Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

European Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 780 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2018
6.0

If you're looking for cheap and a good location then it was great but nothing other than that. Pretty dirty overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2018
6.3

Not very clean. But the best is you can cook food in public kitchen and meet different people there .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2017
2.3

the bathrooms were terrible and disgusting. i am not sure the woman who clean there do the toilets. never again. especially with the prices being so close at other places. the new management was a huge turn off.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You did not stay at the hostel and you were asked to leave because you became extremely angry in the morning because we could not check you in until the prior guests had checked out. You came back in the afternoon after allowing you to leave your bags in our storage and you still were aggressive. Safety for our guests is our priority and you were asked to leave. I'm sorry you do not like the staff

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2017
5.7

Location good in a sense its reslly close to bart station and you can walk to pier 39 -45 min more or less. Situated in a bit bad neighborhood, my local friends suggested me not to go out during the night as a girl traveling alone. My roommate bag got stolen from our room while she was showering. The staff could be more nicer and enthusiastic about their guests. Its just a normal hostel and you really get what u pay for. The best part is ofcourse the fellow travelers that u will meet there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. That is correct, we are centrally located and an easy walk to all your major attractions. Thank you for bringing the staff's attentiveness to our attention, we want to provide you with the best customer service possible. Your roommate's bag was not stolen, she had misplaced it and found it a day later and apologized for implying someone had stolen it. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Oct 2017
2.9

Quite dirty place (mainly the fulled with fungus bathrooms). Centrally located but surrounded by quite crazy and mad yonkis, so be prepared for feeling like not going back to the hostal once you leave in the day for walking around. Personel just do their work but not even close to "friendly"

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry you found our accommodations to be dirty. We have daily and nightly cleanings to ensure the facilities are clean. Being a small place it can get chaotic and disorganized but never fungus filled bathrooms. The fun of staying in a hostel is to meet different people from various places. If I were traveling to a beautiful place like San Francisco , I would not want to go back into my room either, why would anyone want to miss a minute of what the city has to offer.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2017
2.3

The Hostel was very dirty and there are insufficient restrooms and showers. The desk clerk was unfriendly and they have no secure place for the luggage. You have to store the luggage in the small kitchen, where everybody can grab you're stuff-

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that we did not meet your standards. We are a small hostel with basic accommodations, therefore to make up for basic amenities, we offer the lowest prices in the city. Our storage area fills up early morning and we allow our guests to store their luggage in the common area where there is surveillance. Perhaps you would rather lug your luggage around the city up and down the hills.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
8.3

I saw lots of negative reviews and I truly think they must have come from people that have never stayed in a hostel before and don't like it, because this was a nice hostel stay. Nothing big or fancy, but clean, quiet, and polite and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are absolutely correct. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are a basic hostel where with the lowest prices. Happy travels and we hope you choose to stay with The European Hostel again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
4.0

Staff are quite short and abrasive, a few permanent residents in dorm rooms make for a weird vibe, the bathrooms are dank, the location is really sketchy, there's a $10 key deposit due on arrival that I didn't know about I actually arrived, the WIFI is super slow/if at all in certain rooms. The only plus about this hostel is the rooftop.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry our staff did not meet your needs. We have 2 guests, in private rooms, who have stayed here for as long as the hostel has been here and most people enjoy chatting with them as they are part of the San Francisco culture. Also, we do not discriminate based on one's financial status as this is all they can afford in this very expensive city. I am sorry that you did not read about the $10 security deposit, it is only mentioned about 3x while making the reservation. Also, I am sorry the free wifi was slow in certain rooms. Our location is not sketchy, we are a few blocks from the City Hall, walking proximity to all the points of interest and transportation and 5 blocks from where The President of The U.S.A stays while visiting the city. I'm glad that the rooftop met your standards.

  • boonyamint1013
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
3.1

Everything is not clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry we did not meet your standards. I assure you that our hostel is cleaned daily and nightly.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2017
5.7

Ultimately you get what you pay for. It's not the best but it is pretty cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. We provide you with economical accommodations so you can save money to enjoy our beautiful city. We are a no frills hostel but still provide free wifi, lockers, free luggage storage and free coffee and tea with a fully equipped kitchen.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×