Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostels - Darwin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2017
8.0

Average hostel. Good value for what you pay. Dorm room is a bit cramped but bed is comfortable enough. 2 kitchens, 3 fridges, bbq facilities, communal areas, jacuzzi. Big plus - free all you can eat bbq on Tuesday nights. Minus - perhaps have an indoor eating area as well. Also, need to promote events a bit better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lindseytite8962
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Nov 2017
7.4

Was only staying there for a few nights but the rooms were clean, and the receptionist was helpful when I had to leave! Didn't make full use of the facilities there, but looked good anyway!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andrewquirk9632
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Oct 2017
8.6

Downunder is a great place to stay, always fun interesting people to hang out with, the staff are always happy and efficient. The Jacuzzi is a selling point and very relaxing outdoor area with bean bags. It's a bit more chilled than some of the hostels in Mitchell Street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cheroeliassi
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Oct 2017
7.4

Very chill and cool place to stay if you are in to basic accomodation. big plus is the washing machine, tv room and the chill areas!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Oct 2017
4.9

I arrived at this hostel and they let me in before my book in time to sit down and use the kitchen however they didn't tell me when my room was ready I had to ask and there were so many flies outside landing on your legs all the time. When I got into my room I put my bag down and there were really little insects walking around maybe small spiders or ants so that made me not want to put my bag on the floor. The luggage room is in the garden with no key to open it anyone can walk in and take it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI You are in Darwin, in a sub tropical region. If you can't handle insects, I would suggest you to move to another country asap. Maybe you had food in your bag, which is attracting insects, and this is why we ask everyone not to put food in their bag or the room Small tip : Rooms are ready at 2PM all around the world. Sorry to have make you walk 10 meters to ask us Lugagge room has cctv, and besides a roll of our toilet paper, nothing has ever been stolen there. Have a nice trip

  • izabellahillier2987
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Oct 2017
10.0

It was my first time in Darwin and the hostel was great! Really good atmosphere and the staff were awesome :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks a lot for your review, it means a lot to us We will soon start renovations, hostel will look amazing :) Have a great trip !

4th Oct 2017
8.0

The hostel is OK. No complaints but no great accolades either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your review We will soon start renovations, hostel will look amazing :) Have a nice trip :)

  • Thalmr06
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2017
5.4

Rather dirty and not well maintained. The hostel appears to be used by a lot of frequent labourers, who live there during the week. It desperately needs a deep clean and upgrades. On the positive side, it's quite enough at night and they offer extras, like free bbq dinners.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Hostel is cleaned 3 times a day. we are the cheapest in town with free wifi, laundry, and brand new matress As we way up here, see you in the NT :)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2017
9.1

matress was soooo confortable. nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Merci pour ta review :) Have a nice trip

22nd Sep 2017
8.9

down under was great. i was in darwin for 6 days and i heard a lot of stories from backpackers who moved to down under from other hostels because (apparently) most of the other hostels in darwin are terrible (or so i heard). free wifi & laundry, a shaded outdoor tv and hangout area, two kitchens (one of which is open 24 hrs), and AC so cold you'll wake up shivering in the middle of the night thinking you've died and gone to antarctica. what's not to like?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review :) It means a lot to us. Soon we will renovate the bathrooms, and put a deck area next to the jacuzzi. Will look sick :) Have a great trip

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×