Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostels - Surfers Paradise

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michelletodd9182
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2018
3.1

Do not stay at this hostel! I was supposed to stay here 3 nights but left after 1 because I felt so unsafe. People were doing drugs in the hostel, random people were walking in and out of my room who weren’t supposed to stay there but they happened to know the pin code. Random people were banging on the door all night and got no sleep. My bunk bed was missing a ladder and the hostel was unclean and smelt. Staff were also very rude and didn’t care when I told them people had done drugs

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • claudiavassou3155
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
8.9

Mattress uncomfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
9.1

Free laundry. A massive TV in the common area and a pool table up stairs. For the price it's a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hannahchurchman8442
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
5.1

Staff were very blunt, room smelt, near to town but town was s**t so not really worth more than one night in this city went to a cool techno club elsewhere which was nice but not much else to do

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kellie5642411
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2018
4.6

The staff are out right rude. When I arrived they had no manners and abruptly barked orders at me about the deposit. The room stank! Multiple people complained while I stayed as it really did smell To top it off as I was leaving I slipped over, my feet completely or from me as they had just mopped the floor. I couldn’t even get up and no one offered help. I would never recommend this place not even to my worst enemy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2018
6.9

alright for the price clean bathrooms and showers useful kitchen with lots of oven tops/sinks and free silverware and plates, but there were lots of cockroaches running around they countertops stayed in quad and room was very small there was barely any space for luggage, not even under the low beds some bottom bunks are double beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jun 2018
6.3

Location (proximity to the beach and Greyhound bus terminal) was excellent, common room is cool and free laundry is also a positive. However, we found the staff checking us in to be rude and unprofessional. If staying here don’t be distracted by the Mac computers- the bedroom was extremely basic (white walls and a bed), was unclean (stains all over the roof, window full of cobwebs, bugs on the floor, dirty carpet) and we saw cockroaches in the toilets on 2 occasions.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2018
7.4

Positive side: the location is really good, just next to the sea and also near the most Central Area, free laundry, staff was really friendly. Things need 2b improved: it's getting really cold in June, instead of heater, AC was turned on and we can't find a staff to turn it of after 8pm. We all slept with our sweater, another night the heater was like turned to the max, it was so hot in the room, and just suddenly it jump to the AC after 2am. I didn't have any good sleep during my stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • stuartmichael1235384
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2018
9.4

Staff were helpful when we checked in, they had a lot of people checking but went through everything they needed to. Rooms had a pin code which was ideal as didn't have to worry about losing a key, the rooms were a bit cramped(we were in a 6 bed mixed). Atmosphere was brilliant, we felt welcomed by the other people staying there, plenty to do every evening which led to an enjoyable stay, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Jun 2018
7.7

Really lovely stay in this hostel, the free WiFi isn’t bad! Also the free washing and drying is definitely a bonus!! Toilets and showers pretty clean mostly, until the evenings really when people were going out. Would definitely recommend. There is also a shortcut to/from the greyhound stop - when you get off don’t head to the main road go the other way and past a car park it’s even quicker! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×