Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mariekluge132826
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
8.0

The Hostel is a really cool place to stay in Amsterdam. There are a lot of young people and the inside has a really cool design. There are several bars to hang out in and a quiet place, if you have to study. You will be in the Centre of Amsterdam in 5min with the tram and the hostel is located in a really nice park, therefore the location is great. We can only recommend the Generato hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Nweltin2637
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2018
9.4

Everything is great, but it helps to get a tram ticket or rent a bike to get downtown. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kmilsztein2358
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
2.9

Usually I do not write bad reviews. This one is my first ever as it needs to be shared. The stay at the Generator in Amsterdam was awfull. The bad experience started when we checked in. First, we had to wait in line for 30 minutes. The receptionists seemed stoned, were arrogant and inpolite. The boss saw the long line but decided to eat a burger instead of respecting he time of his guests. Prices were too high for a Hostel (75€/n/bed). Rooms were dirty and dark. Never again and don’t book!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2018
8.9

The place is cozy and very good. 4 bed shared rooms could be bigger, felt some kind of difficulty to fit the suitcase inside the room. I also think it could be even better if the Hostel provides a kitchen to cook our own food. But after all the Generator is a really good place to stay in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2018
3.1

They charge for everything! Even for storing the luggage. The room is incredibly small. Not worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2018
9.4

We had a great stay at the Generator. The staff was pleasant and super helpful. They gave us great recommendations about what to see around the city. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2018
9.1

One of the best & most expensive hostels we stayed at. Beautiful spaces in the entire hostel and is surrounded by a equally beautiful park. Location is a little far from the centre but well connected by trams. Great options for food through the day & stunning rooms. Check-in takes a while, long line & less staff - it was crowded at all times of the day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2018
6.3

Staff weren't friendly. You have to pay for so many extra things including padlocks for the lockers. We also didn't have any pillows in our room so they had to grab ones from other rooms because they didn't have enough.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for staying with us! Sorry to hear you had a not-so-nice experience with our staff, as usually they're very warm and accommodating. And our apologies about the pillow situation - apparently some other guests like them so much they took them home and left us without. We'll buy some extra to be covered for those kind of incidents. Thanks for pointing it out! All the best, Gen

  • elviraganske8502
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
9.4

The hostel, rooms and location were very nice. It had something very artistic and a beautiful park was close by. Prices and quality of the food and drinks served at the bar were great! The stuff was very friendly. They had pretty awesome lockers to put in our luggage when we wanted to explore Amsterdam a bit more, before going to the airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2018
9.4

One of the best hostels I’ve stayed in so far. The only draw back is it is slightly far from the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks so much for staying with us! So happy you liked it here! We're located in a quiet park a bit further from the noisy center, but 15 mins away by public transport and 10 by bike. Not so bad, he?:) Hope to see you soon again! Love, Gen

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×