Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Curiocity Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fabianhualpa1317
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
12th Aug 2018
5.1

Calm atmosphere, safety rooms and lockers, somebody in the staff is cool.. Somebody not. The hostel is in a safety street, but the rest of the zone is very unsafe, as in the Joburg city center, there is a high risk of robbery if you walk alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2018
9.4

Amazing welcoming place. Staff was so nice! The tours they offered are great too. Definitely recommend this place. Ask the staff where to go when you want to go out. The street itself is safe, but other nearby areas arent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cloweet137202
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jul 2018
10.0

Really fun place to stay, the staff were very helpful and informative. The location is great with lovely restaurants. Thank you for making my stay in Johannesburg so pleasant. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laura_152433
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2018
9.4

We were only staying for one night but the staff were very helpful and it was clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2018
8.0

Good and clean, nice staff and day tours arrangements.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccajdavies5385
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
10.0

Really friendly and fun hostel, on a road with 24/7 private security and a good selection of shops, art galleries and places to eat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
10th Jul 2018
8.3

Great staff!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2018
10.0

This hostel is lovely! I heard a lot of things about Joburg being unsafe but I was happy in this hostel and this area. they do have their own security on the streets. the hostel is also one of the cleanest I have ever been to! I wasn't sure what the communal bathrooms would be like but they were incredibly clean. Everything was easy to use, wifi was solid, I loved my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
9.1

The area and vibe of the hostel is awesome. Can’t beat it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2018
10.0

Everything a hostel should be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×