Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2018
9.1

This place is awesome! Right by the Van Gogh Museum and some other tourist attractions, this hostel had a super cozy feel to it, and the staff were super welcoming, friendly, and knowledgable. The bartender tending to my drinking habit kindly indulged me and made friendly conversation. I’m not a smoker, but I’m positive the smoker friendly people loved the fact that there was a smoke room right next to the bar, which looked very popular. Enjoyed my stay! A bit loud outside the entire night tho

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2018
9.7

Although I didn't need to use public transportation at all, it was still a bit farther than most hostels. But it was in a quiet part so can't complain there. Facilities were clean and even had your own bathroom/shower in some rooms. There is also a full kitchen with fridges and you can borrow towels. Smoking room could use a bit better ventilation though. Overall a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2018
4.0

Staff were rude & unhelpful. Showers were awful - run out of hot water. Our beds were not clean (disgusting) when we arrived (at 11 am check in time) and we were unapologetically told we'd have to wait till 2pm for them to be clean. We should have been told when we checked in that they were not clean so we didn't climb 5 flights of stairs and find them like that. The cleaning staff took my expensive micro-fibre towel while cleaning and I didn't get it back before leaving and offered no apology.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it and can learn a lot from your experience. We are sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience at our hostel. Check out time it at 10:30 am. Our check in time is at 11 am so our cleaning team starts at the bottom of the building and works their way up making sure that all the rooms and beds are cleaned. Unfortunately our reception team didn't inform you about this upon check in, so we apologise for the inconvenience . We give guests the opportunity to drop of their luggage in the room so that they can go and enjoy Amsterdam while the rooms and beds are being cleaned. We apologise for the fact that your micro-fibre towel was gone missing but we are happy you got it back before leaving. We will take this up to our meeting to make sure that this gets handled better in the future. Thanks again for your time and safe travels. The Flying Pig Uptown.

3rd Jan 2018
8.3

Very clean and nice rooms. Flying Pig Downtown has a better location and more of the expected "Amsterdam" feel to it. However, Uptown was closer to the major museums which was convenient. Staff was helpful in finding me a close medical location that I needed because of an emergency which was a huge plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! Nice to read that you liked the cleanliness, the staff and both the locations of the Downtown and the Uptown! :) Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back some day! The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
7.7

The free breakfast was awesome but next time I might stay in Flying Pigs Downtown just for the more central location. However in saying this it was close to supermarkets and two different tram stops. Be prepared for the steps though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2018
6.0

It's just okay. They provide a bed in a decent area and the bar is a cool idea. But the bathroom was out of order(for what was said a long time), there was never any soap, and the public bathrooms weren't really clean. Enjoyed the smoking room and the staff was generally very nice. Also a good breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. thanks you for leaving a review, we appreciate it and can learn a lot from your experience. We are sorry to read that your experience with us was average. We always want our guests to have a unique experience while staying with us. We were doing maintenance work in your room and unfortunately the bathroom had to be out of order for that time. We are surprised to read about the cleanliness of the bathroom and will take it up with our cleaning team to prevent it from happening again. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. Thanks again for your time and safe travels. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • krismckenna4522
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
10.0

10 of 10 would highly recommend to anyone. Great location, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, comfy bed, nice hot showers. Everything is clean and beer is cheap. Couldn’t ask for a better stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey :) Thanks for the amazing review! So good to hear you had such a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back sometime. The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • Fabianwebb1215089
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Lots of fun! Easy to meet people! Dining space is a bit small but cozy! Close to city centre but no laundry facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dsaritac57
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2017
9.4

Best hostel I've ever stayed in Europe so far. You can easily meet many people at the bar and in the smoking room. I was traveling by myself but I wasn't by myself at all. Helpful and positive staff. Clean bathrooms, clean rooms, clean toilets. Quite close to Leidseplein and Museumplein. For sure I'll be back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for the great review! So happy to hear you made lots of new friends and enjoyed hanging out in our communal areas. We take pride in keeping our hostel clean and tidy so it's nice to get the good feedback. We look forward to having you back soon. Safe travels :) The Flying Pig Uptown.

27th Dec 2017
8.6

Solid hostel, on rude Australian male staff member lost you the 10 on staff. Other then him your staff was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×