Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 4996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 4996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • drmmaamoun5763
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2018
8.6

A fun weekend in a clean well organised hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2018
10.0

Close to the rail and tue subway, pubs and placesto eat on site and just down the street, bedrooms clean, comfortable and quiet. Just a great pace to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you here again soon. Kind Regards, Genlon

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Feb 2018
6.9

The location is good and it has a great vibe. My biggest complaints are that the lockers are expensive (8£ per day) and pretty flimsy. Ours broke when we put our stuff in. As well as the beds did not have individual lights or charge ports. In our 8 person room there was only one spot to plug things in and everytime someone came in they had to turn the overhead light on, which woke up anyone who was sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We are happy to hear that you liked our awesome location. For any issues that arise during you stay please come and speak to our 24hr reception. We hope to see you here again soon. Kind Regards, GenLon

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2018
6.0

I won't recommend my friends to come here. There's no hairdryer inside the shower room, which the phone service told me they have. The heater only turns on for three hours, and you will feel cold at night. Everything here you need might have an extra charge, and it's cheaper buying those things in M&S. I use this app to book this hostel, but the hostel's website is cheaper. Definity not worthy to live here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I am truly disappointed to hear that you experienced these issues while you were here. I would have loved to have had the opportunity to address these issues during your stay if you bought them to our attention. Our team is there to help 24/7 and it is unfortunate that we missed this opportunity. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to show you how great Generator can be. Regards,

8th Feb 2018
8.0

`Great location, just walking distance from Kings Cross Station and Euston station which will get you literally anywhere in the city. There is only two bathrooms per floor (one mens, one womens) which is little weird considering there is a lot rooms on each floor. The rooms were a little small, but overall good hostel in a good area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We actually have some 2, 6 and 8 people rooms with a private bathroom so not all the rooms on the floor are sharing the bathrooms. These rooms can be popular so we recommend booking these types of rooms in advance.

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Feb 2018
9.7

Both the room and the bathrooms were very clean. A big downside was that there was no plugs by the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the limited plug sockets in your room. Unfortunately our hostel is not a new build and the power outlets could not be changed. Our social spaces have been designed and fitted out with numerous power points and most of our guests prefer to be out of their rooms and in the lounge area. I hope this didn’t affect your stay too much and we look forward to welcoming you back to Generator soon

  • khavo20173559
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2018
6.9

There two of the four bathrooms on the first floor had sewage or piping problems and smells rancid like sewer gases. Issue wasn't resolved for two more than two days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I do hope that our reception team that is there for our guests 24/7 were able to help you with some of the points you have raised. We have an on-site maintenance team so please do inform us at the time of any issues and we will always try our best to resolve them right away. Once again, we are very sorry for your experience and we hope that you give us another chance to show you what a great place Generator is! Regards,

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jan 2018
7.1

It was really clean and the beds were good which was great, but they didn't have a lot of sockets and no kitchens which was not great at all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am sorry that you were expecting a communal kitchen and this is not a facility that Generator offers. Our lifestyle brand encourages social interaction and exploring and experiencing our local area to the fullest, including some of the great restaurants and bars in the area. Our café is open from morning to night with great and affordable options and our reception team would have been more than happy to recommend some local favourites.

29th Jan 2018
9.4

Nice stay. Staff very friendly, we appreciate the location closed to russel square underground

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon.

  • karahgerelus7330
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2018
10.0

This hostel was super cool and super convenient being located in between both Russell Square and King’s Cross underground stations. The bar on the main level was really convenient for either a relaxing pub feel or a night club feel. We never had to venture too far for a good night life experience. The staff were all so easy going and helpful with anything we needed. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in London! I also suggest getting an Oyster card for the tube!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×