Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Fun Taipei @ Shilin Night Market

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 743 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 743 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mxrsbars
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2018
9.4

Super awesome stay! Stayed in the dorm and each bed had its own blind, power socket and ledge to place your stuff. LOCATION 10/10. Just at the doorstep of Shihlin Night Market!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2018
8.9

Mainly giving it a low rating for location because I got lost trying to find the “meetup” point. They don’t publish the address online for some reason and expect you to find a dirty payphone and call them to guide you. Would be much more comfortable if we could go straight there and ring the buzzer. Also, I was not impressed with the showers. Other than that, great! It’s just next to a big night market which is good to stroll around, and the hostel itself is good with nice staff & recs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2017
7.1

Hostel with potential. But the beds are absolutely horrible. Hostel interior is pretty decent. common spaces are decent and clean too. Free breakfast, tea and coffee are a definite plus. location next to the subway is pretty good too. But oh the beds.. Squeeky ikea steel bunkbeds with matresses so soft your bum actually lays on the planks of the bed if you are non asian. Everytime my downstairs neighbour rolled around I woke up from my bed swinging side to side. (and no, he wasn't heavy).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2017
9.4

My only issues with the hostel came from the common area and the bed "curtains." The common room was kind of out of the way. So you really had to go and look for people to meet to unless they were your roommates. Also, the curtains are pretty much see-through and useless. Therefore, whenever someone opened the door at night, or someone slept with the light on (as another guest did) it would just light up the whole room. Other than that my stay was great. Free breakfast was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2017
3.7

Very dirty and smelly hostel. Hard to find as there's no entrance so they have to come and find you at a pet store when you call. Few facilities, breakfast just plain bread left in the fridge. The beds are ok And have curtains. There are many much better options in Taipei!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2017
8.0

Really enjoyed the hostel, facilities were clean and staff were helpful. Good location near MRT station. There was even a special treat on New Years provided for the guests. Would stay again. Note the unusual instructions for first arriving are just to make sure you find your way in ok, especially during the business of the markets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maartenvanbeek
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.6

Small hostel, staff not always present, top location basically at t he Shilin night market and next to MRT station. Sufficient shower and bathroom facilities, two small common areas but very limited kitchen facilities. Checkin procedure is a bit awkward because they don't give the adress to the hostel but someone from staff meets you at a payphone nearby and you have to call them to pick you up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2017
9.4

Great place to stay in Taipei, do recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • svenwenngren9602
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2017
9.4

Great staff! Great beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jimmyn47
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2017
9.1

Awesome location! Check-in procedure is a bit dramatic but staff was super efficient about it. Sole criticism: the extremely small bathroom. Three separate shower stalls (for the 7th floor rooms) but barely enough space inside to towel yourself off.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×