Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freehand Los Angeles

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • afgonz02
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
10.0

Amazing experience at this hostel. Safety, location, nightlife (rooftop patio + pool included), breakfast, valet parking and more. The other side of the coin is that it is a pricey place to stay, but then again, you get what you pay for. Overall, I’d stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2018
9.4

LUSH! We stayed as a little treat for the end of our trip in America. And were very impressed. The rooms and big and spacious and look beautiful. There's a kitchen and the pool is insane. The view at night is amazing. More of a hotel vibe and there's no sort of communal areas in terms of a common room, it's just what you'd expect from a hotel as in 'lobby area' ect. But it was worth that extra bit more for how nice it was! Me and my friend loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexandraevelina9876
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
7.7

I liked the safety I felt staying at Freehand, as well as the location. It was easy to walk to many of the places I wanted to see. However, this is not really a hostel. The dorm rooms are very small and many of the people I stayed with were there for work, so making friends in the room for some down time is not desirable. Your next option is the lounge/kitchen in the basement. It's as nice as a basement room can be. Also, no outside food is allowed on that beautiful roof you're paying extra for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2018
8.0

Nice place, things a bit old, but clean and has everything. Breakfast is very basic, would be vastly improved if some fresh fruit or vegetables could be added.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • richtex76870
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2018
9.4

The staff at the Hostel in LA were outstanding - VERY helpful, friendly, efficient, hard working, and resourceful - the best staff I've ever encountered in ANY hotel stay. My room/experience was what I expected with 2 exceptions: 1) VERY loud "conversation" with parent about money and 2) loud, disruptive to all, and incessant snoring - NOBODY could sleep - and this guest had a pet - which I don't understand why anyone would think it makes sense to stay in an 8 person room with a pet???

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katieuva9044
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2018
10.0

I was really impressed at how nice this hotel was for a pretty reasonable price. The beds were more private than you'd get at a regular hostel and the bathroom was excellent! Very clean with a great shower. Hung out a lot at the rooftop bar and in the lobby, and it was a great base for exploring various parts of LA (I spent time downtown, in Los Feliz, and in Santa Monica on this trip, all of which were easily accessible via public transit from here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2018
9.7

Fantastic pool and the staff were really nice and super accomodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2018
9.4

Fabulous!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2018
10.0

Freaking awesome hostel in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2018
10.0

Nicest hostel i’ve stayed in!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×