about other guests in an aggressive tone. There was no toilet tissue in any bathroom one morning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2018
4.6

Awful, won't be staying here again. Didn't feel safe or comfortable. Arriving at reception, the receptionist didn't seem to speak English very well and couldn't understand me or most of the people she served. I was disturbed during the night because of the connecting door that led to the adjoining room. People would turn the light on and bump into things on their way. A man sharing my room seemed really drunk and started talking loudly to himself and me (I think) he seemed out of it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ezangl3032
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2018
5.1

Maybe I just had bad luck but my mattress was extremely saggy, so I could actually feel the slatted frame underneath. The woman who seems to be running the place didn’t seem too friendly either. Having breakfast included was nice though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2018
8.6

Nice art deco design which is cool to stay in, right in the centre of town. A bit worn down but this is fine as a trade off for the nice design. A bit hard to figure out who is working at the hostel to ask questions when needed as no one is generally in reception. Cleaning knocked on my door before I'd checked out, seemed a bit unnecessary especially given the hostel was half full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • drew_wilson11631
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2018
7.1

Very basic breakfast enough for all. Room standard. Clean but basic. Towels supplied, shower was Okay, clean. There are activities like pool table and table tennis I think in the other room. Location is excellent close to all shops restaraunts and beach. They have 3 parking spaces close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2018
8.9

Really nice art deco building. Great kitchen, pool table, ping pong & location is superb. Stayed in a private room so unsure how clean dorms were. Showers hot & decent. Not the liveliest place but neither is he town tbh

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2018
9.1

Staff at the desk was great. Absolutely amazing, accommodating, friendly and hard working!! The owne was intense and it was a little shocking overhearing him speak unprofessionally about staff members and business overheads right in the common areas. Other than that, things were clean and relaxed. Good atmosphere, quiet during week but busy on weekends. It was a bit cold so bring layers. Wifi worked well in common rooms (not in dorms, but thats ok it draws ppl out). PERFECT location. Thanks!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×