Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Freehand Los Angeles

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2018
6.6

I wouldn’t return to Freehand as the rooms just weren’t up to standard. I shared a 4 bed dorm decor was nice but things weren’t as good as I’d expect especially as this is the most expensive hostel in the area. There was no mirror in the main bedroom, only coat hooks for 2/4, no hairdryer, no bin in the room, towels were taken by cleaner and not replaced. As for the “free breakfast” it may as well not have existed as there was so little choice. Main hotel facilities good overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Apr 2018
8.9

Great hostel ! In fact is a hotel ☺ The only thing to complain about it was the lack of proper cleanliness inside shared bedrooms. My toilet especially was always full of papers on the floor. I thing they do not clean all days... Anyway... love the rooftop !!! ❤

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lindsvinson9949
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2018
10.0

super nice staff with such a good vibe. love this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • badgeronimous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2018
9.4

A high end hostel that is amongst the classiest dorms I've stayed at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • I3ZIZSM3641
  • Saudi Arabia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2018
9.1

It was really nice , I’ll choose Freehand every time thanks for having us

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2018
10.0

The perfect hostel. Great rooms, feels like a hotel with bunks, has a gym, great kitchen. Wanted to stay longer and will hopefully come back one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • destmab506
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2018
9.1

Met really great ppl , really helpful staff Good public transportation access Loved it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2018
8.9

The place was great, a bit of an older crowd and not very social, but the location was perfect and the rooftop bar was really cool. The bar downstairs seemed trendy and there were always a lot of people there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2018
10.0

Probably the best hostel I’ve stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sjstudionw9952
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2018
8.9

As a hotel it’s pretty cool, and it’s a neat fusion of hostel and hotel. It’s not a hostel vibe. I met a few travelers at other bars because they either couldn’t afford the hotel bar or didn’t like the vibe. The roof top is nice, but it’s mostly a local yuppie crowd. $20 cocktails? I guess it is LA. The rooms, bunks, etc are great. The hostel breakfast is served in a little room in the basement? It’s like 3rd class stowage where all the people who can’t eat with the fancy folks upstairs go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×