Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Down Under Hostels on Harriet

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Sep 2018
8.0

Cool hostel to party with. They have cool activities every night. It wasn't the cleanest hostel but is okay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2018
8.3

Free laundry available 24/7. Very comfy beds. More quiet than you would expect for a backpacker hostel. I was pleased with my stay. Good wifi, too. Was upgraded one night to a better room, thank you very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2018
9.1

Loving vibe! Great deals on longer stays. Cleaners constantly clean. They happily make sure the place is perfectly clean just prior to guests arriving. There is enough kitchen facilities - like everywhere - choose a quiet time to fill up. Or rub shoulders to meet people in the kitchen. Some people are grubby in rooms - that happens everywhere. The locks are all pin code locks - that some guests stupidly make unlocked - if a child leaves a deadbolt on your house door open wouldn't you fix it?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review. All the best !

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2018
10.0

Nice people. Great deals on longer stays. It's the COOL place to be! Give them a call! Love the late check out not stressy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • TannerMiles98142024
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2018
5.7

I need more character allowance to complain about this. Sign posted said must be 18-35; no way 2/5 of my roommates were under 35, maybe in dog years. Those same 2 roommates smelled absolutely terrible. One of the worst smells I’ve experienced in my life. I could run for 50 kms in Darwin weather & bathe in my sweat and not smell this bad. Other roommates complained about it to me also. A/C was on but was prob less effective than a chinese folding fan. Very dirty. Kitchen ext dirty. Roaches. Etc

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dannyhayes935707
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2018
4.6

Facilities are awful. Water pressure is next to none so poor showers and struggle to wash up with sinks. A lot of rooms occurred bed bugs. Broken things don't get fixed until weeks (or sometimes not) such as washing machines, toilets. The code for all the rooms are the same and theres no lockers. The only good thing was the atmosphere and the people but due to dry season ending, majority of people have left. The old manager left and was replaced who is far from a people person to say the least

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jun 2018
6.3

Was ok for a couple of nights, wasn’t the cleanest of facilities but they all worked. Noise was quite loud after 10, but if you want to party this will be a good option. A bit out of the way but only a 10 min walk to the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2018
8.9

I loved staying at Down Under and I’d highly recommend it! Super friendly staff, cool outdoor area to relax in, excellent location and overall good vibes here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ecmck75833
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2018
4.9

I wouldn’t recommend this hostel. The showers and bathrooms are awful, they have signs up blaming the guests for it, not them. They have a tiny kitchen upstairs that you have to go looking for and the layout wasn’t that great ! There was a security code for the front door and rooms but the front door was always wide open anyways so anyone could come in. The room was okay, not the dirtiest but not the cleanest. Just overall wasn’t a great stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th May 2018
7.4

It was ok, only spent one night. Nice big common space out the back with kitchen facilities. Dorms are small but not bad, my bunk didn't have a ladder to the top bed though! A.C. was just about ok. No lockers. It was good for a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review ! Lockers and renovations will be done soon ! Definitely need an upgrade Enjoy your trip in Australia :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×