Hostelworld.com

Discovery Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 1783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 1783 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lauraderita
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2018
8.3

Honestly not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Construction is happening so you have to deal with that sometimes but it was clean, comfortable and the roof top is a great place to drink,smoke and meet people. The only thing I will say is the the top bunks are very high and have no railing so if your scared of heights (like I am) try to get a bottom bunk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rpappalardo7175029
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2018
4.3

The pictures don't represent the actual place, it actually looks like a construction side there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2018
8.9

The two nights were quite peaceful. Nice price for a 4 bed room. But I realised it was cheaper than ever just because they were doing some renovations. It was a bit loud in the morning. And I really suggest them allowing checkin earlier. 2PM is a bit late. 12PM-1PM would be better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
2.3

Worse hostel ever!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • SEast94
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Nov 2018
6.6

After reading reviews prior to our visit we were prepared for the worst. Fortunately when we arrived we were surprised to find this hostel is not as bad as people say. Though there is a big difference between floors 2 and 3. We stayed first on floor 2 the kitchen was clean, beds were comfy and great showers. We returned for the cheap price and we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. The kitchen smelled of death and was very dirty. Rooms were overcrowded. We asked and next day moved back to floor 2

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • yanelr8299
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2018
3.4

Horrible and to many people. I book for a 6 bef room and they put me in a 10 bed room. They don't change me because the place was full when i already pay for a room of 6. Without lockers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • hannah-mcgee
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Oct 2018
5.7

Hostel is currently under renovation and as a result is dirty and noisy from the building work. Staff are very pleasant and can't fault them at all. In a great location although initially hard to find as main entrance is on the side of the building.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2018
2.9

The hostel was terrible, the pictures are nothing like the place. The whole hostel is underconstruction. This also included maintanance in our room at 8.20 in the morning. There aRe no public toilets you can use after checkout, the luggage room has a mixed smell between fish and sweat and is a complete mess. Lifts are often not working, in the kitchen there are only plastic cuttlery, almost no pans, cups or bowls. The rooms and beds are okay, but it seems that they only clean unless you ask to.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mrwilljacobs8775
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Oct 2018
3.7

Rooms themselves are spiffy. Clientele are not. Nor are the hallways you have to walk through to get to your room. Had to wait in an hour and a half line to check in because they skimp on reception staff. Don't recommend staying here, but if you do, book a slightly more expensive room so you aren't sharing with the lowest end of society.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2018
4.3

After waiting almost two hours in line to check-in, there were no lockers or anywhere to put our stuff. There was no bathroom outside of the rooms so couldn't use one during the long wait. The luggage room was very over crowded, and anyone could walk in from the street and come in the unlocked door. The staff was too busy to monitor who was taking things from the luggage room or coming into the hostel. Didn't have much of a vibe at all. It was a bare bones room with a central location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×