Hostelworld.com

Gardiner House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • drewwheelock2742
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
8.3

Need photo id to check in, which was problematic, also we were 20 mins early for check in & we were unable to check in. It was fine in the end as we could check in at 3am when we returned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review. As you could see before you placed your booking we always required a valid ID from all our guests for security reasons, but we don´t keep them. Our housekeeping team works really hard in order to provide the best experience for our guests, that´s why our check-in starts at 3 and not before, so the guests find the place spotless and ready to enjoy Gardiner House Hostel. Thank you GH Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2018
6.9

I stayed for one night and got a free upgrade. It was pretty good, good breakfast and a kitchenette and all that. Only thing is there weren't any free towels, and you had to show them your card to get let in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for reviewing your stay! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you were satisfied with our overall service. We ask to show your room card when entering for security reasons as the safety of our guests is very important to us! Thank you and greetings from the GH team :)

  • lfpeterlini696
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2018
5.1

Someone stole our bread that was identified and in the specified place. Also our shower gel. They don’t provide lockers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are very sorry somebody stole your belongings in our hostel, unfortunately there isnt much we can do about it. All our rooms are equipped with one locker each bed, the only thing you need is your own paddlock, if you forget to bring one we sell here in reception :) Thank you so much! GH Team

  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
9.4

Amazing staff, great breakfast, everything is always clean and tidy especially the toilets.. The rooms are bright and well lit, and the staff is super helpful and always there 24/24. It was An amazing experience felt just like home.. I only wished the lockers were slightly bigger to fit my carry on

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your fantastic review! It was big fun having you here you are always more than welcome to stay with us again! Big thanks from the GH crew!

  • peong12819
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
9.4

The staff was very helpful. And the facilities were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bethanyhemesath1035
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
10.0

Our stay here was wonderful! We stayed in the 16 bed dorm, so obviously there was noise from the other guests, but that can't be helped. The bathrooms were super clean and there were plenty of them. The staff is super friendly and helpful, there space to hang out is nice and the kitchen and breakfast were both great! Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24/7! The location is a bit away from the city center, maybe a 5-10 minute walk. Buts it was nice to be away from the noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for the review, its always great to hear back from our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to use the facilities. We hope to host you again soon! Kind Regards, The GH Team

  • svearietdorf5205
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
9.7

Everything was really clean and organized, except for the bathrooms in the morning, but I think this was more due to people being clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Gardiner House with others. Make sure to visit us again sometime :) Big thanks from the GH crew

  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Nov 2018
9.1

This is one of the cleanest hostels I’ve stayed at and the staff is really nice! The 16 mixed dorm was really nice, it had a lot of bathroom which were spacious and always clean, we changed the next night to an smaller dorm which was not as nice as the bigger dorm. The breakfast was good but it will be nice that they add something different everyday for those who are staying more than one night, location wise we felt like it was a bit far from the center but with their instructions it was easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, What a lovely review! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Gardiner House with others. Make sure to visit us again sometime :) Big thanks from the GH crew

  • pratheekshap123457578
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2018
9.7

one of best place, inspite Mount joy wouldn't be my fav place to live in, But hostel atmosphere was awesome! I loved the cleanliness maintained in hostel, unlike most other hostels the toilets are mess! good value and great staff too.I would definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Gardiner House with others. Make sure to visit us again sometime :) Big thanks from the GH crew

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2018
8.0

I stayed 3 nights: 1 at the beginning and 2 at the end. My first night was great, so I chose to return. The room I had my first night wasn't available (1st floor, female dorm, en suite bathroom) so I had a mixed dorm on the 3rd floor, which smelled musty. The shower and toilet rooms are tiny, so it was difficult to get dressed. The water in the shower stopped halfway through my shower both nights, so I had to grab my stuff, wrap in a towel and run to another shower room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Our great team is trying to keep everything to your satisfaction and we are happy for any constructive review to improve even more making this hostel a home away from home for everybody! Should there be anything not to your contentment (cleanliness etc) please report to reception so we can take care about it :) Hope to see you again for your next trip to Dublin. :) The GH team

×