Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Stockholm

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
5.1

The hostel was in a great location and the price for the room itself was okay. Nonetheless, I was surprised by all the positive reviews. There are many additional costs that you might need to consider: No guest kitchen, luggage storage was quite expensive (SEK 25-50), padlocks must be bought (mine didn't fit),... Furthermore, the dorm room and bathroom were rather dirty and often lacked soap and toilet paper. The "social area" (as they called it) did not really invite people to interact.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thanks for the feedback! Glad to know that you liked our location. Yeah, Generator is a hostel, but we just don't believe hostels should all be wet socks, rucksacks and shared kitchens :) Our place is designed to have only one kitchen - the one our chefs use. As for the luggage storage, unfortunately, given the size of our building ( over 790 beds, 8 floors), it's impossible to organize a common luggage room, that's why we consider our lockers to be the most efficient and safest way to store the bags. As for the cleanliness, this is where we get all the nice reviews, and our Housekeeping Team is always doing its best and cleans the bathrooms every day. However, when staying in a shared room, it's up to the guests to maintain the room or bathroom clean. Sorry to see that your overall experience wasn't as great as you wanted it to be. We hope you had fun in Stockholm anyways! Safe travels, Elena, Duty Manager

3rd Jul 2018
9.7

Generators cost more but offer a lot! Excellent location; nice ambiance; guests of all ages. Our private room was small but immaculate and quiet. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. This Generator was rather recently remodeled, and it is definitely modern in its appearance and amenities. The main reception area is set up to allow for large group viewing of special events such as soccer finals on big screens. The laundry room was small and one or two machines did not work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thank you for the nice feedback! :) Great to know that you had a great stay! Thanks for the sweet words about our staff <3 Yeah, laundry is our best seller this summer, machines get tired :) But have maintenance Team that takes care of them. Thanks for choosing Generator! We wish you happy travels and hope to see you here again! :) Elena, Duty Manager

  • cbelmont322
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
9.1

This place is basically a hotel with bunk beds. Everything was clean and updated, WiFi worked great. It’s doesn’t seem like a place where you’ll casually meet other travelers but it was a comfortable stay in Stockholm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks very much for the nice feedback :) Glad to know that you had a nice stay with us! Next time check out our weekly events to meet other travelers, like Trivia night :) Safe travels, Elena, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
9.4

Neat hostel at a decent price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the great review! Welcome back! Madeleine, Duty Manager

  • elisabethadam6556
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.9

hostel is so big it could also be a hotel. close to main station. bathrooms are in the rooms and were mostly dirty because of constant use. lockers were very big, wifi was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot for the review and feedback! Glad to hear you ejoyed your stay at the hostel and in Stockholm! Welcome back! Madeleine, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.3

More of a hotel with hotel atmosphere, and not a fan of the in the room pod bathroom (morning queues!). The big football screens were good, but the bar closed at 11pm and was generally quiet :( Food was reasonably priced and tasty! INCREDIBLE beds - the comfiest I've stayed in, and loved the individual lights, bedside pocket, and plug socket. Perfect hostel for a quiet break but less so to meet people, important for the solo traveller! Staff a little chilly, but lots of info and maps around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Yewwwwwww! Thanks for the lovely review! So happy to see that you loved our place! We are sending you some #GENlove! Cheers, Generator Crew

1st Jul 2018
10.0

Chill vibe, friendly and helpful reception, decent location to get to and from the airport, good place to crash for a night in Stockholm!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hej there! Looks like you gave us the thumbs up!.....we will take it!!! Yewwwwww! We are sending some #GENlove your way matey! Awesome to read that you loved your stay here and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future! Cheers, Generator Crew

  • budgiebottom
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Jun 2018
8.9

Overall a fine modern hostel with all the trimmings BUT my room had no window blinds and for a city that has near 24 hour sunlight in summer that was utter madness. I did not sleep for 2 solid 'nights' but to the hostel's credit they moved me to another room and planned to add blinds to the old room. But the lack of sleep nearly ruined my whole city trip due to exhaustion.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hej there! Thanks for the lovely review! Seems like you really had a good time here with us and enjoyed our place! #GENlove Apologies about the blind though...that wasn#t cool. We ahve fixed this due to your feedback, thanks! Safe travels and we will see you next time you are out and about in Stockholm! Cheers, Generator Crew

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jun 2018
9.7

Loved our stay here. Had everything we needed and was super clean and tidy. Great bar/restaurant downstairs but can get quite warm up in the rooms and cant have windows open because too noisy on street. Good facilities and close location to many things

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2018
8.9

VERY clean and nice. This is basically a hotel but with dorm room options. Located fairly close to downtown area. Compared with City Backpackers, Generator is cleaner/nicer, but has a less social / hostel-ly / backpacker-y vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hej! Thanks for the lovely review! Seems like you really had a good time here with us and enjoyed our place! #GENlove We will work on the vibe! Safe travels and we will see you next time you are out and about in Stockholm! Cheers, Generator Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×