Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Funky Fes

  • 60, Arset Lamdelssi - Bab Jdid - Fes Medina, Fez, Morocco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Sep 2018
10.0

Loved this hostel! Helpful staff, plenty of mint tea and free breakfast. Staff were great and friendly. Communal dinner was an excellent way of meeting new people. Amazing rooftop terrace with shade and sun areas and also sun loungers so managed to get a spot of sunbathing in! The hostel is quite easy to find as it's on the outskirts of the Medina. Staff were willing to help with any inquires whether it was tours/airport transfers. Good range of tours on offer. Dinner was always delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2018
9.4

Great hostel in excellent location. Lovely staff and delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahehayes19555
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Sep 2018
8.6

Lovely place, lovely staff. Cool terraces to relax on. But terraces were constantly covered in cigarettes and ash.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Sep 2018
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay here - we ended up booking an extra night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • josephpipaharding5101
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2018
8.6

A great hostel in Fez that is in the towards the outskirts of the medina. Being towards the edge of the medina it allows a breeze to cool you if you’re on the roof terrace. However, make sure your taxi driver drops you to the correct gate else it is a long and confusing walk to the hostel! The evening dinners help you to meet new people but purchasing things from the hostel like water can be a little pricy. Dive in and ask the staff for tips and enjoy your stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2018
9.7

Great hostel with an amazing breakfast and really helpful staff! Super comfy courtyard and walking tour was definitely worth it. Only one bathroom for my room of 12 beds could’ve been an issue but the room was around half full so wait times were fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review. We are sorry that you were not informed that we have 3 extra showers downstair if the one in your dorm was occupied. :)

13th Aug 2018
8.3

Great staff, beautiful common area in a large riad, 50DH all you can eat dinner is fantastic. Extremely secure, you can only be buzzed into the main door by staff inside watching w a camera. Very relaxed, social atmosphere. The desert tour was expensive (150€) but worth it. I’d have said I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, if it weren’t for the bed bugs - I know they’re doing their best to stay on top of the problem, but they were really, really bad. Otherwise, this hostel is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi , Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at the hostel. Very easy going and friendly. I was very sad to see that your stay ended up being affected by the bedbug problem. We are figuring out how to end the problem permanentlym but is very difficult as guests bring the to the hostel as well. Enjoy your time in Spain. Kind regards, Funky Fes Hostel

  • jwang9094445
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
9.4

Great spot, came here on a recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed. Rooms were clean, staff was great, vibe was good and services good. Do not skip the Friday night dinner. Quite possibly the best couscous I had in Morocco and in m lifetime. There are 3 outdoor seat/table spaces which was nice, and the indoor space was very comfortable. Extra showers available downstairs was a huge plus as the bunk rooms have one shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great review. Makes us very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. :)

5th Aug 2018
9.7

They had bedbugs. I wouldn’t stay here for the immediate future. Otherwise it is a nice hostel. Good breakfast, location, atmosphere, rooftop, staff, bathrooms, and kitchen. I would definitely consider staying here again if I’m ever in Fes. Only other bad thing was the air conditioning didn’t work in one of the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay beside the bedbug situation we had. As you might have seen while you were at the hostel we were exterminating the whole hostel room by room. We are now bedbug free. Unfortunately this is a problem for a lot of hostels in Morocco during the summer. Kind regards, Funky Fes Hostel

  • alessiodavid551
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2018
6.9

A/C was broken so we had to sleep on the terrace because in the room the temperature was 34C. And I got beaten by some bed bugs. Apart from this , the place is really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that the AC was broken during your stay. It has been fixed now. Concerning the bed bugs our exterminator has taken care of the problem. Unfortunately this is a big issue in all hostels in Morocco during the summer.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×