Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dongshan Catalpa Garden Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2018
9.7

They’ve introduced a new wifi network, which is the fastest I’ve seen in any hostels in China. Well done! It seems that the hostel has just finished renovation so I don't see a lot of people when I was staying there. The rooftop garden is very cozy, with a free public kitchen, pool table, foosball, table tennis table and a jukebox.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2018
4.3

The place was dirty and under construction. The staff was extremely rude and unhelpful, they didn’t bother to give us some tips of the surroundings, even when we asked! Both the gu and the lady were extremely unpleasant. Definitely couldn’t be part of any list of reasonable hostel in China.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2018
6.9

The staff was really helpful but the hostel was under construction so things felt a little disorganized and less clean. WiFi only available at the front office.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we’ve finally set up the SUPER WIFI NETWORK. Now the internet speed is (supposed to be) on par with that of 5-star hotels and internet cafes. We’ve rebuilt all network cables, adopted premium network equipments and introduced a leased line. Such heavy investment on WIFI is unprecedented in any hostels. Please come and tell us how you feel about our super network now. ~ 11 April 2018

31st Mar 2018
5.1

We had a horrible stay here. The staff did not clean our room for the 3 nights we were there, construction was happening outside our room starting early morning each day, planks of wood in the narrow hallway, and the wifi only worked if you stood in the reception area next to the balcony.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bastientirel1602
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2018
9.1

Everything was very good - nice and helpful staff, clean and large rooms, good location, VERY promising new rooftop... BUT: the Wifi works super bad: in fact it almost does not work at all, especially from the rooms...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry for our recent renovation. WIFI is VERY GOOD now. The internet speed is (supposed to be) on par with that of 5-star hotels and internet cafes. Please come and try it!

  • zacharyantonick6029
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2018
9.7

Nice clean room, good security. We only stayed for about 6 hours since we had an early train to catch but overall everything seemed nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2017
8.9

the dorm door cannot be closed. that is the only weakness that i thought.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×