Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Garden Lane Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Oct 2018
7.4

Very clean with soft beds (which wobble every time you move). Staff seemed nice and happy to deal with my requests. Downside is most people staying here are long term residents, so as a solo traveler I would not recommend staying here as it’s very hard to meet people. The atmosphere has more of a feel of student halls of resisdence rather than a hostel. It is also pretty far from town and very pricey for what it is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we're glad to know you enjoyed our cleanliness and the way our staff has dealt with your requests. The high number of long terms staying in the hostel is mostly due Dublin's recent development. Though, rather than being a close community all the people living here provide a nice and friendly young environment. Best for all! GLB Staff

  • katharinebraithwaite9024
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Oct 2018
9.4

First time I’ve ever stayed in a hostel. I was a woman on my own. The women in my dorm were charming and thoughtful. The whole place was blindingly clean. The kitchen was lovely and very well kept and there was bread, milk, tea etc for anyone that needed it. Felt totally safe within the hostel and thought all the staff were lovely. The general atmosphere and ethos was fantastic It IS down a rather deserted alleyway. Not THAT nice on your own after midnight. But hey! No actual trouble!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such a nice feedback! We're glad to know that your first time in a hostel has been here with us. It has really been a pleasure to host you and we wish to see you again. Cheers from GLB Staff!

11th Oct 2018
8.6

Maybe the cleanest hostel I’ve ever experienced! The bathrooms were cleaned frequently, who’s is needed when that many people are using them. The location is not bad, but a tad out of the way. It was a nice, quiet hostel, not at all a party hostel. A few people seemed to be living there semi permanently. Not bad, just different. Overall a great experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate your fantastic feedback. Make sure to visit us again some time :) Cheers from the GLB team :)

  • cg3dc9826
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
10.0

I stayed at Garden Lane for two nights with three friends. We were in a six-bed female dorm with two other women and it was great—very clean and just as pictured. The bathroom was just down the hall and also very clean. We did not arrive until well past midnight, and the staff was very accommodating of our late arrival time. They also printed (for free!) all of our boarding passes for the flight home. The breakfast was a great spread, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a great feedback! It's always a great pleasure for us to make you guys happy and we're glad to know that the reality has matched your expectations completely. We wish to see you again, you'll be always more than welcome :) Cheers from GLB Staff!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Sep 2018
5.4

I do not recommend this hostel for young or solo travelers because it mostly caters to older, long term guests. It is also located pretty far from most tourist attractions. The bathrooms and showers could use some additional maintenance. The kitchen and balcony are very well-maintained though and the free breakfast is great! Our receptionist was also very kind and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Garden Lane Backpackers. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the clientele in the hostel. In our hostels, we welcome every age group to share experience, doesn't matter if young or old. And our location is actually right in the middle of some main attractions Dublin has to offer: Between Guinness Storehouse, Christchurch and St. Patrick's cathedral. All within a 10 minute walk. We still hope you enjoyed your time in Dublin. Take care! The GLB team

  • ryanpedersen87
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
18th Sep 2018
8.6

Budget accommodation in the heart of Dublin. Rooms were clean, staff was helpful, bathrooms were few on each floor. Not enough for the number of people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're glad to know that you had a good stay with us and we wish to see you again :) Cheers from GLB Staff!

  • rodiene_nr16247
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2018
7.7

The location is around 15-20 min walk from the city center which makes it a more quite place to stay but you always find someone for a chat. The staff was friendly and always willing to help. Two minus points: due to lack of ventilation in the bathroom, fungus grow easily on the shower walls. Second, the bunk beds were sensible for motion thus they make squeaky noise with every turn.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your nice and honest feedback. We appreciate it and we will use it to keep on doing better. Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you once more! Cheers from GLB Staff!

4th Sep 2018
9.1

Well-run place, very tidy and well organized. It's in the Liberties in a residential area, approx. 20 mins walk to O'Connell Bridge. Many longer-term residents.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for the nice review. We're glad to know you've had a pleasant stay with us and we wish you could come back any time you'd like to :) Cheers from GLB Staff

  • nikitaspenceley
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2018
10.0

Garden Lane was so close to everything you needed, the staff were actually amazing and would go above and beyond to help you, everyone staying there was so lovely and would just make you feel at home! they had everything you needed in the kitchen, the bathrooms were always clean, extremely comfy beds as well! will definitely be returning to Garden Lane Backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey guys, Thanks a million for the amazing review! We are super happy to know how much you appreciated your stay here. We try to do our best to make everybody feel like home and there is nothing better than feeling like we actually succeeded. Come stay with us again, you will be more than welcome!! Cheers from GLB staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Republic of South Sudan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2018
10.0

I have arrived late and I left early morning The room was big comfortable bed Clean bathroom Nice Breakfast area And the staff were so nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the nice review! We're glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us and we're happy to see that you appreciated our cleanliness and the common areas. Please come to stay with us anytime! Cheers from GLB staff!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×