Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Hostel Prenzlauer Berg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 2994 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 2994 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • abanik1893
  • Bangladesh, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2018
7.7

I was traveling with a friend, and we took a 4-bed room. The room was too small but that’s okay. What I really hate that there were no power outlet beside the bed and and 2 outlet for 4 people. Bathroom was so unclean and it’s like a typical college style bathroom. And only 1 in each floor. Other than that the bar and food was nice. Though the hostel is a bit far from the city but it is just 30 seconds away from a S-bahn and a bus stop and tram. Rewe city and Burger King is 1 min away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gsavitag3678
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2018
2.0

Somebody stolen my cell phone, thats why i simply dont like it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2018
5.7

This place is different to every hostel I’ve stayed in. It’s absolutely massive! It feels more like a super budget hotel than a hostel. There’s no kitchen and you’re not allowed outside food or drink in which is weird, it seems to be full of school children running around all day. It’s so big and sterile and lifeless I wouldn’t recommend it to any backpackers looking for a place to hang out and meet people. It’s a cheap bed on the outskirts of Berlin and not much else...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katherine_8p8096
  • Ecuador, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Mar 2018
9.1

I really like the Hostel. It was in a really good place and people was very nice and happy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hopenorris6779
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Mar 2018
6.9

This hostel is good value for money but its quite far from the city centre and there are no cooking facilities so the money you spent on transport and food kinda outweighs the cheapness of the room. You’re not supposed to bring any outside food into the hostel, though people still do. The bathrooms on two of the floors were out of action as well which was super annoying. There is a laundry which is great, and a train station right next door. But overall, not a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2018
7.4

I generally had a good stay here. Rooms were really big, clean, and comfortable, but nothing fancy. The location isn't wonderful if you prefer to walk, so you will need to use public transport. There are grocery stores and pharmacies nearby, which is good. One thing to note: if you arrive early or stay late and need to store your luggage, you'll need to pay for lockers at the hostel and there are never enough of them, which is a pain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2018
8.9

Bathrooms were out of order on some floors, but wasn't really a problem to go downstairs to the other ones. If you want to spend a lot of time in Kreuzberg, the train transfers to get there are a bit awkward but again, it's small stuff. Generator was clean and easy to check into and had everything I needed. Would definitely stay here again! (I actually ended up coming back again the next night and had an equally good experience.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2018
5.4

Inexpensive I suppose, but not compared to the numerous of the other options in Berlin for similar prices. Location is far from most anything interesting, the bathroom on my floor wasn’t working meaning I had to go to another floor just to use the toilet and all bathrooms were frankly disgusting. The bed wasn’t very comfy and the room was cold. The staff at least was actually quite was friendly. You get what you pay for, and Generator is definitely cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry, you didn´t felt well with us. Your experience we will share with our housekeeping-team. This is not our way. May be, se you soon in Berlin. Best regards, Sandra - Supervisor Reception

18th Feb 2018
5.1

Sad to say but overall I was disappointed in this hostel. The facilities were awful, showers did not have doors or locks, but instead flimsy curtains, some which were not even wide enough to cover the stall. Toilets/showers were clean however. Staff were horrible, I interacted with five staff members during my stay and all were very rude except for one. Rooms were set up well and bedding was clean however so that was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are really very sorry, you were not satisfied with your stay. We will share your complaint immediately to the whole staff, especially to the housekeeping. This is not our way. Best regards, Sandra - Supervisor Reception

  • analeersherratt6711
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2018
8.9

Very very cool hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to see you soon in Berlin. Best regards, Sandra - Supervisor Reception

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×