Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2018
9.4

Great hostel and value for money. Clean, spacious and well located outside the city center. Two things that could be improved: reception desk with long lines. Also, it was indicated in the restaurant menu that there are night snacks available (after the kitchen closes), but they are not, I was informed by one of the bartenders it is a mistake in the menu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for staying with us and leaving this lovely review! Much appreciated! We are working really hard to decrease the pressure at the check in - getting new colleagues to help us out very soon! Sorry about the mistake on the menu - we do have some snacks in our Travelshop and some vending machines. However, if you want a warm meal our reception team will gladly help you out with some tips for delivery services. For next time! :) All the best, Generator Amsterdam

  • mayahayw6816
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2018
9.1

A bit out of the city centre but Amsterdam is probably the most easily accessible city I’ve been to so that had no effect. Modern building, comfortable bed, huge lockers and aircon in the rooms. Toilet, shower and sink are all seperate inside the room which works in theory but gets a bit annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks so much for staying with us! Such a nice review, we're really grateful! The separated toilet, sink and shower make it easier for people that don't know each other to use them simultaneously, without bothering each other. So it is convenient sometimes :) Thanks again! love, Generator Amsterdam

  • humphries606135
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2018
8.3

Great hostel, only a 25 minute walk from the centre of Amsterdam and the central train station. Can just take the number 9 tram and you're basically outside the door in a few stops. Good facilities and nice staff. My only issue is because it's located essentially inside a park where there was a noticeable amount of people who weren't staying in the hostel sleeping outside the back or pestering people for money. Be good if ye had a security guard preventing that from happening. Overall great stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hiii ! That's such a lovely review! Thanks so much! Sorry about the inconvenience with the homeless, usually they are harmless and we are doing our best to keep them away from bothering our guests. But glad you enjoyed your stay anyway! Hope to see you soon again! Love, Generator Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
7.1

Pros: The rooms are modern, beds are comfy, not close from city center but adjecent to a very nice park. Rent a bike nearby (~€10/day) and location becomes a non-issue issue. Cons: They asked for a rediculous €15 (!!!) cover charge for the bar! The point of staying at hostel is 1) price 2) social atmosphere. This is the opposite of what a hostel should be! They also nickel and dimed on luggage storage and towels (€5 each) which should have been included considering how expensive this hostel is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for staying with us and taking time for this useful review! Glad you liked it here with us. Prices are skyrocketing throughout Amsterdam, so sorry for that. Hope all-in-all you had a wonderful time and consider it worth it! Hope to see you again! Love, Generator Amsterdam

  • jessegiles10491
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2018
8.3

Me and my sister went traveling through Europe and this was both of our favorite hostel by far. Clean, cool atmosphere and just an overall awesome building and experience. The food was great but expensive. Location was far away from everything and that’s probably the biggest complaint in other reviews but if you rent a bike it’s not bad. The staff weren’t friendly and could be rude at times, which was really annoying when we needed help.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thanks so much for staying with us! We're super happy you liked our hostel, the building, the atmosphere etc. It was a pleasure having you here, too! Sorry about the grumpy staff, we'll give them some stroopwafells to cheer them up ;) Thanks again and keep on coming! Love, Generator Amsterdam

  • hypnotisterick4354
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2018
9.4

Great place to stay right on the beautiful Oosterpark. Short walk to nearest tram to get into the heart of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • djensen9075648
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2018
9.1

Be prepared to take the tram to and from any of the popular spots but its not to far of a trip from the city center. Felt very safe even in the late hours of the night walking from the tram station. Very clean, would recommend to any friend traveling to Amsterdam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heey ! Thanks so much for staying with us! It was a pleasure having you here, too! Hope to see you soon again! Love, Generator Amsterdam

  • furm05008292
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2018
9.1

The location of this hostel is amazing for visitors who prefer a more local feel to their travels. The hostel is right beside Ooster park, and is a really relaxing destination. Walking distance to great restaurants, the Jewish quarter, university of Amsterdam, and close to accessible transit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks so much! It has been a real pleasure having you here! Hope to see you soon again :) All the best, Generator Amsterdam

  • chandim1237429
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2018
9.7

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this hostel. It was a great atmosphere with a coffee shop and cafe on site. It was near a park and close to a bike rental shop (about a 10 min walk). The room had black out curtains which made for a great night sleep as well as hot water which was absolutely a plus!!! Loved it here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hoiii ! You were an absolute plus for us too! So happy you enjoyed it here so much! Are you coming back anytime soon? Hope so! Love, Generator Amsterdam

9th Jun 2018
10.0

The only thing I thought was sub par was the espresso! Was just as amazing as Amsterdam was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, !! Thanks sooo much for this awesome review and the top marks! It was a pleasure having you here as well! Love, Generator Amsterdam

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×