Hostelworld.com

Edinburgh Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 7807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 7807 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2018
9.4

My private room was small but very clean. Bed was comfy. Staff were great. Only negatives about my stay were my room faced the alley which got quite loud late at night from drunk passersby, but nothing earplugs didn't almost cancel out. There were two shared bathrooms on the side property away from the main hostel where I stayed, and one wasn't working. Not ideal. But a great location & a nice little stay here for a decent price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There was indeed one bathroom out of service during your stay, as it was being renovated. The works have now been completed, meaning there are 2 additional toilets and an additional shower in the building. Enjoy your travels, we hope to see you again.

  • cnizet1266014
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
9.1

Comfiest hostel beds ever

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jeaninemnwilliams8127
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
5.4

Good price and fantastic location. Unfortunately, the staff are lazy and seemingly everywhere. I never once went into the kitchen (small), common room, or tv lounge without staff already monopolizing the area. They close the kitchen at random times for cleaning (20-30 minutes before the listed cleaning period?) I often heard the staff blasting music between 2-4am while doing laundry in the reception? The place is clean and safe but there's a million hostels around the same price and location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to see that you felt so negatively towards our staff. In the week that you stayed with us, you never once came to speak management about any of your concerns. As you can see from our high ratings on Tripadvisor and Hostelworld.com we pride ourselves on being kind, helpful, respectful and available to all of our guests. During your stay the hostel was at full capacity on your first 2 nights and at 80% capacity for the remainder of your stay. I’m unsure how you have come to the conclusion that it was only staff using the common rooms in a hostel that has space for over 180 guests. Maybe smaller hostels, not aimed at partying and socialising would be more suitable to your needs. Happy Travels

  • mo14gr1231
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
9.7

The location is unbeatable! Staff was friendly. Showers were a little bit inevitably dirty but clearly cleaned every day. Safe environment. Bed's were comfy and each bed had an outlet next to it. Be aware- bring 10 quid for a deposit on a locker rental and for the access key :) Would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make it as obvious as possible on our Hostelworld page, regarding the key deposits. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again in the future 

  • chiarabortolameolli6862
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
7.7

The location is perfect and the staff friendly and always available. Sadly the hostel is freezing, there is no heating in the bathrooms and the common room is very cold as well. The dorms are extremely dirty, I doubt the floor have been swiped in a month. You can smell the dust from the top bunks and see tons of it under the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not have heaters in the bathrooms, but as long as the windows are closed we find that it’s quite warm in there. The dormitories and common rooms have heaters, which can be turned on, off or up at any time by guests. At no time during your 4 night stay did you speak with a member of staff about your concerns regarding cleanliness. Every room in the hostel is vacuumed every day, including under the beds. Enjoy the rest of your travels

26th Oct 2018
6.9

Very well located from train station and city centre. Toilets can use some upgrade and cleaning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2018
9.7

Edinburgh backpackers has the perfect location, right in between Waverley Train Station and the Royal Mile. The airport link bus also departs from Waverley Bridge if you are flying. We stayed in the private room and it was excellent. Very comfortable and spacious room - only thing is be ready for some stairs as the private rooms seemed to all be on the top level.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fionajdunbar3409
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Oct 2018
8.3

Great location on the Royal Mile. Friendly, great facilities - a treat to be able to cook! Beds were fairly comfortable. Would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2018
10.0

Great location, friendly and helpful staff Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2018
10.0

Very nice bedroom with ensuite bathroom! It's also right in the city center, so perfect for the sights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×