Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2018
9.1

Great hostel, lots of facilities on each floor, clean and large showers and super comfy beds. Sociable and friendly atmosphere with plenty of places to chill and meet people. It is a large capacity hostel, so it's not exactly the quietest place at night, but to be expected in hostel life

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Feb 2018
5.7

"Our REVIEWS need a massive boost. In response to past REVIEWS we are giving it our best effort to improve in every way. Come and stay, give Discovery Melbourne a go. Talk to us when you are here, give us your feedback. " you can read these words on the website of the hostel...bullshit! The place is completely a mess and dirty. There is no free breakfast, but on the website they say that there is. No forks, no bowls, just plastic glasses.. Positive thing = location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jacquelinemicklewright446
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2018
3.7

There's a saying. You get what you pay for.. well, this still isn't worth it. The cleanliness of the place, or lack off is shocking. The showers don't even work, handles missing off. Beetles on kitchen wall. Really really smells. Toilets are gross. Ppl all hanging outside smoking and drinking. When i had arrived at 1:30am i thought there waa a que foe a nightclub, with the tunes pumping. Nothing positive to say really.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • megandavies-19949645
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2018
5.7

This hostel is by far the worst I’ve ever stayed, and I’m not one to normally be bothered by a bit of mess or untidy rooms. The kitchen particularly is crawling with cockroaches, has no fridge spaces, I couldn’t find a single fork for the entire 4 nights I was there, you could barely see the floor in my dorm room and there was no aircon. Other than that it was great!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • amz_edmo9553
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2018
8.3

After reading reviews I was unsure about my stay but was pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again! Rooms were clean and beds were comfy, only down fall was no air-con (got very hot at night)! Good hot showers and bathrooms were clean. Perfect for a couple of nights whilst in Melbourne :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2018
7.4

If you are after a cheap place to sleep and don't mind the noise and heaps of people then this is a hostel for you. There are ~750 beds available and so it is a massive hostel. Reception is always busy and sometimes with a long wait. Due to the share number of people, it is a bit messy and some rooms very messy and crammed. But for ~$20 a night, it is a reasonable place to stay. Didn't use the kitchen so can't comment on that. Staff are friendly but super busy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • belencastroaranda1471
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2018
8.0

It's a serious Hostel. Beds very comfortable. I was staying in a dorm with 6 beds and with 8 beds. Problems... kitchen full of cockroaches. Thre is no cutlery!! So it's very uncomfortable try to cook anything!! No glasses and no rags. Internet only in the kitchen and doesn't work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Feb 2018
7.1

Cheap rates for a good spot. You get what you pay for. Nothing could make me use that kitchen. Bathrooms definitely need more attention. All tolerable, sheets clean, reception friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • raraujo33888607
  • Peru, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2018
5.1

I guess my first hostel I ever stayed at set the bar to high because this place brought it right back down. Cockroach all over the kitchen. Drunken people banging on other people doors and not to mention the heat and humidity in the room I was staying at. Although it was a 12 person coed room I believe. The locker they provide barely fit my backpack and to actually keep you main luggage secure you have to rent a locker for 8AUD for 8 hours. Staff was awesome though and bathroom were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • emilyewart3747
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2018
3.4

Worst hotel I've stayed in. Noisy inconsiderate people keep you awake all night. Doors are propped open all night, a girl got her bag stolen whilst I was there. No proper kitchenware to eat or cook with. Showers were rubbish. The whole place needs a revamp. It's not even worth the cheap price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×