Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Rome

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 604 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2018
9.1

I would definitely stay here again and have already told friends about it. The staff were lovely and very helpful. All common areas were great and beautifully styled. The private room had everything you needed and were comfortable, the beds weren’t the comfiest and a few issues with the power, but I’ve become use to that in hostels in Europe so wasn’t too much of a bother. The location was great being right near the Roma Termini. It was also a 20 min walk to the Colosseum. Overall great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • loredo116785
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
9.7

My stay at the Generator in Berlin went so well I decided to stay with them in Rome. And again my stay was great. It was clean, staff was polite and extremely helpful. They create a great atmosphere from having happy hour, a DJ, and events to mingle with other guest. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The location is within walking distance from most major attractions, but also very close to the metro , It's in a very commercial area w/ stores ,heavy foot traffic & loitering.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2018
9.4

Great place just 5 minutes walk from the train station and bus connection from the airport. Extra clean with a nice bar downstairs. I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2018
10.0

This place is really cool. Has a lot of nice facilities in it. Really cool bar and DJs on Friday nights. We booked a group room but we think they messed up and we got a private room to ourselves so we definitely didn’t complain. It was lit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brig04571305
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2018
8.0

The metro is right around the building and gets you everywhere you want to go in a respectable amount of time, a 2 day pass was only around 12.5€ (bought at the train station). The walk downtown isn’t far. Towels aren’t included, every bed gets a locker. AC was weak. The bar downstairs was cool, but there was a lady sitting at the bar who said we had to pay her and she put our drinks/food on her card. This was sketchy and the bartender didn’t seem to care.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxjadeclark4087
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th May 2018
7.7

Rooms were very tidy, clean, and modern. Service was lovely. Location is close to the train station and metro, but in a very strange area. There was zero atmosphere... I would have guessed the hostel was empty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write down your experience @GenRome. I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and you enjoyed our facilities. When groups are in the house the Hostels looks empty, unfortunately for you.. come back soon to enjoy our rooftop! Benedetta GM

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th May 2018
6.9

This hostel has no casual seating area where you can have the chance to talk to fellow travellers, eat some food or drink anything (alcoholic or not). When I attempted to eat a salad in the 'seating area' I was told my two members of staff that no food or drinks were to be consumed inside the hostel except in your dorms. I find this completely ridiculous and irritating because the only food you are therefore allowed to eat is the food they sell at there bar. This needs to change.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your comments. we have a common area where you can drink and eat the food provided by the Hostel.. unfotunately due to a food hygiene italian policy you are not allowed to eat food brought from outside because of contamination. We are working to fix this, we are almost there.. See you soon benedetta GM

  • briargoldie
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2018
7.4

Staff are nice. Rooms are tidy. Location is fine. Quite a walk to most locations but you expect to walk in Rome. It is very easy to find from the termini. There is no kitchen or facilities to make your food. Which makes cheap living a bit harder. There wasn’t much atmosphere so I wouldn’t want to stay there as a solo traveler if you’re wanting to meet people. All it all it was fine and would recommend staying for a clean, comfy place to be.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for taking the time to write down your personal experience, we really appreciate our guests feedback to understand what we can do better. I'm sorry you coudn't meet anyone, the bar is usually full, but never know what's going on in a sunny city :-) The location is quite central if you think that you can easily walk trough Collosseum and most of Rome attraction, it's all about our own point of view :-) best Benedetta GM

  • nerual89
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2018
7.1

Rooms are clean, there are laundry facilities. Most of the major landmarks are reachable by foot. The area seems a bit suspicious, but not really unsafe. BYO towel or pay 4€ each because even tho they are advertised as included, thats only for private rooms! Info given with breakfast times is wrong, except small sign behind reception.. breakfast not worth it anyway. Bathroom door lock fell off and would not open/close properly. More negatives over positives here unfortunately..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, sorry we didn't exceed your expectations, we never advertised that towels are included in shared rooms, only in private, as per our company standards. info about Breakfast are given at checkin time always correct, signs are around all the hostel as per our night events and promos. Sorry you couldn't find it out. Thanks for sharing your comments, we'll take care of it. Best Benedetta GM

14th May 2018
8.3

Definitely the nicest hostel I've stayed in, but the area was pretty sketchy. Still, most comfortable bed ever and loved that the toilet and shower rooms were separate in my room. Bar was good, too. If you stay, grab a cappuccino at Gatsby Cafe (just a 5 min walk) and from there you can hop on the metro easily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×