Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hamburg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 6015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 6015 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Sep 2018
8.6

Big lock boxes under the bed. Each bed has a light and power point. The shower and toilet ensuite are seperate but they are very narrow, the communal ones are a lot better as they are the size of a bathroom. There are not many of them though. Good location with the train + bus station right next door and short distance to town hall and some of the sightseeing, though the area is not the best. Almost always people waiting at reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • celinelucille
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2018
7.7

The basin in the toilet in the female dorm ensuite doesn't make sense. The basin is way too small and directly above it is a small shelf making it so so difficult to wash up without cramping your neck and hitting your head. Nonetheless the hostel is clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks you very much for sharing your impressions. Thanks as well for your constructive criticism. It helps us improving. Best #genlove

8th Sep 2018
8.0

Good location and good staff. Make sure you find out where the shared showers are cos the ones in the room are tiny. Terrible pillows which is the same in every hostel in the world.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks so much for your kind review! See you next time! #genlove

  • ef0096757336
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2018
6.0

The hostel is located next to the train station, which is good if visiting the city for the first time. The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is more of a hotel, perhaps because there was no kitchen and because of the vast size. The bathrooms were a major downside as they were absolutely tiny and lacking in privacy! The only way we could leave our luggage at the hostel was if we paid for lockers, which is not helpful considering the check out time is earlier than most hostels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks so much for reviewing your stay with us. We regret we could not meet your expectations in regards of our facilities. We hope to see you again soon! #genlove

  • davidcarmon1906
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2018
9.4

IT WAS BIT EXPANSIVE WHEN I VISITED, BUT IT MIGHT BE DUE TO AN EVENT THAT OCCURED IN THE CITY DURING THE SAME TIME. THE PLACE WAS CLEAN. THERE IS A BAR DOWN STAIRS - GREAT FOR MEETING OTHER TRAVELERS.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • liamdwyatt3148
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
8.0

Location was excellent. Ensuite was a bit tiny. Had to pay for bag storage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks so much for your review! We would love to host you again in the future. #genlove

2nd Sep 2018
8.0

Very good location just beside HBF Central station. Nice room and facilities. Not happy at all with lockers / luggage store, they are paid and expensive. Although this looks common for generator, but not the same for most of hostel. 6 euros for 4 hours is a lot in a hostel. Also always crowded reception, with loads of people to get information and check in....lack of employee or maybe they were too lazy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks so much for your stay and for sharing your impressions. We regret the reception was busy. In high season this is sometimes not avoidable. Best Generator

  • adrianclark19944858
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
1st Sep 2018
8.6

Hostel is conveniently located right next to the train station, though it should be noted that this is the rougher part of town. Staff were friendly but weren't very efficient at check in, expect to wait a while. WiFi was good quality and the on site laundry service was a big help. Beds are soft but a bit cramped if you're tall and want to sit on them while reading a book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks very much for sharing your impressions. We regret the long waiting times for the check in. Sometimes in high season this is not avoidable. Best regards #genlove

  • steveobreden6395
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Sep 2018
9.4

Awesome hostel, the best I've stayed at. Really big room, comfortable beds and staff that do everything they can to make your stay as good as possible. Good food and beer also available at a good price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thanks so much for your kind feedback. We would love to host you again in the future. Best regards #genlove

29th Aug 2018
9.1

This was one of my favorite hostels ever. It’s super close to the central train station so getting anywhere is easy. Their bar and cafe make it super easy to meet people, but it wasn’t necessarily a party hostel, just a social one. They had a ton of recommendations for things to do and a lot of space if you wanted to hangout for a little at the hostel and relax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×