Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jddalton8955
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2018
9.7

My two friends and I stayed at The Generator for a weekend to explore Dublin and it was amazing! As soon as you walk in the doors you see how nice the area is and the atmosphere was cool. The bar was super fun and always had a crowd at night which gives you opportunity to meet people and get a few beers before maybe heading out for the night. The location wasn’t too far to the temple bar area and right next to the Jameson distillery. It was close to shopping and food and plenty of pubs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2018
8.6

Great new modern hostel, very secure need access card for lift and rooms. Good showers en suite rooms and comfortable beds. Only thing was no outside food whatsoever (even a sandwich apparently) allowed in hostel which is strange since most hostels have a kitchen or cooking facilities. Otherwise all good. Smithfield area has loads of restaurants and cafes nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great new modern hostel during your recent visit. kind Regards

  • simothejudge
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2018
4.9

The problem of this hostel is that it is not a real hostel. Paying 70 euros for a bed in a shared and mixed room with other people is not worth any nice atmosphere. The place itself is quite nice and big but after spending all that money for a spot to sleep on, it just makes you lose the interest in appreciating the space. Breakfast not included obviously, prices in the bar are high as well, even lockers are expensive. Not a good experience, expecting much more for all those money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear about your recent visit. We will talk to our team to allow us to better accommodate you on a future trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • tmscott1997481
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2018
7.4

Generator hostels are always amazing when it comes to social spaces and promoting social behavior. Therefore, the lobby and bar spaces where clean and aesthetically pleasing. Unfortunately this hostel failed when it came to the look and cleanliness of hallways and rooms. The elevator, hallways, and rooms all smelled of mildew. The Sheets we were given also smelled of mildew. We were given a private 6 bed room. In my opinion the cost of the room was not worth what we were given.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amazing hostel during your recent visit. Kind Regards

  • bemily98745
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Oct 2018
8.6

Generator was a great location so it made everything worth it!! The bathrooms were really dirty so make sure to bring shower shoes. Also they really make you pay for everything like storing your bags. It was fun with the bar though, a good was to meet people. The rooms were simple with a sink and the beds were pretty comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a great location during your recent visit. We hope welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • stevehorner324997
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2018
10.0

Generator is like the Cadillac of hostels. A few bucks more but well worth it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and reivew of Generator. We are glad to hear that you consider us the Cadillac of hostels. Kind Regards

  • KendraNeufeld
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2018
8.6

I always felt safe, the lock boxes in the rooms were great and big enough for everything we had brought. We also were gracious that the hotel staff held our bags in a locked room prior to check in. Rooms felt clean, great bar with a fun atmosphere too. The only atmosphere off putting was our roommates, I’ve backpacked plenty and there was an tense vibe, not the greatest place to make friends. But the hostel is safe, clean, and great location. Also note the street noise can make the rooms noisy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that you felt safe during your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

9th Oct 2018
8.3

Not bad, just not great! I prefer smaller hostels where it's easier to get to know other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review Generator Dublin. We hope you enjoyed your recent visit. Kind Regards

  • kaitlinbowerss4273
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2018
8.3

The Generator is the perfect place for people who like to party and meet new people! As a solo backpacker it was easy for me to meet people in not only the dorms, but the common areas as well. The staff was very helpful and kind, even after I went to them 4 times in one day for my broken key lol However if you don’t like that scene, this is not the place for you. The walls are thin so if you’re a light sleeper try somewhere else:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that our place was the perfect place for people who like to party and meet new people. Kind Regards

  • carlosbeldabustin8621
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2018
10.0

Generator is the best hostel in Dublin! I stayed there several times and staff was always friendly and helpful. Clean facilities, great location, lockers are a great advance after checking out. Love the atmosphere at the bar. Totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar during your visit. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×