Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dongshan Gaga Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • richardrobson12177
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2018
6.6

Stayed 3 nights. Each night there was a (different) Chinese guy smoking in the room during the night. Stank the place out and made it feel very nauseous. In addition to this, the air con unit would drag in smoke from smokers in the street below adding to the issue. Shower could probably do for someone about 5ft 9 but not above. Toilet room was often flooded and smelt disgusting. The bed’s springs were literally bursting out of the bed. Very uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2018
9.1

Well located and good facilities for the budget traveller. Friendly staff who spoke good English were helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rg27106263
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2018
9.4

Hostel is pretty good. The common room area on the top floor has a pool table, table football and table tennis, all in good condition. Rooms are reasonable size, they're cleaned each day. Hostel puts on events a few times a week, I did a free dumpling night (which they put on due to a typhoon hitting GZ), made our life's a lot easier as no shops were open for food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2018
8.0

Good location next to MTR line. Clean and spacious private room although sink is located in your bed area and not in bathroom area. Big open space area on 3rd floor with ok speeds for internet sometimes it drops. Seem liked there was a lot of locals or students traveling as many were studying when I was there during the week. Top floor and social area smells kind of funny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
6.6

The location is perfect! However, the bed wasn't cleaned from the last guest and they told me I had to clean it....ew. So I wasn't pleased with that. The rest of the room and the bathroom were moderately clean and the staff was just ok. Overall it's cheap and staying for one night was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
6.9

Toilets inside the rooms have no doors. So the whole room was smelling like a toilet. I almost vomited, but it was so late when I checked in, that I couldn’t change to a hotel. Literally a torture. The whole Hostel is dirty. Doesn’t look like anything gets cleaned. Location is very good though. Staffs were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jun 2018
8.6

Good place! The beds are quite big with reading lights, the lockers are a decent size (with padlock provided). The common space upstairs is fantastic, with an absolutely adorable cat. In a very typical neighbourhood with good small restaurants nearby, metro a very short walk away. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2018
10.0

Great quiet little hostel. Perfect for the business traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thargreaves1127
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2018
9.1

Good location near the tube, big recently upgraded rooms. Roof terrace needs some work doing on it, and the wifi was a pain to log in to. Staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your generous rating. We've recently introduced a super wifi but due to the legal requirements, guests need to log in. We make this process very smooth and easy for everyone now.

29th May 2018
10.0

Easy Check-In, good location. Has towels, toiletries, vanity, etc in the private rooms. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot! Couldn't wait for your next visit!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×