Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dongshan Catalpa Garden Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
6.6

The location is perfect! However, the bed wasn't cleaned from the last guest and they told me I had to clean it....ew. So I wasn't pleased with that. The rest of the room and the bathroom were moderately clean and the staff was just ok. Overall it's cheap and staying for one night was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
6.9

Toilets inside the rooms have no doors. So the whole room was smelling like a toilet. I almost vomited, but it was so late when I checked in, that I couldn’t change to a hotel. Literally a torture. The whole Hostel is dirty. Doesn’t look like anything gets cleaned. Location is very good though. Staffs were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jun 2018
8.6

Good place! The beds are quite big with reading lights, the lockers are a decent size (with padlock provided). The common space upstairs is fantastic, with an absolutely adorable cat. In a very typical neighbourhood with good small restaurants nearby, metro a very short walk away. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2018
10.0

Great quiet little hostel. Perfect for the business traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thargreaves1127
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2018
9.1

Good location near the tube, big recently upgraded rooms. Roof terrace needs some work doing on it, and the wifi was a pain to log in to. Staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your generous rating. We've recently introduced a super wifi but due to the legal requirements, guests need to log in. We make this process very smooth and easy for everyone now.

29th May 2018
10.0

Easy Check-In, good location. Has towels, toiletries, vanity, etc in the private rooms. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot! Couldn't wait for your next visit!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2018
9.7

They’ve introduced a new wifi network, which is the fastest I’ve seen in any hostels in China. Well done! It seems that the hostel has just finished renovation so I don't see a lot of people when I was staying there. The rooftop garden is very cozy, with a free public kitchen, pool table, foosball, table tennis table and a jukebox.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot! Your word "THE FASTEST INTERNET" means so much to us. We've spent a lot of efforts on making this super wifi. See you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2018
4.3

The place was dirty and under construction. The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful, they didn’t bother to give us some tips of the surroundings, even when we asked! Both the gu and the lady were extremely unpleasant. Definitely couldn’t be part of any list of reasonable hostel in China.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry. The place has recently finished the renovation in the hope of making great experience to our guests. We've checked the camera to see what happened at the time, but have no clues yet. We'll contact you for more details. Very sorry.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2018
6.9

The staff was really helpful but the hostel was under construction so things felt a little disorganized and less clean. WiFi only available at the front office.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we’ve finally set up the SUPER WIFI NETWORK. Now the internet speed is (supposed to be) on par with that of 5-star hotels and internet cafes. We’ve rebuilt all network cables, adopted premium network equipments and introduced a leased line. Such heavy investment on WIFI is unprecedented in any hostels. Please come and tell us how you feel about our super network now. ~ 11 April 2018

31st Mar 2018
5.1

We had a horrible stay here. The staff did not clean our room for the 3 nights we were there, construction was happening outside our room starting early morning each day, planks of wood in the narrow hallway, and the wifi only worked if you stood in the reception area next to the balcony.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry for the renovation, which is done now. All dorm rooms must be cleaned every day. For the private rooms you stayed, it's cleaned every day whenever it's empty, unless our guests ask us not to do so.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×