Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2018
4.6

dirtiest kitchen iI have ever seen, I did not feel safe staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • zainabaniaz
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
4.9

Love the receptionist. Lovely guy during night shift. One thing i love about this place is just their receptionist. The building is under renovation. Holes everywhere, and i dont feel safe going to toilet at there are a big hole at the 4th floor and just covered by piece of wood. The room is not so nice as the guest put their stuff all over the floor and our room smell really bad. For the same amount of money better booked somewhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • laurenlouiseblack590
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th May 2018
2.9

One of the worst hostels we’ve staid in! The building needs some serious work, it is old, dirty, stinks and everywhere (including the rooms) is freezing cold! You might as well stay outside! The two men on reception are lovely but that is the only positive about this place! the toilets and showers are vile with cold, weak showers and smelly toilets! They are also miles away from the rooms! The health and safety of this building is very concerning! DO NOT STAY HERE

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th May 2018
6.3

Unfortunately the hostel is currently going through some major building works, which I was not made aware of prior to my arrival (May18). The cafe and the bar were both closed and there was a huge hole in the ceiling. The dorm (4 bed) was fine, basic but with a small locker per bed and a small window. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was miles away from my dorm, with only 1 per floor. The bathroom was freezing and the showers are appalling, dirty and very weak. Good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • catherinelj20152666
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2018
6.9

Big kitchen, friendly reception, but the housekeeper staff was not nice. No matter I went to the bathroom in 9 or 10 or 11pm, she was always cleaning there and didn't allow us to enter into there. I asked when she start and finish work, then I could avoid this period. But she refused to answer. Not pleasant experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2018
7.1

Without assigned beds, it was a free for all and nearly impossible to tell whose bed was whose. Otherwise it was fine for how cheap it was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jamiejoana
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st May 2018
3.1

It was the worst hostel I had. The only possitive thing was the friendliness of the two guys at the reception. The woman wasn't friendly. The elevator didn't work properly. The whole hostel was a construction site. The kitchen wasn'nt clean at all and there were hardly any facilities. Sometimes there was plastic cutlery, sometimes not at all. We don't even had toilet paper in our first room. In the second one we had to change the beddings ourselves. The lockers for your luggage were expensive.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2018
7.7

Corporate style hostel so not too much atmosphere but good enough for a night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phoebehood5218
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Apr 2018
4.6

Just awful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2018
4.3

The building was having interior renovations done to the lobby because it looked like a light fixture had torn off and fallen and shattered all over the floor. The floor had broken concrete and glass scattered all over and caution tape all over half the lobby. In addition I was then told that because I had arrived before check-in that it would be an additional $8 storage fee to store my bag in a downstairs locker... I canceled my reservation and booked with United Backpackers instead.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×