Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Essential Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2018
6.9

Generally a great price/value for Budapest. Don't expect cleanest bathrooms or best free breakfast though...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks mate, see you soon! Essential Team

30th Dec 2017
9.1

I really enjoy my stay at Essential. The staff was especially helpful, when I needed information and guidance for solving a problem and getting around. A great community of hostel goers have found their way there, and my time with the people was among the best parts of my trip to Budapest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2017
8.9

The hostel a son very entertaining with all the good quotes everywhere. The stuff was super nice. The only not so happy thing was that during breakfast 40 euro got stolen from my wallet in the little case next to my upper bed. So lock all your things all the time with the small locker you can get and everything will be fine :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are sorry for your loss, since than we have installed cameras to each sensitive place of the hostel. Happy New Year friendo! Essential Team

16th Dec 2017
5.1

first, we put our luggage in the safe room till the time of check in, after we coming back we discovered that there were 200 Euros has been stolen from my friend's bag. secondly they added additional 3.66 Euros although it is written on online receipt that there are no additional fees. thirdly, water pushing is not working properly , the thing that I couldn't take a shower because of it finally, you may think it's individual case, but when you decide to go to that hostel, you will know im right

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are sorry for your loss, since than we have installed cameras to each sensitive place of the hostel. Happy New Year friendo! Essential Team

  • jhamilton154345
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2017
6.3

LIghts burned out in room. 8 person room cramped. Heater broken.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! We are working on the light issue, thanks for the feedback and sorry for the mistake. Take care, Essential Team

  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
9.4

Everything was great, only the breakfast was empty half hour after starting, so don't count on that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you dear traveler :) See you soon! Essential Team

7th Nov 2017
10.0

Awesome stay and staff. The place is really a great value for money. It would be my first preference for any subsequent visits in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey dear friend :) Thanks a million brother! Namaste

4th Nov 2017
10.0

Amazing experience! Highly recommended hostel in BP.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million dear friend :) Essential Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Oct 2017
7.4

Perfect location. Big rooms. Good storage. Friendly staff. Terrible bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the honest feedback and for staying at us. We will have renovations, hope next year you will have a different perception about our bathroom :) Essential Team

  • alexandertaylor
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Oct 2017
8.0

Cant beat the location. Everything a backpacker needs within a short walk. Showers weren't very clean and always standing in cold water in the cubicles

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×