Hostelworld.com

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2147 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2018
8.6

It was fantastic!! It was clean, its was perfect in the rooms (the doors and walls are very big so it was warm and quite). The organization and the gadges in the room are very good, each of us had a light, a plug a big box and warm bed sheets The localization its good you only need the tram is 15-20 min to the center and it goes every 10 min more less. The hostel is located in a wonderful park. Staff was friendly. We are sure if we come back to Amsterdam we will stay in that hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

and we will definitely have you back ;) A big thank you for the top marks! it was a pleasure to have you here. We appreciate your feedback and till we meet again! Cheers, Gen Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2018
6.9

Hostel is sufficient, very corporate for the money/business feel. Definatley meets the needs of a traveller although it's not the type of hostel to meet a great deal of ppl in common areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We're sorry you didn't meet so many people in the bar and other common areas, hopefully next time you meet some more people! Cheers, Gen Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
9.1

The hostel was in amazing condition, had a great vibe and was so clean and tidy! Felt like a hotel but with an edgy hostel atmosphere and feel. Really wish there was an area for even just a microwave, fridge and kettle! Seems a lot of money not to have these facilities. Loved the hostel and really accessible to Centraal, but just wish there was an area to make your own food!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear you liked the location and atmosphere! We appreciate your feedback about the kitchen facilities and will pass this onto management. We hope to see you again soon :) Gen Crew

  • bennyewins1730
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2018
8.9

Awesome staff, very friendly & helpful. The hostel is amazing, with a library (chill out space), auditorium (party space), cafe and a basement bar. The rooms are really good, the best I've seen for a long time. They are spacious, with ensuite & sink etc. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely words. We hope to see you anytime soon. Cheers, #GenCrew

  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.1

Great option for traveling for a couple of days!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you soon again. Cheers, #GenCrew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
8.3

The hostel is easy to get to and close to public transport. One of the best ones I’ve been to. Only downfall was that there were clumps of dust and dirt in the room and some tiles had mould on them but the place is great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and our location. We will discuss your feedback on our housekeeping internally. Cheers, #GenCrew

  • lykhvar
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2018
9.4

Amazing place with amazing people! Love it! I’ll definitely be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon :) Gen Crew

3rd Nov 2018
8.0

Location is bit out of the way from the city center. Also compared to other generator Hostels you have to pay to have your bag stored away..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We hope to welcoming you soon again. Cheers, #GenCrew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2018
6.9

The hostel was clean and modern however the facilities lacked and the staff were pretty rude and unfriendly. They were also lazy, especially when it came to the kitchen. My food always took ages to come, and was poorly presented and overcooked. I wouldn’t have complained had the prices matched... however the food was just as expensive as any other restaurant with better food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for staying with us! Sorry that you did not like the food, and you had to wait for it for a long time. We appreciate your feedback and will discuss this within our f&b team to make your next stay better. I still hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam, and hopefully till next time. Cheers, Gen Crew

  • laurennightingale135886709
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2018
9.4

Had a great stay at the Generator. The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities were brilliant and the decor was quirky! However, our room was a little unclean - lots of dust on the floor. We were just gutted that we had to go home before the Halloween party... would definitely recommend a stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, although we're sorry to hear about the dust in the room - we will pass this onto housekeeping and take it on board. We hope to see you for next year's Halloween party!

×