Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Escarabajo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
8.9

Amazing group of friendly hard working staff. They kept the hostel so clean and the atmosphere was really familiar and friendly. It is a pretty basic set up- 6 person shared dorm is quite a squeeze and shower is pretty crap but at least it's clean! Good location too and great value for money. Really recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2018
6.0

I understand that everyone smokes around here but (especially the staff) should be a lot more respectful about this! Even if it's raining outside, no one should be allowed to smoke in the doorway with half of the smoke blowing in the kitchen, especially when we're cooking diner that's just gross. There was also a staff member rolling his cigarettes on the kitchen table (like wtf) and it's not like he even bothered cleaning up after himself. Could've been a much better experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • meghumphrys3423
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
9.7

I had a great stay at Escarabanjo Hostel. It was at the end of my trip and I wanted somewhere relaxing to chill and see a few sights. A solo traveller. I was one of the few guests at the hostel just out of timing more than anything being quiet season. Many more guests arrived the day I left. The staff were lovely, helpful and welcoming to what felt like a bit of a family. I had a great stay. The building is old but full of character. It’s a nice homely space to spend sometime and relax. Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hew923580
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
31st May 2018
8.0

Quiet place, and not a massive atmosphere of you're travelling alone but the staff are welcoming and helpful if you have questions. The wifi is good, showers warm and the breakfast is lovely (fruits change each day). Beds are a little creaky and stiff and the bathrooms could have a little tlc but its just general wear and tear

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • claudiaalbujart1951
  • Peru, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2018
8.9

Me quedé por una noche, el lugar es pintoresco y el personal muy amable. Estuve en una habitación compartida de 10 personas, cada uno cuenta con un locker propio y un baño compartido limpio y con agua caliente. Las reglas obligan a los huéspedes a apagar la música después de las 12am, lo cual es conveniente para los que nos levantamos temprano.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2018
5.1

We only stayed here one night despite booking five- the staff were nice on arrival but the showers were cold and the kitchen very very small. When we told the staff of our decision to move the atmosphere changed completely and they made us feel very awkward and bordered on rude/hostile. And also when I asked about payment and the deposit they told us that it was Hostelworld’s fee and nothing to do with them and made us feel as if we were in the wrong.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • och13
  • Guatemala, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2018
8.3

The location is great, I just didn't like the fact that at 11pm you have to be silent or leave if you want to drink or talk to friends, specially if it's a Friday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • celinepirotte124395
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2018
10.0

Not one complaint about this hostel! It’s in the right destination, the staff are amazing and always there to help you! Great value for money, would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Mar 2018
8.0

Not much atmosphere in the hostel. Nice location up in the hills and good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2018
6.0

The staff was more interested in talking to each other then to actually work. Asked if they had laundry service and they called someone that was going to pick it up. Next day i see the bag is still there, the girl just shrugged and didn’t care. Said he didn’t show up.... well then tell me at least! There was a reason why wanted to do laundry! No apology or nothing. She just kept talking to an other staff member and didn’t care.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×