Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mike75eldridge754659
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2018
9.4

Fantastic City break in a superb hostel , knowledgeable caring staff and plenty on offer for breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it! Great to see that you enjoyed your time staying with us. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and happy to see that you also enjoyed our new updated breakfast options. Thanks again, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • rafalszacilowski9174
  • Poland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2018
9.4

Great place, good location; large park right across the street! Comfortable beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day! :) The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • anniewoodall086887
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2018
10.0

This was the BEST hostel in every-way; the location is amazing as it’s right opposite vondel park and a 5 minute walk from the centre. The rooms are spacious and cleaning is done every morning, they have a great breakfast on also which is included. The bar is super social and a great place to meet other travellers and chat to the staff (who are also sooo nice and v helpful). Totally recommend this hostel for solo or group travellers :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey :) Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We really appreciate it and can learn from your experience. So happy to see you enjoyed Vondel Park (staff fave) and Leidseplein which is 5 min walk. Glad that you had a good time making new friends at the bar - our staff love to get to know the guests, we will be sure to pass on your compliments. Wishing you safe travels and that you might come back and visit us someday. The Flying Pig Uptown

5th Apr 2018
10.0

Everyone who had been to Amsterdam recommended this hostel and I'm so glad I stayed here. The atmosphere is so fun, with friendly staff who gave great recommendations, and the smoking room provided a great chance to socialize. Right next to vondelpark and very close to leidseplein/anything else you'd like to see. If you don't like the party vibe then the common area might not be for you, but my room was so close to it and still enough separation to be quiet. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for this awesome review and the 10 rating, we really appreciate it! :) We are happy to read that you absolutely loved staying with us and that you enjoyed our smoking room, location and of course socialising with our fellow staff! :0 Thanks again and we hope to have you back! Cheers. The Flying Pig Uptown!

  • clkni13
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2018
8.0

Very comfy dorm beds, good sized kitchen with plenty of utensils, equipment and storage space. Main downsides were staff were rude and/or unprofessional sometimes and the music at the bar/common area was way too loud - ear plugs are available at reception but I was on the same floor as the bar and through double doors and ear plugs I could still hear the music and had trouble sleeping. Overall a good hostel with most of the right facilities and more of a younger, party presence.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our comfy beds and fully equipped kitchen, but we are surprised to hear that you found our staff to be rude. Our staff rating is usually very high so we would like to know what exactly happened during your stay. Did something occur? We will also talk to our bar staff to keep the music down at night. Thanks again and

  • AkshaySonavne
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2018
9.4

Over all awesome place ,next time I am in Amsterdam for sure I am going to book here . Just take care of the main entrance door guys, had hard time to open it always , lol !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! :) Awesome to read that you loved your stay with us. Our maintenance team had a look at it and fixed it so by now, thanks for the feedback! The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • emilymonroe1234475
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Mar 2018
9.4

This hostel is in an excellent location, right beside the Vondelpark and only a short walk away from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the toilets and showers were clean and well stocked at all times. The hostel also had a really fun atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for leaving this awesome review, we really appreciate it! :) Cool to read that you loved the location, cleanliness , atmosphere and of course our awesome staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • merylcruz25
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2018
8.6

Good location, not at the center but very near to Leidsplein and the museums (Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh etc). Chill vibes at the hostel bar though i didnt go down. the only problem here is if you have big suitcases as you need to get up and down the stairs (a lot of stairs!!) Overall it was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! Nice to read that you like dour location and of course the vibe in the hostel! We apologise for the stairs and we hope that you asked our staff to help you? they are always ready to help. Thanks again ans we hope to welcome you back! The Flying Pig Uptown,.

  • michael_mrm
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2018
9.1

The place is beautiful, but kind of far from the city center, take in mind before rent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, theanks so much for your review, we really appreciate the feedback. Happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the free breakfast :) We hope you had a chance to explore the area around the hostel as there are heaps of attractions and things to do nearby. Thanks again for your time, The Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Mar 2018
8.6

Compared to other hostels it wasn't as expensive, but still quite pricy. The atmosphere seemed very nice with a bar and a smoking room. Lots of showers and toilets on each floor. Rooms equipped with large cage lockers under beds, outlets and lights for each bed. Keep in mind there's a lot of people and it's Amsterdam so it can be noisy with people coming in late. Location is pretty good, definitely walking distance to most things and easy to get to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. thanks you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. Nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially liked the atmosphere, location and facilities! We hop;e that you made use of our free earplugs at reception? Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back! The Flying Pig Uptown.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×