Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Berlin Mitte

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 3159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 3159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jmkilpel7893
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2018
9.4

We had an excellent stay, and the staff even gave us a free upgrade on our room. The room was clean, but not spotless. We definitely felt like it was a safe/secure place in an excellent location near bars/restaurants/public transit. Expect to pay for any extras but I'd say that for instance the breakfast was excellent and at a good price. The music from the bar/courtyard was a bit excessively loud and was a bit bothersome at night, but they eventually shut the music down at around midnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Sep 2018
7.4

Generator hostels are usually some of my top picks as the atmosphere is great which was much the same for this particular Generator, however the room sizes are absolutely tiny with very little space to even pull out the underbed lockers. The showers were not as clean as I was expecting either and there can be a lot of noise from the downstairs bar. On the whole the hostel maintains a good vibe and is in a great location. It is also pretty good value for money, but it was just a little cramped

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks so much for your review. It's nice to see you generally had a nice time with us. We have arranged the rooms in the best possible way to accommodate our guests comfortably and safely and I am sorry you feel we haven’t achieved that. I hope you had a nice time here, and that we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Generator Team.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2018
8.3

The room is hot during the night. Not quite since people party till very late. Location is good for tourists but for local Berlin style. Go to the east side of Berlin if you can.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks so much for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad night's sleep because of the noise from the club downstairs. I wish you would have addressed this with us as we do offer earplugs at the front desk which could have helped. Hope your stay in Berlin was otherwise enjoyable and hope to see you back some day, maybe in our other property on the east side of Berlin!?!? Kind regards, Generator Team

  • Ignacio25
  • Bolivia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2018
9.1

Everything was great, don’t really have complains. Strongly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, and thanks so much for the great review. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves and had a positive experience. I hope you also enjoyed Berlin, and that we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Cheers, Generator Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Sep 2018
6.3

It’s an ok hostel , location is pretty good , a bit of an odd lay out and Most of the carpets were soaked and dripping wet on the floor there must be some leak that nobody seems to are about

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for the review. I'm pleased to see you were generally happy with your experience with us, and thank you for your feedback. I will send someone from Maintenance to investigate the floors immediately. I hope you had a nice time in Berlin, and we'd love to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Generator Team.

  • jemjams2963
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
5.7

It didn’t feel like the staff cared much particularly when it came to general upkeep: shower was almost always covered in hair. Feel of the hostel was rather cold, probably as it is part of a chain and so there wasn’t a need to make it feel more personal. The food cost a lot considering the audience is a bunch of students/backpackers and I don’t think the “no outside food” policy is fair. Finally there wasn’t much in place to help people mingle, making it isolating. Wasn’t worth the cost

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to see your experience with us was not completely up to standard. We feel we offer a wide range of food options at our property, and we also must comply with health and safety issues with outside food. Were you able to discover our common areas? Café, Bar, Restaurant and chill-out areas? We have a great team who do care a lot about our guests experience so hopefully we can get the chance to welcome you back and give you a different experience of Generator. Cheers, Generator Team

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Sep 2018
9.1

The hostel had everything I needed. The bed was very comfortable, it had personal light and a small shelf to keep and charge your phone at night. It also had a big drawer under the bed to keep your luggage (bring your own lock). The only problem was that the shower was dirty the two days I was there, they didn't even clean it (although there was a sign that if you require extra cleaning you can call the reception. I didn't, I wasn't gonna wait for them to come and clean) But all the rest was ok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks so much for the positive review. I'm really pleased to see you had such a great experience with us. I must apologise for the shower issues, and please know that we are working hard on improving the problem, as this has to do with a pipe issue. Hope you had a great time in Berlin, and we'd love to welcome you back again soon. Cheers, Generator Team

  • alissaj161016
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2018
4.6

The staff could not give less about your stay. I complained 3 times to have the gross bathroom cleaned all times being ignored. There was no soap in the soap dispenser for your hands, we were running out of toilet paper so fast that I had to keep asking for some (for all 8 people in this room) and when I complained about the soap they handed me a thing of body soap about 3 oz big and told me "normally this costs money but I'll give it to you free." Their customer service sucks plain and simple '

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to see we were unable to meet your expectations, and your comments have been shared with the team to learn and improve for the future. Kind regards, Generator Team.

  • harrisongoodrick5535
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Sep 2018
7.7

Good location. Staff very helpful, however sometimes don’t have enough staff working behind the desk for check in. Quite large check in lines often. Bar connected to the hostel plays music until reasonably late; so don’t expect to get an early nights sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thank you for your review. I'm pleased to see you found our location so ideal, and our fabulous staff so helpful. We are currently strengthening our team to provide a smoother service for our guests. I'm sorry to see you had noise issues from the bar, and I wish you would have addressed this with us as we do offer earplugs at the front desk which could have helped. Hope your stay in Berlin was otherwise enjoyable and hope to see you back some day. Kind regards, Generator Team.

  • steveobreden6395
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
6.6

Mixed stay at this hostel. Arrived and was disappointed to find out they had my dates wrong despite me contacting them directly to make a change, according to them it was Hostelworlds fault. My locker also didn't work but they did allow me to leave stuff in the staff office which was inconvenient but better than nothing. Some staff were really friendly, others were not helpful at all. However bed was comfortable, the shower was good enough and the facilities were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your feedback. I'm really sorry to see there was confusion with the booking, but I hope this was quickly resolved. It's nice to see you were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort levels, and we'd love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Generator Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×