Hostelworld.com

Gartl Apartments & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • issydoz4592
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Nov 2018
9.4

Nice place very quiet and chill but super cool cause you get to bond more with everyone in the room cause you have a cool little kitchen area that has a couch and table/ chair. The only down fall was the bathroom cause I stayed with 6 other people the bathroom was always being used kind of wish the toilet and shower were separated so it would be easier. But apart from that I’d definitely stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2018
9.7

This hostel, located a bit away from the city centre, has a great metro connection with it. People who work there are the right people to serve the travelers in Vienna and further beyond. Clean and secure facility, very well taken care of by the management. Nice and well equipped grocery store across the street. Great place to come back to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kellebarfield531
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2018
9.7

I know some reviewers would find this to be off the beaten path, but it’s SO quiet at night, and steps from the Ubahn and a large grocery. Hostelers looking for night vibe will also be disappointed because these are 6-bed apartments without large 24-hour common areas. But this was my second stay here and I enjoyed getting to know the smaller group of new friends who shared the apartment. Gartl also makes after hours checkin a breeze.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2018
8.9

Not close to city centre but only 2 min walk from station, which is great. Washroom was very clean and reception lady was very friendly and polite too. However, need some more privacy maybe a curtain could be installed for every bed? Also not the best option if you’re a solo traveler - so socialising activities at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • talithakate
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Aug 2018
7.1

Nothing like a hostel, it’s not very friendly at all. There were some facilities but the hot plate in my dorm wasn’t functioning properly and I could find any washing machines.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2018
9.1

We loved our stay here. It was more of a apartment feeling but it was nice because in that way you could get a little more privacy. The rooms and the bathroom were all very clean and the kitchen was nice. The staff was sooo friendly and the hostel was a 1 minute walk away from the u-bahn and the supermarket. Vienna was our last stop from our interrail and it was nice to have a quiet hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2018
9.1

The hostel is a little bit far from the center, but the metro station is literally on the other side of the road; it's very close to Meidling station. There are supermarkets and ATMs nearby so that's not an issue. The room and the bathroom were very clean and comfortable. There is even a small living room and kitchen. As others said, it feels more like an apartment than a hostel. At night it's quiet and the neighboring area is safe. For this price it's a gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2018
6.6

The flat itself was quite clean and tidy, but to get there, you had to go through a hallway and staircase that was dirty and strewn with garbage overflowing from the bins. The men's shower was broken, and I don't think it would take plumber to fix it. There were locks on the rooms, but the door to the hallway didn't even close and had no lock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2018
8.9

The hostel is situated 10 min from the city center, but only two stops away from Schönbrunn Castle. Each hostel dorm shares a big kitchen with basic utilities, and a bathroom. The bathroom could need a main cleaning, but overall it was a really good place to stay. The area is quiet at night, the beds are comfortable and the transportation to the sights is easy. I decided to stay one more night in beautiful Vienna, and i even had the room for my self. I missed salt/pepper in the kitchen though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Jul 2018
7.4

More like apartments. Each dorm has a kitchen. Don’t book a mixed dorm if female as they don’t consider age. Was with three over 60 year olds. Moved me to another room with no worries. Staff are friendly. Easy to access the metro to get into the centre. No atmosphere for hostel fun and travel buddies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×