Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flora Macdonald Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • despoinanalpantidou929023
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
3.7

The location is very remote with nothing around and it is quite difficult to find the hostel. The closest ATM is in Broadford around 25 minutes away. But for us the worst thing was the really dirty room and bathroom. It smelled awfully, like shoes, the bathroom was old, really dirty and in some parts broken. The common kitchen was also dirty. We were also asked to pay in cash even though we did not have with us and we hadn't been told so ( we wanted to pay by card).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rochellebloch5521
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
6.6

Lovely setting, but poorly signposted once off the main road, one sign has a left pointing arrow crossed out so unclear that you need to take it!. On arrival there was no sign for reception / office so we ended up phoning the manager who was offsite, despite there actually being someone in the office. Room quite small with two bunk beds for 3 people. No freezer compartment in the fridge and difficult for all guests to use kitchen at once. Kitchen equipment limited. Mat in the shower soggy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jiayee17102540
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
6.9

A good place near the river but the way to the place was difficult to find. Rooms were air conditioned and clean with big space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexdawson20148
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2018
7.7

This place does what it says on the tin. It's a great hostel providing affordable accommodation. It's not the Ritz but it is clean. All bedding had been laundered and the room had been properly hoovered and cleaned before our arrival. The kitchen facilities are great especially the use of a frdge. Helpful locals too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2018
8.6

Lovely view, bit remote. Clean but dated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • prrpeter6807
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2018
10.0

very pleasant stay and staff was wonderful and down to earth

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • armcinnes1097
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2018
9.7

An ideal location in a quiet corner of Skye. Although it is at the southern tip the travel to the far north is a pleasant drive with a host of places to see. The facilities are much better than most hostels offer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vteutschlaender2147
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2018
5.1

The View is amazing, but that is everything great about that place. It is overpriced, interior is old and it is far from everything. We stayed there because everything was fully booked. Should have rather camped!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • donshambelino9898
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2018
10.0

Lovely stay with Fiona. Superb views and very comfy. All the facilities you could ask for and great advice on things to do and see. We will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×