Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Euphemia Old City Canal Zone

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
8.3

Decent hostel. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm (oddly enough, two bunks and one single). We had two girls who would stink out the room with smoke, so the smoke alarms were obviously not working. We had to open up our windows each day to let fresh air in. Rooms were quite small decor was old and worn, needs an update. Lockers and free padlocks were good. Staff were nice besides the guy kicking us out of the common area at 10:30pm. No kitchen area, just a microwave and coffee machine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2018
7.7

The close the common room at 11 and no kitchen...but friendly staff and in rooms

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2017
10.0

Had a great stay here, staff were welcoming and helpful no matter what the concern was. Would certainly stay here without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amcgovern
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
6.3

Overall not bad for being one of our cheaper options... about a 15min walk/5min tram from the city center. Only real complaint is about one of the receptionists. We had an early flight and had to check out the night before we left, which we had until 11pm to do. Get to the desk at 10.20 and the reception was being very snippy about how he “was about to close,” and he wouldn’t help us w/ questions about airport transportation. Other than that, not too bad for a hostel, but nothing special at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
9.1

Very nice, clean place to stay. Slightly outside of the main area, but very nice to have a place away from it all to go back to. Very convenient to get to off a main road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2017
8.0

Good location and within walking distance of various sites, museums and entertainment spots. Caters very well for your interests as varied as they may be. Staff are friendly and quite helpful for providing information when requested.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2017
9.4

The Euphemia Hostel is located very close to the city centre of Amsterdam. The price is not cheap, but compared to other Hostels in the area it was a very good deal. The staff was very friendly, the room clean and the old building creates a good atmosphere ( the whole equipment is very basic, you should not expect any fancy old furniture, but still it feels much more "real" than staying in a modern concrete building). Overall we had a really great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2017
5.7

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted by a smart mouthed receptionist. We then proceeded to pay our bill, which the receptionist made twice as hard because he kept confusing us over how we were paying. Upon paying the money that we owed for the beds we were staying in for the duration he informed us that we had to pay a deposit for the door key and a lock and key we were never notified about this before we arrived. Thankfully this receptionist was not on duty for the rest of our stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • roisingiles8400
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Oct 2017
6.9

The hostel was fine in general - Helpful staff, clean, safe. Not in the centre of town, but in the canal district, which to be honest I preferred as it made for a nice walk into the old town and out to the local hangouts. The two issues for me were the lack of kitchen, and the lack of atmosphere. There wasn’t really a common room and as a solo traveller I had to work really hard to meet people. Good option if you’re travelling with others and looking for something quieter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2017
7.1

Great location with really friendly staff. We had a room all to ourselves as a group of 5 and only downside was that the automated lock did not allow us into the room in the early hours of the morning. Forcing the group of us to sleep on the sofa's in the reception area - did not feel we had value for money on that evening however good service on other evenings. Would ask the hostel to check key cards / locks as this was realised by the owners / duty staff to not be our fault.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×