Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flora Macdonald Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nutboltholt1185
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2018
8.9

Views to die for. Staff very charming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alanwilburn8503
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
10.0

Stayed for two nights this week the hostel was located amongst so amazing views, Daria was very helpful, would Defo stay again 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mihneavladturcanu7534
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
10.0

We had a fabulous stay! Daria was very welcoming and the place was ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gillhulme8226
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2018
7.1

Warden very helpful and friendly. Hostel though very tired looking and needed refurb. Beautiful location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ceciledhirsch1271
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
6.3

The location is so brilliant that it seemed to us that the place was hardly being maintained at all. It could really use a little refurbishing and the facilities are really minimal. One single shared shower for three family rooms -that's 12 people- with no washbasin, not a shelf or a towel rack. Only washbasin in the toilets. Only one toilet for 12 people. There's only one member of staff and she's hardly seen at all. A real pity as the location is indeed wonderful. Classic example unfortunately

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2018
9.4

Lovely welcome from Daria. The room was very clean and kitchen contained everything we needed. Very close to the ferry terminal at Armadale which was great. Lovely views to Knoydart, with some very pretty horses in the field adjacent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mfrickel3055
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2018
4.6

The ‘Hostel’ does not fulfill the qualities of a hostel. The room where we slept stank awful. The furniture and kitchen equipment is not in good condition. It looks as if it was found on a chunk yard. The kitchen was dirty - esspecially the fridge was full of old food and extremely dirty. In the shower was mould. No reading lights in the sleeping room. We have been staying in several other hostels in Scotland, and I do not understand, how you can take such a dirt cave in your hostel association.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2018
8.6

Pros: amazing views, ok beds and facilities, very clean, professional staff, kids friendly. Cons: just a minor one. We stayed at the extension of the house, and the floor shaked every time that someone walked, even if they were in other rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pamrungen6867
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2018
9.4

Very beautiful, remote location. Kitchen had enough crockery, etc. for us to make breakfast. Beds were comfortable and towels were provided. The shower was cold in the morning; we discovered a water heater switch in the kitchen that was off, but had to leave before it may have heated up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2018
9.4

Great place...and clean...there is no shops nearby though...we called the owner in the morning and he provided the bread for us free of charge...that's really appreciating...Wish we had more time... will book again... Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×