Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostels on Harriet

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th May 2018
8.9

I loved staying at Down Under and I’d highly recommend it! Super friendly staff, cool outdoor area to relax in, excellent location and overall good vibes here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ecmck75833
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2018
4.9

I wouldn’t recommend this hostel. The showers and bathrooms are awful, they have signs up blaming the guests for it, not them. They have a tiny kitchen upstairs that you have to go looking for and the layout wasn’t that great ! There was a security code for the front door and rooms but the front door was always wide open anyways so anyone could come in. The room was okay, not the dirtiest but not the cleanest. Just overall wasn’t a great stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th May 2018
7.4

It was ok, only spent one night. Nice big common space out the back with kitchen facilities. Dorms are small but not bad, my bunk didn't have a ladder to the top bed though! A.C. was just about ok. No lockers. It was good for a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ! Lockers and renovations will be done soon ! Definitely need an upgrade Enjoy your trip in Australia :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2018
2.0

Grubs living in the dorms full time. Stuff everywhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
2.3

This hostel was the worst hostel I have ever been to! We arrived to the hostel, I paid straight away,but It was my fault that I didn't check the room before I paid. The room was extremely dirty, it looked like a prison cell not like a room. There was no window at all only bed with dirty mattress and pillows, one bin in the corner and small tv. The owner or a guy working there was rude and We left after few minutes cause I couldn't stay there any minute. Save your money and find something better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2018
8.9

Staff were great, full of travellers and good location. Is noisy on the weekend and fridges were full but a great spot. Crackers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2018
6.3

Very friendly hostel. I met great people, interesting conversations. But unfortunaltely, it was so dirty! I saw the cleaners work, and they were not putting any effort. They say that the backpackers are dirty, not the hostel, but I don't agree. I left early because we found bed bugs and coacroches in my room. Probably the best hostel vibe in Darwin, but the less clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2018
8.9

Good location in Darwin, not far from the main street and grocery shops. Kitchen upstairs is too hot. There should be signs on the cupboards in the kitchens to find the cutlery, pans, plates, etc. and it is a challenge to fins even a small space in the fridges (there are 3) as a lot of people are staying long term here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2018
8.6

Nice place a touch out of the centre of Darwin. Very helpful staff (Arnaud especially nice!) and clean rooms. Good chill out area too, and it was nice for a one night stop over. Free laundry a bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review :) All the best :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2018
8.9

Lovely staff, not a party hostel, good WiFi and air con, comfy bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×