Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 5736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 5736 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Nov 2018
7.7

Location, brilliant down the road from King's Cross. Security, excellent in the evening a dedicated security guard posted at the entrance. Dorm, the metal bunk made a racket when I moved it in quite loud. There were several hairs inside my locker. Wash facilities a few of the shower locks were broken and one toilet was blocked for 3 days. Atmosphere, it is so big I belive it actually makes it quite impersonal, as a solo traveler did not feel particularly included even when sitting in the bar.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We have passed your feedback on to our house keeping manager and will watch the cleaning of the lockers and we have sent maintenance to all the bathrooms to ensure all the locks are in working order. Our team is available 24hours and we encourage guest to share any issues with us so that we can fix these straight away. We hope to see you again soon! Regards Guest Relations Team

  • kritidisioannis471
  • Greece, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Nov 2018
9.7

Perfect dorms,the best hostel I have ever been.Nice place,near to everywhere with the tube station 2 minutes distanced.Dorms a little small space but new inside and nice.Nice stuff and a security always around.It has a professional laundry too.Perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your beautiful review! We are super satisfied to read that you had an excellent time here at Generator and that you were happy with almost all the elements of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations Team

  • marsh66k4972
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Nov 2018
9.1

Love this hostel however on this occasion the room I was in was directly below the bar and I had an early start to catch a flight but due to the music being so loud I was unable to sleep for the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, It's great to get your feedback and to hear you loved us!!! We love you as well :D We have a lot of guests that enjoy our lively atmosphere and night events and I am sorry that our bar keep you from sleep. We do have a 24 hour reception team that would have been happy to assist you with a possible room change or earplugs as a solution. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me by email so I may get in touch at your convenience. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. Regards Guest Relations Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Nov 2018
5.1

I don't know how this hostel got such a high rating. It paid £45 for my bed. I was then expected to pay an extra £4 for towel hire. The cleanliness standards are not as high as the rating made out. The hostel was not value for money. It is a large impersonation hostel that lacks atmosphere. However the staff were nice and I think they suffer a lot of abuse from customers complaints which must be frustrating. It is a good location but not good enough for me to return again. Sorry guys.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We do have the towels available for any guests who do not bring their own when travelling, £4 is a rental to use for the entire stay.

  • stephaniecollins249650
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
7.4

Everything was great except the bathroom. Toilet was clogged and gross.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback! We are so happy to know you had a nice stay with us, despite the issue with the toilets. That's why we are here 24h always willing to help! We hope to see you again very soon! Regards, Guest Relation Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Oct 2018
9.7

Great hostel, very clean, large rooms, big lockers, great facilities, excellent location, great bar and awesome music at night. Would definitely stay again. The only two downsides are that there is no kitchen (however you can buy food from the kitchen. Note: no vegan meals available), and the hostel hosts a number of large groups. As a solo traveller, I found it slightly harder to meet other people than other hostels I've stayed at because most people already had their groups.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback! We are so happy to know you had such a lovely time with us :) I can unserstand sometimes it might be tough making friends,but I can assure you we check hundreds of solo travelers everyday! You just need to spot the right ones ;) Hope to see you very soon! Regards, Guest Relation Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
31st Oct 2018
8.3

Great location, friendly and informative staff, close to transport and cool bar inside. Only two things I didn’t like and that’s that the rooms need more ventilation or something as they feel a bit damp. Needs more power sockets as there’s none near the bed to charge phone and none in the girls bathroom for straighteners etc (no mirror in room for that). Otherwise great hostel and would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for your feedback! Yes we know it is frustrating that there are no power plugs in the bathrooms, unfortunately this is the health and safety requirement in the UK. We will pass on your feedback regarding the rooms to our maintenance team to investigate. Hope we can see you again next time you are in London.

  • jennazappia
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2018
9.4

Great hostel. Really helpful staff and clean rooms. good atmosphere at the bar at night. Only complaint would be the rooms are small and the beds are very close together making moving around pretty difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback! We are so happy to know you had such a great time with us! About the rooms, unfortunately this is a very old building so sometimes spaces are limited! However, I hope you got the chance to enjoy our social spaces! Regards, Guest Relation Team

  • meganplaton6263
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Oct 2018
8.0

It was quite a noisy hostel, maybe just the timing of who was staying there. Staff was helpful and friendly though. The rooms are quite small but they were clean. Bathrooms were also clean but just found the shower area a bit smelly. Overall okay stay though. I was just there for one night though so I may have not been able to explore what the rest of the hostel had to offer! Not a bad place tho!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback! We are happy to know you had a nice stay with us and we really hope to see you again soon so you can explore more :) Regards, Guest Relation Team

  • b0red0fitall9651
  • Wales, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
8.9

Only thing letting the histel down was cleanliness. Sink in room 213 was blocked and dirty. Showers were grubby. Toilets and sinks were great though. Bed linen was clean. Rooms perfect temperature and big enough. More vegan options at breakfast/bar please. Happy you had soy milk for coffee. Would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, we will send our maintenance team to room 213 now to check. Look forward to seeing you again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×