Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Curiocity Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 658 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Oct 2018
9.1

Good location close to the public transportation and water front area, the stuff was very friendly and very helpful, the hostel safe and secure, I enjoyed the stay 😊✌️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • espinozamartin7230
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Sep 2018
8.9

Great place. Great people staying there. The only problem was the reception. No willingness of helping. Wrong bedroom given. Not really caring. Staff at the bar was great and kind though. The internet is not the best in the bedrooms but it's not an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AmyVictoriaShaw
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Sep 2018
9.4

Very safe and secure, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Sep 2018
9.4

All staff were consistently very friendly & helpful despite being very busy. Comfy, clean rooms. The only negative was that sometimes the plumbing didnt work well but staff quickly address such issues. i think that the owner should invest in plumbing improvements.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2018
9.7

This is such a great hostel! My favorite thing was all the awesome and affordable walking tours and activities they offer around the city. The bar area attracts both locals and travellers so you'll have lots of opportunities to meet new people. Staff were also super welcoming, friendly and upbeat. Well done CurioCity!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2018
9.1

On one of the safest blocks in Johannesburg with 24 hour security, I felt safe at Curiocity. Their guided tours and group gatherings are one of the best I’ve witnessed. I had a great time with the staff and other guests. The only concern if any is that the bathrooms can be pretty far away from your room depending which room you’re in. But it’s really nothing of concern. Will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2018
9.7

I only stood the night n got there on a late night. However, I did love the place. People were friendly n living it up. Security was awesome, felt safe. It is a party vibe type of place, so beware of noise but that didn’t brother me. He place has everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fabianhualpa1317
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
12th Aug 2018
5.1

Calm atmosphere, safety rooms and lockers, somebody in the staff is cool.. Somebody not. The hostel is in a safety street, but the rest of the zone is very unsafe, as in the Joburg city center, there is a high risk of robbery if you walk alone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your time and we are happy you had a wonderful stay! Safe Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2018
9.4

Amazing welcoming place. Staff was so nice! The tours they offered are great too. Definitely recommend this place. Ask the staff where to go when you want to go out. The street itself is safe, but other nearby areas arent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your time and we are happy you had a wonderful stay! Safe Travels!

  • cloweet137202
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jul 2018
10.0

Really fun place to stay, the staff were very helpful and informative. The location is great with lovely restaurants. Thank you for making my stay in Johannesburg so pleasant. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×