Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 3110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 3110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sandy_rousseau4244
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2018
8.3

Well located, cheap but not very clean. Ok for the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sebas3baldaque4759
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2018
5.7

The hostel is really big so it has probably few human resources to clean it. The toilets were dirty and broken. The room was ok and the atmosphere was really good for young people. There is no kitchen available to use just a microwave that is not in good condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
7.1

Hostel was good for 2 days, not more than that. There’s a good subway station behind it, wirh connections to the city. Room was clean, the showerroom not so much. My biggest problem was that they don’t give you padlocks for your lockers, and wanna charge 5 euros to buy one. Other hostels I’ve been give you padlocks or keys. If you plan to go there, remember to take a padlock with you!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • acodiren3165
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
8.9

Amazing stay. Note that this is pretty far from the city center and you will have to take a 15min tram ride, but the stop is right outside and they run frequently, so it’s not a problem during the day (might be one if you intend on partying once your evenings). Room was very clean, lockers under bed were of an adequate size, and the doors automatically locked. I felt extremely safe in this hostel as a solo female traveller. In-house restaurant and bar are a nice touch, good atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Jul 2018
8.0

Easy to take a train there for 10min from HBF, don't try to walk. The check in takes forever after 2pm, I arrived at 14.30 and had to wait for an hour or so. There's a free luggage room and also some lockers to rent. No atmosphere for solo travelers at Generator hostels but cheap!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alfuas
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
8.3

Beds were so clean. Staff was helpful. If you want go to city center you have to use bus or tram.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • flordelismontano9026
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
4.6

amazingly dirty!! from the arrival to the hostal the main hall smell really bad, the room and bed weren't clean! apparently they just change the bed line but beds have a plastic cover which was full of dust and hair from who knows what person. the toilets and showers were dirty as well and with spider webs everywhere. the staff from reception were not nice or kind at all and just seemed to be bothered when clients required something. the hostal doesnt rent Locks, but SELLS them for 5euros.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • fiona-kerridge7802
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2018
9.4

Great for a night in Berlin ... weary and damp from a day exploring the city on the rain, my boyfriend and I were v glad to discover we had been put in a twin room rather than a bunk room for 8 despite being told we couldn't change as they were fully booked. The hostel is easy to find from the main station by hoping on tram which stops less than a 5 minute walk from the door. Staff were friendly, facilities (although we didn't get the chance to use many) looked good and the rooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vanesarinehart75623
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2018
6.9

I t was good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • anotherdylanbotha16916
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jul 2018
6.6

Firstly. This hostel is HUGE, so be prepared to wait in line 45 mins to check in. I feel like they're understaffed in reception. The bathrooms werent the cleanest, they didnt even have hand soap. The cleaners woke me up every morning at 10am pretty much telling me to get out of bed which made my blood boil, especially because I wasn't checking out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×