Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • GeorgiaandMatty
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Dec 2017
5.7

Very overpriced considering it's a hostel, seemed to be set out more like a hotel instead. The bar and themed nights seemed to be catered more towards the general public rather than towards the guests, too expensive considering there were no ensuite bathrooms. Overall was clean but literally everything was overpriced and wouldn't recommend or stay again

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2017
9.7

Overall nice place. Really well located for tourist-y stuff like the Guiness Storehouse (check it out it's a 10 minute walk and worth it). In-room bathrooms were a plus. Linens are included, towels rented for 2 euro. Friendly staff. The bed was a little squeaky and I could feel the springs. That's really the only criticism.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Dec 2017
8.3

Very clean and big hostel, with very friendly staff. This is a party hostel: so be prepared to have booze as the main focus point and no facilities to cook.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2017
9.4

Big and clean room. Huge bathroom and good water pressure. Terrible mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear about your mattress. If you let reception know in the future when a mattress is worn out we can replace it straight away. Kind Regards

  • coreenab101
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
8.0

Stayed 3 nights on a solo trip in a mixed dorm. Overall, the Generator is a good hostel. Its location to the Jameson Distillery and Cobblestone Pub are prime. The bar is nice and there were always people around to chat with thanks to the size of the hostel. The women’s facilities were extremely clean for a hostel of the size. Biggest drawbacks were the cafe as opposed to a continental breakfast and uncomfortable beds. Someone had a camera stolen in my room, but I equate that to it being left out

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that your recent visit of the Generator Hostel was good. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

22nd Nov 2017
8.6

I've stayed here a number of times before, and found it good value this time round (Dublin is expensive, although the fact that it is winter will mean lower prices here). The dorms are very well equipped with two sockets per bed, a small adjustable reading lamp, and a little screen to prevent the light from this disturbing others. If you choose a dorm that isn't en suite, you may have a bit of a walk along the corridor to reach the WC at night though! One of the best big chain hostels I've seen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dezeman90
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2017
9.1

This hostel was great, we were with 5 people and had a room of 6 for ourselves. Only one night we slept with another person. The showers and toilets are very clean, and are cleaned regularly. The staff at the bar was friendly and when we had questions/requests at the reception, they were answered immediately. We didn't spend much time at the hostel, since we strolled through Dublin most of the time. But the Generator Hostel is by far the cleanest and best facilitated hostel I've slept in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. and the staff was very friendly. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2017
8.3

Great but there's no kitchen or left luggage room, you have to pay to use their storage lockers so maybe not the best place to stay if you're on an incredibly tight budget. The rooms are spacious and there are loads of sockets for charging phones.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We do not have a kitchen because we offer a wide range of food options from our bar bites menu daily. Kind Regards

  • christinestewartyoga9347
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
8.9

I felt safe, it suited my needs perfectly. A bit pricey for the weekend though I could have shared a hotel room with one for less, breakfast was good. But over all it did what it said on the tin. Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We hope you enjoyed your recent stay. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Nov 2017
6.6

PROS - big locker in the dorm for every guest - dorm super clean, shared bathroom ok clean - nice and good looking interior CONS - literally HUGE, more like a hotel which makes the hostel less personal and hard to get to know people - my dorm was on the second floor, my bathroom on the first floor → annoying after a certain time - no kitchen but also no food allowed in the room → they want you to eat at the hostel restaurant - 15 mins walk to the city centre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We do not offer a kitchen because we offer a wide range of food options from our bar bites and café menu daily. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×