Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Stockholm

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • elsclark6667
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2018
10.0

Beautiful place to stay, lovely hostel with lovely staff! Food was incredible and had a lovely atmosphere with lots to do! In a super location with transport nearby - would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! :) Many thanks for the sweet feedback! Love it! Welcome back anytime ;) Elena, Duty Manager

  • Corey_On_Tour
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
4th Jul 2018
8.9

Chain hostel, more like a hotel Big rooms with ensuite and great beds. Close to train stations and short walk to the Old Town. No kitchen, but can buy from their cafe/restaurant/bar, although more affo rdable options elsewhere. Common area is a open to general public, so doesn't have your normal hostel feel. Perfect for a business traveller/couple/family looking for at a budget option, but those party travellers & looking to meet random people from around the globe, I would look at other options

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! :) Thanks so much for your informative and positive feedback! :) Glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, liked our place and its facilities! :) Point noted about the party vibe that some party travelers might be looking for! This is what we're constantly working on :) Hope you had fun in Stockholm! We wish you happy travels and hope to see you here again! Elena, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2018
7.4

Pretty decent place. Just lacked some cozy backpackers atmosphere, but for the price it's good. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thanks for the nice feedback :) We'll be happy to welcome you back! :) Elena, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
5.1

The hostel was in a great location and the price for the room itself was okay. Nonetheless, I was surprised by all the positive reviews. There are many additional costs that you might need to consider: No guest kitchen, luggage storage was quite expensive (SEK 25-50), padlocks must be bought (mine didn't fit),... Furthermore, the dorm room and bathroom were rather dirty and often lacked soap and toilet paper. The "social area" (as they called it) did not really invite people to interact.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thanks for the feedback! Glad to know that you liked our location. Yeah, Generator is a hostel, but we just don't believe hostels should all be wet socks, rucksacks and shared kitchens :) Our place is designed to have only one kitchen - the one our chefs use. As for the luggage storage, unfortunately, given the size of our building ( over 790 beds, 8 floors), it's impossible to organize a common luggage room, that's why we consider our lockers to be the most efficient and safest way to store the bags. As for the cleanliness, this is where we get all the nice reviews, and our Housekeeping Team is always doing its best and cleans the bathrooms every day. However, when staying in a shared room, it's up to the guests to maintain the room or bathroom clean. Sorry to see that your overall experience wasn't as great as you wanted it to be. We hope you had fun in Stockholm anyways! Safe travels, Elena, Duty Manager

3rd Jul 2018
9.7

Generators cost more but offer a lot! Excellent location; nice ambiance; guests of all ages. Our private room was small but immaculate and quiet. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. This Generator was rather recently remodeled, and it is definitely modern in its appearance and amenities. The main reception area is set up to allow for large group viewing of special events such as soccer finals on big screens. The laundry room was small and one or two machines did not work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey ! Thank you for the nice feedback! :) Great to know that you had a great stay! Thanks for the sweet words about our staff <3 Yeah, laundry is our best seller this summer, machines get tired :) But have maintenance Team that takes care of them. Thanks for choosing Generator! We wish you happy travels and hope to see you here again! :) Elena, Duty Manager

  • cbelmont322
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
9.1

This place is basically a hotel with bunk beds. Everything was clean and updated, WiFi worked great. It’s doesn’t seem like a place where you’ll casually meet other travelers but it was a comfortable stay in Stockholm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks very much for the nice feedback :) Glad to know that you had a nice stay with us! Next time check out our weekly events to meet other travelers, like Trivia night :) Safe travels, Elena, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
9.4

Neat hostel at a decent price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for the great review! Welcome back! Madeleine, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2018
9.4

Apart from getting lost a few times while getting here, this place was just perfect. everything was well thought out and extremely clean. One member of our party stayed at a hotel and regretted it because the atmosphere at Generator was better. Phenomenal value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elisabethadam6556
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.9

hostel is so big it could also be a hotel. close to main station. bathrooms are in the rooms and were mostly dirty because of constant use. lockers were very big, wifi was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot for the review and feedback! Glad to hear you ejoyed your stay at the hostel and in Stockholm! Welcome back! Madeleine, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.3

More of a hotel with hotel atmosphere, and not a fan of the in the room pod bathroom (morning queues!). The big football screens were good, but the bar closed at 11pm and was generally quiet :( Food was reasonably priced and tasty! INCREDIBLE beds - the comfiest I've stayed in, and loved the individual lights, bedside pocket, and plug socket. Perfect hostel for a quiet break but less so to meet people, important for the solo traveller! Staff a little chilly, but lots of info and maps around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Yewwwwwww! Thanks for the lovely review! So happy to see that you loved our place! We are sending you some #GENlove! Cheers, Generator Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×