Hostelworld.com

Edinburgh Haddington Place Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 35 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 35 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • madelinemac23220
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Aug 2018
10.0

This was an excellent place to stay, I would highly recommend it and will stay here again on my next trip to Edinburgh. The wee restaurant at the hostel down the street is extremely good and very handy to Haddington. The food was excellent, as were the staff, plus there was a great atmosphere about the place. The staff at Haddington were also excellent...friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nickimetcalf777746
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2018
9.1

It would have been great if the staff were more informed about the buses and trams. My only serious issue was the quality of the mattress in the room, otherwise I recommend the hostel most highly and will be staying again without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2018
8.9

This is not a hostel but rather University Halls of residence been used for accommodation during the summer holidays so don't be expecting the usual hostel facilities. Just visited Edinburgh during the festival and this provided very reasonably priced accommodation when you consider hotel costs during the festival. Room was very clean and secure, the bed was comfortable and a good size, plenty of room for bags storage etc. Location is very good, just a short walk to Princes St (10 mins).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • daraogbradley9464
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
8.3

Great location, and it was clean, although fairly basic. The staff were super friendly, and on my last day, gave me a great recommendation for brunch, which I'd never have found without the tip and it was gorgeous.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • abhiarumbakkam4130
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2018
10.0

Great hostel, excellent, clean facilities, very friendly staff at reception during all times. A hot drinks vending machine in Reception will be a good addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2018
4.3

Pros: A Good mattress & excellent security. However, the moment I walked in my room it was dirty. Stained pillow sheets, an uclean toilet & several hairs on the bed. The facilties for a single private were poor. No toilet brush, only one pillow, no free towel & no do not disturb sign. Staff were occasionally pleasent but often disinterested & often only reluctantly helpful. Atmosphere: it’s not really a place to meet people, more of a hotel vibe. No events are put on that I was aware of.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
31st Jul 2018
9.1

Is a really nice place and the people that works there is amazing!... The only problem is that there is no kitchen but apart from that everything is really good an extremely clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2018
9.4

The best word to describe Haddington Place is sterile, and I mean that in a good way. This is not a hostel that you come to in order to meet people. Instead you'll be guaranteed a small, sparkling white private room with 24/7 access, lots of hot water, and a great location. Mattress wasn't deluxe but I slept well. Definitely not a lot of soundproofing but it quieted down around 23:00. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×