Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Curiocity Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2018
10.0

Perfect for a solo traveller-- lots of chances to meet & mingle with people. The hostel offered great tours (though not the full range of those advertised). There were lockers in the dorm, just provide your own lock. Best of all, they had my big three: hot showers, comfy beds, and consistent wifi! Overall loved my stay and was sad to leave! Just wish they served some kind of food or snack in the bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2018
10.0

I really enjoyed this hostel. There are activities every day, the staff are wonderful, the location is a super cool hipsterish neighborhood and the beds are SO COMFORTABLE. I wish I couldve stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2018
9.7

A great hostel in a trendy part of town. I gave this a 4/5 for atmosphere, but this is a matter of taste. I enjoy hostels that have a cozy, uniting atmosphere. This makes it easy to meet fellow travellers. This hostel had a bar which is open to the public, and pretty popular. This made it feel less like a hostel. But others will consider this an asset.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • prajwalrgyawali
  • Nepal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2018
10.0

If you are staying here, you must do the walking tour organized by the hostel. Bowny was absolutely stunning with the amount of knowledge he had about Joburg and made really good movie suggestions of SA which I am now back home and watching. I have done around 20 walking tours around Europe and Asia, and Bowny's was one of the best ones. The hostel is great! Super clean with incredibly friendly staff. Also, there is an ATM inside the hostel so you need not worry about going out to withdraw.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2018
8.0

Great choice for Johannesburg. Maboneng is a cool area, lots of trendy bars and restaurants plus security on all the street corners. Great tours from the hostel also

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gabrielaklein2469
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Apr 2018
9.1

Good hostel, with a super friendly staff and in a secure venue, with 24/7 security. They can arrange everything for the guests, from secure transportation to tours. Only lacks a bit of that hostel environment, as the bar is open to public in general, not only for the guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rayhaaniqbal3548
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2018
9.7

An amazing hotel, great place to meet people and staff are even better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2018
8.6

Had a great time at curiosity, place is safe and street and neighborhood is okay, but you got to stay alert at all times! If they had free breakfast would be a perfect stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2018
8.9

Super easy to make friends at the hostel and I felt safe in the neighbourhood. The staff makes you feel very integrated , almost like a local. It's nice to do the City or Soweto tour in the day and enjoy the vibrant neighbourhood in the night. Loved this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jajaskingdome3033
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2018
10.0

All the staff were lovely, supportive. Great social vibes, best place to meet people on similar travel paths,and local people to the area too. Close to loads of restaurants, in range of most things 15-20 mins from everywhere really. Lovely at night, no worries at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×