Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fmachadov5507
  • Venezuela, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
8.0

Very good spot on location and things to do. Only complaint is the bathroom which is very small and I could not fit very easily

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for sharing your impressions of the Generator Hostel Hamburg. We know that our bathrooms are not very spacious, but there are additional ones on every floor. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Florian Bauer General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jan 2018
8.0

Good hostel for value, excellent location, but facilities lacking compared to a lot of hostels - lack of decent common room/lounge and kitchen facilities and not allowed to bring in your own food and drink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay at Generator i Hamburg. That really helps us a lot to improve our service! Unfortunately we don't have a public kitchen, but we're offering a restaurant with lots of different food options available. Our new bar offers you some space to hang around and to have some drinks. The rule with no drinks is only including alcoholic drinks - of course you can bring you water. We would be happy to welcome you again! Regards from Hamburg, Janosch (Front Office Crew)

  • cassandralian1729
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2018
9.4

Still waiting for 50 euros which I paid for a bike rental deposit like one week ago!!! Nice beds, the toilet and shower inside my 8 bed share room was far too small, couldn't even wash my face properly, because a shelf is right on top of the washing basin... Clean and spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. The deposit for the bike rental can take up to 14 days until it is on your Credit Card. Let me know if you have further issues with the Deposit. Best regards Florian Bauer GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2018
8.0

Pretty good hostel, beds are super comfortable for a hostel, wifi is pretty stable and the bar and common areas are nice. The area gets a bit seedy at night but its right next to the central station, so you cannot complain about the location. Breakfast is slightly expensive, there's no kitchen and the showers are mega claustrophobic. Decent stay on a budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your constructive feedback. It seems like that you have had a great time in Hamburg. We would love to welcome you again @Generator Hamburg. All the best Florian Bauer GM

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
7.1

Atmosphere was lacking, small bar with very expensive drinks and not much room to meet people. Very clean, decent space. Good location by the central station however the neighborhood itself is kind of odd, not much to do anywhere near the hostel or many places to eat. Not a far walk to some of the sights but if you’re looking for fun or a nightlife, this isn’t the place. Overall good for one night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Generator Hostel Hamburg. See you again in Hamburg. Yours Florian Bauer General Manager

3rd Jan 2018
8.9

Overall, very nice. The bathroom and shower rooms were a little small but the beds were quite comfortable. Felt very safe here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your great rating. Good to see that you had a good time in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you again in the Generator Hamburg. All the best, Florian Bauer GM

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
8.3

Amazing location. Really enjoyed the ambiance with music, a place to relax with a laptop, bar, cafe. And a thumbs up for the live music band. It was incredible. Some staff were helpful, others gave me false information about my key card that wasn’t working one evening, saying the battery door was low, and if I want I could change room or have security to open my door every time. Rooms should be cleaned more often. Other than that, I would definitely come back on a next trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, nice feedback! Seems to me that you had a good time in our Bar. Thanks for your review. We are working on the keycard issue and will have it solved very soon. Best regards Florian Bauer GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Jan 2018
8.9

Great location - literally across the road from both the central train and bus stations. Staff were lovely and rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice area for hanging out downstairs. Would visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we would love to welcome you again in the future. Thanks for your feedback. Bets regards Florian Bauer GM

28th Dec 2017
7.7

The place is very nice, as the location. The staff was not friendly. I felt like they were doing me a favor, but it was't such a big deal because ind the end I didn't have much contact with the staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2017
9.1

Stayed only a couple nights, but the beds were very comfortable and having complimentary breakfast in the morning was so nice. Would have loved to experience the bar they have in the main lobby, but not enough time on this visit. My only issue was with the key to my room not working, but the front desk staff helped get it fixed. Would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for you great review and the very constructive feedback. Hope to see you again in Hamburg. All the best, Florian Bauer GM

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×