Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostels - Surfers Paradise

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2018
10.0

Great hostel with welcoming staff and everything a backpacker could ask for. Saving a lot of money with having free internet, free laundry and proper cutlery available. The kitchen is spacious too and the showers, toilets are fresh. It works well to stay here wether you're here to party or to relax. Pool table and playstation games with quizes or sports games are other good things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2018
8.9

Down under hostels was a very nice hostel. The amenities were really good, the kitchen was spacious and clean, toilets and showers are very clean. The rooms are also very clean and nice. The loaction is excellent as it is 1 minuet walk to the mall, the clubs and food restaurants, the rooms were spacious and clean. There is alot of people from different countries so its very multicultural. I Would highly recomend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
6.0

The late check out at the hostel is very nice. The beds are terribly uncomfortable. The hostel is also quite loud at night, as some rooms have doors that enter right into the tv room, which is supposed to close at 11 but every night the tv was on at a loud volume all night with people hanging out. The kitchen was a good size but sometimes dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • atkinson_jessi4588
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2018
8.6

Decent place. Great location. Staff seemed cliquey as I read in other reviews. Toilets and showers are newly renovated and great, wished there were lockers in the rooms, and possibly a better way to store bags in the rooms. I’d stay again, it’s across the street from the beach

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danalarson111441
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2018
4.9

I have no idea how this place got such amazing reviews. The only positives were friendly and helpful staff, and cheap but good coffee in their cafe. The kitchen was a disgusting mess all 5 days we were there and completely unusable. We counted at least 4 cockroaches casually crawling on countertops and walls. Only two sinks on top level to wash up. Sinks in bathroom and kitchen were clogged. Both mattresses had painful springs poking out. Smokers right outside door.Staff are deleting bad reviews

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • harriet100519968035
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
28th Apr 2018
8.9

We stayed here one night and enjoyed it. The bathrooms and showers are clean and modern which are nice - and the kitchen facilities are clean also. There is also free use of the washing. Machine and dryers which really came in handy ! The only bad thing is that there were no lockers in our room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2018
10.0

Awesome! I spent 2 nights in this hostel. Friendly staff, rooms are clean. Free laundry, free wifi, PS4, tv, free iMac to use, kitchen is very clean. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • whammick
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2018
10.0

Over the moon with the hostel, super friendly staff, great facilities, pool cues need new tips and rental surfboards need new fins, but otherwise I had a sick time, made better with the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2018
7.7

The front desk people were a little cold and many of the people at the hostel were longer term residents/employees who mostly stayed in there on own groups. It’s a clean well kept hostel but the vibe is kinda clicky and when you walked in to the common area not many people even looked up or engaged. Might have something to die with hangovers from partying. The facilities were nice, pool table, cafe with cheep and decent coffee, and large TV. NEEDS new pool cues and more than 4 cloths dryers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2018
8.3

Aside from the bed itself, this hostel was great. Things were pretty clean, helpful staff, great amenities, very good location, organized fridge but the bed itself was very basic. Seems that metal bunkbeds are common in Aus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×