Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 8892 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 8892 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2018
10.0

Highly recommend. Sincere welcome from staff. Guests are super social. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Granted I stayed Tuesday to Thursday. Comfy bed and sheets. Location is fantastic. Noise existed and wasn’t an issue. Didn’t have to use the free ear plugs provided. Enjoyed the private bar exclusively for guest. Made things feel safe. I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wooohooo! Thank you so much for your comments! We are thrilled to hear that you would highly recommend us! Once a piggie always a piggie! ;) Great that you found us clean and comfy and that you felt super safe here! We hope to see you on your next trip! Happy Travels! The piggies

  • mpepernieks7054
  • Latvia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2018
7.7

Cleanliness was very good and rooms cleaned daily. Security was good as well with keycard access everywhere. Nice size containers for personal belongings under the beds. Shower was broken and kept leaking. Also, it was changing temperature whilst showering. Breakfast was nice, although I could recommend people not smoking whilst it’s breakfast time as it ruins the whole breakfast meal for others. I smoke too but when it’s that early I’m just considerate of others. Overall a good time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found us clean and safe! Also that you found our under the bed storage ideal for all of your belongings! Our apologies about the shower in your room! We will send our maintenance team there right away, thanks for letting us know! We have 24 hour reception desk and Whatsapp number so you can always let us know about anything you need to during your stay! Thanks again and happy travelling! The piggies

  • hughesanna334223
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
10.0

Lovely welcome! Easy to find. Rooms were clean, with under bed storage for your luggage. Bathroom clean, and they provide a towel. The atmosphere is very friendly. Luggage lockers available for you to store your luggage on departure, reasonably priced at €2 for all day. The staff are extremely helpful, and always happy 😃 highly recommend 👍🏽

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Woohoooo! Thanks so much for your awesome comments! We are thrilled we gave you a good welcome and you found our atmosphere friendly! :) Great that you would recommend us! Thanks for your piggie loyalty! We hope to see you again! The piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2018
10.0

Best place ever. Great Staff especially ya boys Craig n' Francisco!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wooohhheeeeyyy! Thanks for the fabulous review and amazing feedback! We are over the moon to have your title of the best place ever! Thanks for the staff shout outs! We will be sure to relay the message to the boys! ;) Happy Travels! The Piggies

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2018
6.3

I think we just got the short end of the straw here. Our beds were right next to the door, so we could hear everyone coming in and out at all hours. The room was also on the main floor, so we could also hear everything going on in the bar until 3-4 in the morning. This is a very loud hostel, so we would not recommend for anyone who wants to get a good night sleep. The staff is hit or miss, some are incredibly nice and others are incredibly rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to let us know a bit more about your stay with us! We are sorry to hear however that it was not what you had expected it to be. Indeed you stayed in our largest dorm of 32 people so there is always a lot of foot traffic. We have much smaller dorms of 4,6 and 8 which may have been more preferable. We also offer free earplugs at our 24 hour reception desk to help! We were shocked and sorry to hear how you found some of our staff, they normally pride themselves on their customer service so we would like to learn more about this! We will contact you personally to seek to prevent this for future guests! Thanks again and safe travels! The piggies

  • emilybreuninger3532
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2018
5.7

Positives: Great location, seems like a fun hostel to be in for a party atmosphere. I rated a few things exceptionally poorly given an experience my friend and I had while staying in a co-ed dorm where a man who physically and verbally abused his girlfriend at 4am was allowed to stay in the room with us. It was terrifying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay! We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our central location! We were shocked and sorry however to hear about the rest of your comments, we will contact you personally to find out more. Thanks again! The Piggies

7th Apr 2018
9.4

Right in the hear of Amsterdam this hostel was super easy to reach from the train station and it was easy to venture out and walk around the canals. Staff was super welcoming and fun to hang out with. Bed was a bit small for anyone taller than 5'11" or 180cm

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and great that is was a good one! We are pleased that you were happy hanging out with the staff and appreciated our central location for visiting the city! Thanks again and happy travels! The piggies

  • mrw19986333
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
9.1

Great hostel with a chilled vibe and good people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you kindly for your comments! We are very pleased that you found us a great hostel with a chilled vibe ;) We hope to see you next time! The piggies

  • rebeccastlouis728
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2018
8.0

Flying Pig had a great location, clean rooms, and a well-equipped kitchen. My one qualm was their staff. I found the staff rude and condescending especially towards the guests who weren’t there to party and buy drinks at the hostel bar. Awesome breakfast, tight security.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you found us in a great location and our rooms clean! We were shocked and sorry however to hear how you found our staff, they usually pride themselves on customer service, so we were sorry to hear that this was not the case! We will contact you personally about this to see if we can find out a little more! Thanks again! Safe travels! The piggies

3rd Apr 2018
9.7

Great hostel, would stay again. Very lively bar area both nights we stayed. Perfect location, close to train station, shopping, RLD, museums, etc. The big Amsterdam museums are a bit of a walk (half hour or so), but we didn't mind. To get in, you had to use your room key, so it was very secure. I felt very safe. The showers were in the room and were always free when I wanted to use them. Good water pressure. But PLEASE put some soap in the bathrooms; strange to use the toilet and not wash hands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you kindly for your comments! Great to hear that you would stay with us again! We are pleased that you appreciated our nightly events in the bar and also felt secure here! This is something we take very seriously so we love to hear this! Thanks again and happy travels! The piggies

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×