Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alexm413x3063
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2018
9.1

Need to get Venice travel pass to make it worth while, staff are lovely we stayed in a 16 bed dorm with no issues, bar is a bit pricey but that's venice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • flaviaribeirofonseca298
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
9.4

The only bad thing about a this hostel it that you have to take a boat to reach it, and there's not many things to see or do in the island the hostel is. The boat costs €7.5 each time you use it, or €20 a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to review the stay. We are just 5 minutes away and a single way tickets costs 7.50 euros. However, you can buy a 24hrs (20 euros), 48hrs (30 euros) and also 72hrs (40 or 29 euros for the Venice Rolling Card for people under 29 years old) water-bus tickets which reduces the transportation cost drastically . An important thing to know is that the waterbus operates 24 hours.Your comments will be brought up to the attention of the team. Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • Mustafanawfal
  • Iraq, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2018
4.6

The lady of reception is racist, when she released I'm Iraqi she treated me worse than others. The hostel on the other side of the city so I have to pay 7.50 € for each transport till 19:15. No soup no locks no towels, I should pay for everything and it's very expensive. It is clean and good air condition

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback, we will share our review with the whole team in order to improve our quality of service We hope to welcome you back here in the future. Best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2018
6.9

I arrived around 10pm and the staff who welcomed me was very nice. I went upstairs to my room to lock my bags... there is a pull out drawer under the beds which is cool but the lock fastener could easily be ripped off if anyone wanted my things. I then went to order food from the bar and the bartender was very rude for some reason. The kitchen was closed too and I was told there was no restaurants nearby so I purshed an old, overpriced breakfast sandwich. It’s not the most convenient location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Venice. We appreciate all your comments good or bad as it gives us a great guide on how we can improve our customer service and facilities. All your comments will be shared with the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Generator Venice Team

  • stpatecell6409
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2018
8.9

Generator hostel is really nice overall. Pretty friendly atmosphere where you are bound to meet travellers all over the world. The location isn't fantastic, as the island it's on doesn't have any attractions. Decent breakfast at not too expensive of a price. The only thing I really disliked was that there was only 2 washers and 2 dryers, which is was less than they should have given the hostels capacity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brodiescott113156
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2018
7.7

Really nice modern hostel, good social area. We were afraid it would be in a difficult location but super easy to get to and from the centre by boat. Bar tender was quite rude to us but other staff were excellent. Rooms were spacious, we got the end bunk so it was a bit squishier than other beds. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback, we will share our review with the whole team in order to ameliorate our quality of service We hope to welcome you back here in another occasion, best wishes Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Jul 2018
10.0

Great facilities stayed in a 20 man dorm yet had more privacy in this dorm than I’ve had in smaller dorms at other hostels, really comfortable bedding and clean facilities throughout. Staff super helpful and were able to refer me to a gym when I asked etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2018
8.3

Stayed in the 16 bed female dorm and actually slept very well, though the bathroom in the room was a bit of a mess. Although the hostel's on Guidecca and not the main centre of Venice it was really quick to get to St Mark's Square, about 5-10 min on the water bus, and would definitely recommend anyone staying for more than one night to get the VeneziaUnica card as a single journey is €7.50. Breakfast was reasonably priced too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to review the stay. Great to read that you had a good stay. Regards from sunny Venice Generator Venice Team

  • nema_i6539
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Jul 2018
9.7

Need to use a ferry to reach it but getting the pass allowed me to visit the other islands, so worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to review the stay. We are just 5 minutes away and a single way tickets costs 7.50 euros. However, you can buy a 24hrs (20 euros), 48hrs (30 euros) and also 72hrs (40 or 29 euros for the Venice Rolling Card for people under 29 years old) water-bus tickets which reduces the transportation cost drastically . An important thing to know is that the waterbus operates 24 hours.Your comments will be brought up to the attention of the team. Best regards Generator Venice Team

  • cjleggett3036
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2018
7.7

This is a great hostel, but you should know before booking it that to get to the main part of venice, you have to take a ferry that costs 7.5 euros per trip

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to review the stay. We are just 5 minutes away and a single way tickets costs 7.50 euros. However, you can buy a 24hrs (20 euros), 48hrs (30 euros) and also 72hrs (40 or 29 euros for the Venice Rolling Card for people under 29 years old) water-bus tickets which reduces the transportation cost drastically . An important thing to know is that the waterbus operates 24 hours.Your comments will be brought up to the attention of the team. Best regards Generator Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×