Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Flying Pig Uptown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 6085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 6085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • helenaamelia4118
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
9.1

Really lovely hostel in a good location right next to Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum. Only a half hour walk from downtown (more coffee shops and bars/clubs). Staff were really friendly and helpful and there was always a vibrant atmosphere downstairs at the bar in the evening. I have been to both downtown and uptown flying pig hostels and would thoroughly recommend both.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Darealkash1855
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2018
8.0

Small bathrooms and showers. Tiny steps for stairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2018
10.0

Fantastic hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.3

Overall great stay at uptown. Super close to everything. Everything was a walkable distance. Only downside are there a lot stairs if you’re travelling heavy (in my case) and shared dorms were a little rowdy and intimidating when there are a lot of lads on tour. Regardless, still was able to sleep quite well after a smoke and a pint. 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! With regards to the stairs, as we are an historic building like many in Amsterdam we do have lots of stairs however, all of our staff are always more than happy to assist you with any luggage you have and in future if you have any trouble sleeping in our rooms our reception team will do our best to arrange a more suitable dormitory. In any case, we hope to welcome you again in the future! Thanks from the Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Jun 2018
8.6

I had a really fun stay here, comfortable as well. Met some great and fun people who were in Amsterdam for the same reasons. Only thing I would fault is the vertical aspect of the building, annoying to get around. I would also say that there were no adequate facilities for shaving or brushing teeth, a couple of stand alone sinks would do nicely rather than shaving in a tiny sink next to a toilet...would also like an outdoor area because the smoking room is a bit choking. But overall great stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • genevieveheggarty8017
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jun 2018
9.1

great place good location right near one of my favourite places vondelpark. the rooms were really nice overlooking the park. the common space was really great. would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear that you had an awesome stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Thanks from the Flying Pig Uptown

  • cadevlacos467
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
9.4

First stay in a hostel and I hope the rest of my experiences are like this. First night had wonderful roommates who welcomed me. Drank at the bar which was cool. Highly recommend and in a great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the bar! We hope to welcome you again in the future! Many thanks from the Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
9.7

One of the better hostels around Amsterdam! I highly recommend staying in the vondel Park area as you are close to the city centre, museums and Albert Cuyp market! It’s also much nicer than staying in town as it’s a lot quieter and cleaner! All the facilities were super clean, staff was amazing and breakfast was top notch :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for this awesome review, we really appreciate it! :) we are so happy to read that you had such an amazing stay and that you really liked our location, facilities, cleanliness and of course our awesome staff! :) Cheers again for taking the time to leave a review and we really hope to see you again! :) The Flying Pig Uptown.

  • nthompson409219
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

Awesome hostel for meeting people and great location. Good facilities everything perfect. Bar downstairs was better than most other bars and decently priced. Overall great stay would definitely recommend it to anyone, want to come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for all your positive feedback! We are happy to hear you had a great time and liked our bar so much! We always strive to improve our service and hope to welcome you again in the future. Thanks from the Flying Pig Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2018
10.0

Couldn't have asked for a better place to start my Europe adventure, the perfect set and setting for any new solo travellers, the staff are amazing, helpful, friendly and very I, they make you feel at home, they always go the extra mile to make your experience beneficial, they make you feel like family, I would highly recommend anyone to stay here, right next to vondelpark, 5 minute walk to all necessary facilities and if you ever get confused the staff will always help out, 10/10 every time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and enjoyed the hostel in general! We are always happy to hear that we ensured you had a great holiday. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Thanks from the Flying Pig Uptown

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×