Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Garden Lane Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 220 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Nov 2017
7.1

Nice hostel but quite far out of the city centre, and pricey for what it is. Fairly clean and decent rooms but a lot of people living there long term it seemed so not a very inclusive atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Helen, Obviously the people living in the hostel as long therms will feel a little bit like home and of course we understand it can in some way change the 'atmposhere', but they are very nice people and they will always love to talk and meet new people. As you can see once you are here the city center is at 10 minutes walking distance. We are just not placed on the main streets but it doesn't look like we are far from the center at all. Happy you appreciate how hard we work on the cleanliness. Thank you, have a lovely day :)

9th Nov 2017
5.4

Immediate area is sketchy. Parking is only available 8am-10pm because the reception needs to be in to open the gate even though reception is supposed to be 24hr on the weekends. Crappy lockers. Breakfast was meh as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi John, Thank you for your honest review. For us it’s important to know what our guest think of their stay here cause only then we have the possibility to improve and develop us constantly. As it seems you didn’t enjoy your time here at all. What a pity, because our team is giving their best – providing every guest with plenty of information: maps, tours and (local) recommendations about Dublin and Ireland and trying to assist everybody in any matter as good as they can to give every guest a pleasant time here at Garden Lane Backpackers. Regarding to your car park critic, it’s right that only our reception can open the car park gate which guarantees you the certitude that your car is perfectly save, especially if it’s a rent car. And on week days the reception hours are from 8am till 10pm though on weekends (fri/sat) it’s open for 24 hours so while you were here (besides the Thursday) it was possible to open the car park gate at any time. Furthermore, the area around the hostel is perfectly save and as a huge advantage it’s quite around here and still close to the centre. What you call “sketchy” others might call “the real Dublin”, because The Liberties – which is the name of this area – is Dublin’s “most historic working-class neighbourhood” in which you find a lot of market traders in the streets, businesses run by local families which gives this quarter special and townly atmosphere. “Breakfast was meh as well” … We don’t know what you were expecting from a hostel but our breakfast, which is included in our prices when you have to pay an extra in other places, offers different cereals, bread, tea, coffee, milk, juice, fruits, real Nutella, peanut butter and three different kinds marmalades, furthermore we offer our breakfast available to you all day long. At least, thank you for appreciating our cleanliness which has a high standard for us as our housekeeping team is cleaning the whole hostel everyday and the bathrooms for example 4 times a day. However, we really hope your time here was not as bad as it sounds in your review. Take care and safe travels wherever you go. :) Have a lovely evening.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2017
9.7

I loved the professionalism of the staff and the lay out of the facility. The only thing I didn't like was that the top bunks were not fastened to the wall and therefore rocked around when the person on bottom was squirmy! Other than that tiny little inconvenience it was by far the best of the 5 hostels I stayed in in Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Mike, thank you very much for the lovely review. We will keep all your precious suggestions and do our best to stay on the top. As you saw yourself Garden Lane Backpackers is a great place for people who are not so much interested in party-style hostels, but a quiet and tidy place with the highest standards of cleanness. If you'll come back to Dublin come and stay with us, you'll be superwelcome!! Have a good day Corrado

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Oct 2017
10.0

Clean, safe, friendly, and great location right near Christ Church. I would choose this hostel again and again in Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Andrea, Thank you very much for the lovely review! We do care a lot about the cleanness and we appreciate a lot when our guests are happy for that. You will be always welcome here at Garden Lane Backpackers, if you come back to Dublin come and stay with us!! Corrado

23rd Oct 2017
8.9

The hostel itself was amazing, but incredibly hard to find and in a bit of a sketchy area. I switched hostels because I didnt feel comfortable walking alone near it. Staff were awesome and the facilities were crazy clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Caitlin, thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing Garden Lane Backpackers. We can assure you that the area around our hostel is totally safe and even though it's a little bit hidden - which guarantees you a relaxing sleep ;) - we are still close to the center and Dublin's attractions. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you again. Take care. By the way, the apple is gone so lets hope the horse took it ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Oct 2017
10.0

Great location for gigs at Vicar Street, even during a hurricane!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Sally, Thank you so much for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and to "survive" Ophelia together ;) We are looking forward to see you again for your next stay in Dublin. Take care.

  • bradleymackenzie1998
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
14th Oct 2017
7.4

Good quality hostel for a relatively cheap price, Everywhere was really clean. Kitchen was big and well equipped, with a good indoor and outdoor dining area. Cool common room with access to computers. This was needed as the wifi didnt work in my room for my whole stay. I told the staff and they said "it just does that". Besides that the staff were really friendly and helpful. Location wasnt too bad. About a 15 minute walk to the main attractions and the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Brad, Thank you for choosing Garden Lane Backpackers and for taking the time to write this review about us. We are glad that you were satisfied with our staff and cleanliness and overall we hope you enjoyed our stay with us. Take care, safe travels and see you soon at Garden Lane Backpackers. ;)

14th Oct 2017
9.7

Overall great experience! The staff was so friendly and helpful! It was only a 5-10 minute walk from the main center of Dublin, incredibly easy to get to everything we wanted to see. The facilities were very clean and the free breakfast was good, there's always food in the kitchen. I would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Maddie, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you appreciated our work and that you had a good time here. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Garden Lane Backpackers. Take Care :)

14th Oct 2017
4.9

Lots of problems here: cost is absurd, even for being within walking distance of lots of Dublin fun. Places with comparable locations cost vastly less. Security is good, but overkill for the area, and to the extent that getting the car in and out of the parking area is inconvenient and time-consuming. Probably some of the staff are fine, but the first woman we met gave us attitude and was unable and/or unwilling to provide accurate information and change. Very clean place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Marla, Thanks for staying at Garden Lane Backpackers. Apparently, you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as we wish you had but we are glad to hear that at least you appreciated our cleanliness, it has a high priority for us. We respect your opinion and we are always open for suggestions to improve but some points in your review are not quite correct and could lead to misunderstandings. At Garden Lane, we believe that every guest has the right of an adequate security – in any kind of area - so you can almost feel like home and leave the hostel to discover Dublin without worrying about your stuff. That is one reason our car park can only be opened by the receptionist which guarantees you the certitude that your car is perfectly save, especially if it’s a rent car. Our location has the perfect starting point to discover Dublin. It’s only a ten-minute walk to the city centre and to the famous Guinness Storehouse. Still, the streets around the hostel are quiet and safe so you can enjoy a good night sleep and the most important shops – supermarkets, restaurants and pharmacies are right around the corner. Furthermore, our hostel offers everything necessary and even more: We provide a fully equipment self-serving kitchen, an included breakfast with different cereals, bread, tea, coffee, milk, juice, fruits, the real brand Nutella, peanut butter and marmalades, on top of that, we make sure that our breakfast is available to you all day long. Thanks to our hard-working staff we can guarantee clean bathrooms (cleaned 4 times a day), clean and cosy common areas with Tv, a choice of DVD’s and computers, bright and spacious dorms with lockers for your luggage and even for disturbing noises or snoring roommates in the night we provide free earplugs for a better rest. 😊 Moreover, you can use our laundry machines, there is Wifi through all the building, a storage room for your luggage in case of an early check in or check out and at our reception you can get plenty of information – maps, tours and (local) recommendations about Dublin and Ireland from our friendly staff who will try to assist you in any matter as good as they can. That’s why we can’t understand the choice of giving us a 2.0 for our staff. The issue with the change was a misunderstanding, a mix up from both sides – just to make things clear - and in the end, everything was all right and you got the correct change. However, we hope you still had a great time in Dublin. Take care and safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Oct 2017
9.7

Had a great stay, facilities were wonderful and staff very friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Victoria, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here that much and of course we would be really happy to host you again whenever you should be back in Dublin. All the best. ;)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×