Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freehand Los Angeles

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2018
9.4

This place looks good on the website, then you get there and it's even better. Imagine if Soho House did hostels, this is what you'd get. It's essentially a really nice hotel, which happens to also have dorm rooms. Staff were really friendly and I met some great people there. The rooftop pool is lovely to! Rooms are very comfortable with great bathrooms as well. Not sure I'm ever gonna find another hostel that'll match up to this one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2018
9.7

Amazing stay! I didn't want to leave. Free breakfast in the lounge was a bit underwhelming, but am I even allowed to complain about a FREE breakfast? Especially when the rest of the facilities are ABSOLUTELY KILLER... I can't wait to come back. xoxox

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2018
8.6

Amazing hostel, the rooftop bar is as stunning a place to hangout as you could ever ask for! Drinks are pricey for a hostel, but it’s L.A. so that’s to be expected. Rooms were very clean and well maintained, bed is large enough for anyone up to about 6’4 or 195cm. Not the most social hostel, most people tend to stick to themselves, but altogether, amazing value and a sense of luxury that is rarely felt when staying at a hostel. I will definitely return and would recommend anyone to stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Dec 2017
6.9

Freehand LA was a very fancy hostel (more like hotel), but there were just a few things that did not make it my all-time favorite hostel. The check-in process took awhile, due to a technical issue on their end. Definitely an older adult vibe. Was told it was happy hour at bar, but when ordering drinks told there was no happy hour that night (weird). Very pricey bar! A bed in our room was not clean & seemed someone recently slept there, which makes me wonder how clean the rooms actually are.....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Dec 2017
9.7

Awesome venue. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The accomodation was all modern, private and very comfortable. Overall was far better than what I expected. The bar upstairs has a cool vibe and is an awesome place to socialise. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2017
10.0

By far and away he best hostel I've stayed in - totally worth the extra cost. Also thought the atmosphere and mix of people was a lot of fun. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in LA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Dec 2017
9.1

Warm and welcoming staff, brunch is very good, beautiful property and very well connected to downtown LA. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2017
9.1

(PROS) has separate bathrooms for each room, nice big lockers, badass receptions (CONS) shower head is weak, water taste funny, surplus for taxes and safety deposit is a bit high.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • riceman777
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2017
10.0

This is the best hostels out there, it’s more like a hotel type, but you only pay hostel price. I like it awesome. You can’t go wrong. True voice from heart.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danielmurden1423
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Dec 2017
5.1

Staff specially downstairs bar staff are bitchy and rude. Don’t work in hospitality if you’re gonna have attitude. You won’t get deposit back into account either. However! Food and rooms are decent and while I have complaints against most staff there are decent people! Just too clicky etc. Not for people who aren’t into popularity contests or social clicks! But that is L.A. for you

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×