Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Generator Venice

  • Fondamenta della Croce, 84-86, Giudecca, Venice, Italy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gandhirahul2009977
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2018
9.4

I havent stayed in a hostel before and this was my first time. I really had an amazing time at Generator Hostel, staff was fantastic and the quality of cleanliness is comparable to that of a great hotel. Further, the atmosphere was breath taking near the bar area. You can always take a bottle and glasses and sit outside near the sea to enjoy your drinks in peace. Generator is one of the best places to stay in Venice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank for the review. Happy to have met your standards and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Generator Venice Team

  • archerlax5516
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2018
6.3

You have to pay exorbitant fees to go from mainland to the island which the hostel is located. Added 30 € per person for your trip if you plan to stay here for 2 days.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessepgoodale8226
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2018
10.0

I absolutely loved the generator! It was on a small island off of Venice but it was very easy to get over to Venice. The atmosphere was amazing as well.. staff was very friendly. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hiracheta1886897
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2018
9.7

I absoluetly loved staying here. I met a ton of people at the bar & in the lounge which I then explored Venice with. Great atmospere & overall great stay. 10/10 recommend the food as a cheaper option than anywhere in Venice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank for the review. Happy to have met your standards and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Generator Venice Team

  • lukanson
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jan 2018
9.7

Never imagine how great it can be with a nice price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank for the review. Happy to have met your standards and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Generator Venice Team

15th Jan 2018
6.6

This hostel is really nice downstairs but I don’t recommend the 16 shared dorm. I don’t know what it was but it was so hot in the room and their was no way to let any air inside to where it wasn’t suffocating. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and what not but on our last night I ended up getting bitten by bed mites all over my stomach and feet. It’s been itching all week and it honestly really puts a downer on things and grossed me out. Couldn’t wait to leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank for posting your feedback. it will be great if you could get in touch with the management directly. Looking forward your email Regards Generator Venice Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2018
9.4

Stayed here on a spontaneous detour to Venice and had a really good experience. It's a great base—close to transit so you can easily get around the islands—and really, really good value for your money (I was there in off season). Also super clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank for the review. Happy to have met your standards and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Generator Venice Team

15th Jan 2018
6.3

I usually never complain unless there is really something that irritates me. This hostel is GREAT for groups and family but Extremely inconvenient for Solo travellers. I asked where to take the walking tour and the reception is like ¨you can google it¨. I asked if they had any events and they were like ¨Google it¨again. So... As a solo traveler you will not feel welcomed at all. From my experience the best way to choose a hostel is to make sure it is not a hotel and that they have events.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, please accept my personal apologies for what it has been a fail in terms of customer service. We always re address guest to the website so that they can find some more info and direction, but the team is meant should provide all basic info at least. As I write, I can only add and say that this matter will be discussed with the team and reiterate what is the real good practice. Once again, apologies for the slip. Hope to win you back your trust in the future Warm regards, Generator Venice Team

13th Jan 2018
8.9

The Generator hostel in Venice, like other hostels of the same chain, is beautiful. Nevertheless there are few flaws: 1) Hooks are really few in rooms and toilets. Too few! 2) The hostel is located on the Giudecca island, right opposite piazza San Marco, few minutes journey. The point is that you need to use ferries to go forth and back to the hostel and that is pricey: 1 trip 7.5€, 24 hours travel card 20€, 48 hours travel card 30€ and so on. Apart from this my staying was nice and cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and also to share some travel tips for any future travellers Safe travels Generator Venice Team

12th Jan 2018
8.9

Generator is great! Being off of the main island is nice, and it’s easy to get to San Marco square in just a few minutes. The staff is spectacular - they are always ready to help and answer questions (especially about transport). The no outside food rule and lack of free breakfast is a bit of a bummer though. The rest of the hostel is pretty standard and clean. This is a great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thanks for taking the time to review us. All your comment will be shared with the team for our daily energy boost. Hoping to welcome you soon, Safe travels - Generator Venice Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×