Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jan 2018
10.0

Great place, great locations, not too far from the center. However, don't stay here if you're looking to party, there are families and older people that frequent this hostel. Great overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Wauw what a great marks! Thank you so much! See you soon!? Warm regards, the Generator team

  • joshfreer6189
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2018
9.7

An absolutely perfect stay in Amsterdam and made even better by the generator. Really clean, modern and friendly staff. Not awfully close to the centre, however trams or uber or even a long walk will get you there. Loved it so much so that I have booked to go back with friends in April !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, Josh, you really made our day with this awesome review! We are looking forward to welcome you again and again and again! Thanks a million! Team Generator Amsterdam

  • mattycarrigg4992
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in . Atmosphere was electric . I would highly recommend it to everyone.🤣cheers for a great holiday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Matthew! Wow, thanks so much for this wonderful review! We do it for guests like you! Please, please, do come again:) All the best! Team Generator Amsterdam

  • raymondlee12344613
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2017
10.0

great crowd (mostly young adults when I stayed during new year's eve), great bar (with great music, sometimes a DJ), great location. Tatiana was very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Raymond! Such a wonderful review, gosh! We're really happy you liked it here. You should definitely come back during the warmer months, when the park is bathing in sun and people are joyful. We'd be happy to welcome you again! All the best to you, Team Generator Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.6

The location is about a 30 min walk to most attractions but the walk is beautiful and I loved it. Otherwise there is a tram that cuts that down to 5mins. The hostel nice but REALLY expensive for what you get. I ended up switching hostels because of this. If you've got the money though, it was peaceful, quiet, and beautifully tucked away in a lovely little park. I would stay here again if the prices went down. €80/night for a dorm is altogether a little too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Tirene! Thank you so much for your lovely review, much appreciated! Sadly, you were in Amsterdam when the city was booming with tourists and therefore also the prices were high. Right now you’d get a bed in a dorm for no more than 16 EUR/night. So maybe you should come again to get a full Generator experience you deserve 😊 All the best to you and hope to see you soon! Team Generator Amsterdam

  • beadrifle
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2017
8.9

Amazing place if you don't want to the din of city centre. It's located within ooster park and is a lovely place. Full with a small stream, birds and bees. Staff is very friendly and the cafe has some good food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Vishnu, such a lovely review, wow! We’re really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope to welcome you again soon! All the best to you, team Generator Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Dec 2017
7.1

The hostel itself is fine, but a bit out of the city. If you are planning on having a night out keep this in mind as the trams stop at midnight and you will be overcharged for a taxi back to the hostel. Also the breakfast is overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it! Trams and metros are indeed not running all night, but there is a nightbus taking you directly to the hostel from midnight to 6am. Apart from that locals are very fond of services such as Uber and Abel, a cheaper version of a taxi. Our staff would be happy to inform you about those option if only you asked! Well, next time then!:) Sorry to hear you thought breakfast was not worth its price. We'll work harder to make our guests more satisfied with all our services. In any case we hope you have had a memorable stay! See you next time, Team Generator Amsterdam

  • sratcliffe18224
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2017
7.1

Stayed at the Generator Amsterdam for 3 nights in December 2017. Hostel was a little too far away from the centre of Amsterdam for me, however the tram service is very good and the stop was only a few minutes walk away, Hostel is clean, we felt safe and it's located beside a lovely park.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Susan, thanks a million for your sweet review! We’re truly happy you liked our hostel and felt safe with us, this is nothing more or less we strive for. Hope to see you again soon! All the best, team Generator Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Dec 2017
8.3

Nice hostel and very good facilities. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for the city. The location was a bit far from the city centre, but overall a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Oshin, thank you for your warm feedback! We’re happy and proud we made your stay worthwhile and memorable. Wishing you all the best & hope to see you again, team Generator Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2017
8.6

I enjoyed my stay at Generator Amsterdam. It was nice to have a smaller hostel space and especially to have shower facilities in your own room. The provided storage bins are large and good for storing your things while you are out and about. It is close to everything if you get comfortable with the nearby tram stops and the Oosterpark is lovely to walk through. I would definitely recommend staying here as an alternative to the more centrally located, busier areas of Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Sylvia, thanks a million for your lovely review. We do it for guests like you, so definitely hope to see you again! All the best to you, team Generator Amsterdam

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×