Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Dangiecoop
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2018
8.6

I had the most wonderful stay here!! I only stayed here for 2 nights, but I loved it!! It is important to note that it is located in a small beach town, and is an hours shuttle ride away from Amsterdam City. However if you're looking for a city break, or a nice place to relax then this is definitely where you should go!! If you have a few $$ spare then it would be worth paying for a smaller dorm... We were in an 18 bed dorm, and although it was spacious and study etc, 18 people are a lot!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2018
9.1

I have had the best time ever. People are so friendly & the staff is amazing. Breakfast is decent (cereals, coffee, tea, bread, peanut butter or butter) and I didnt enjoy their breakfast. I had to get mine from restaurants. The hostel is close by the beach & 30mns away from Leiden by bus. There is no towel included but linen yes. That’s why I cant give them 5 stars. This hostel is life of the party ... if I have to go back I will do it again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Sep 2018
9.1

Really good vibes, nice affordable bar, kitchen for all. A goodo place, would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2018
9.4

This is an amazing hostel, but make sure to understand it isn’t in Amsterdam. It’s a 45 minute shuttle ride outside, the town itself is small and very pretty plus the beach is outstanding but know you will need to shuttle to and from Amsterdam city itself

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2018
10.0

It was so nice the Hotel and the staff was very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2018
10.0

Comfortable, clean hostel. Does have a smoking room but the bar area is separate so if you're not into that, you can drink and socialize. The hostel is a good home base to explore cities nearby like Haarlem and Leiden, or to get away from the busy cities. I rented a bike and had a beauty ride along the coast through the dunes and a provincial park to Haarlem. Very easy to do with Google maps. The beach is nice and the water was still warm enough in late Sept.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • imabhishek20035261
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2018
8.3

It’s a place with awesome friendly people. Ben is just excellent at managing the place and maintaining high level of active and lively atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2018
8.6

Had a great stay here, wonderful location near the beach and very easy to meet awesome people and chill for a few days. Honestly seemed to be more staff than residents the first evening I was there which was kind of weird for the atmosphere. And the common area/smoking room and bar are full of locals in the evenings as well — great for meeting locals, but can get a bit too noisy for conversations and hard to find travelers unless you met them earlier. Nice place, though; would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2018
6.3

Nice party hostel with smoking room. Too many staff though that are a bit cliquey with each other, makes the atmosphere a bit weird. Showers are dirty and go from boiling hot to freezing cold. Room smelled and no lockers, just small ones for €15. Not a bad stay, but not what I was expecting. Especially consider the amazing times I’ve had in other similar hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccatshailor3087
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2018
6.6

WiFi is completely non functional so if you rely on it for work or relaxation this is probably not the best place for you. If you are looking for a place outside the hustle and bustle of downtown this is a good spot for that, they have cheap shuttle service to get you to and from downtown so you aren’t completely stranded. Getting here from the airport is tough but definitely not worth paying for a cab as it is far and very expensive to do so.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×