Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flora Macdonald Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ging3rbeast9431
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2018
10.0

Very clean hostel and room, the staff were very nice and welcoming, would definitely recommend to anyone going to the area. We had a great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2017
2.9

I traveled there with my sister and my little baby. We arrived at hostel at 7.30 pm and surprisingly no one was there and it just looks like an abundant building. The hostel located quite far from main road but I am not sure whether it was setting at end of the road. When we were there, only one room which has lights on in it and its actually the hostel space with dark kitchen, toilet and room. We felt so scared because no one was there and we ran off to the car immediately.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2017
6.6

Would have been nice is the food people had left in the kitchen was moved to the dustbin before it went rotten. Otherwise very much as might be expected from a budget hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
10.0

I didn't stay in hostel before in my whole life First time experience which is cant express... I like it very very much As I normally stay in b&b but after I stay hostel I will stay till I got family This hostel location is amazing Hopefully see you again sometimes Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
5.1

Ok but needs a makeover- not kept particularly well, with old flooring, furniture, windows that need repairing. A small room for the price. The person in charge wasn't very happy/friendly. Overall I wouldn't recommend, sadly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
6.3

We had our own room which was warm and comfortable with a sofa. Unfortunately it otherwise felt a bit basic and unloved. The shower room was damp and the main building was kind of shabby. It could perhaps do with some revamping.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.4

Nice hostel in a beautiful location! A little basic but had everything we needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.7

Right as you come off the ferry so a good starting point. Staff were quiet but helpful and got us settled. Amenities were good and we enjoyed our stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.9

This out of the way stay features an incredible view, excellent self catering supplies and a warm and adequate bunk. Downsides are distance from stores or restaurants, and less than helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×