Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Golden Gobi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2017
10.0

Golden Gobi is an incredible hostel. The staff are all very nice and have a good command of the English language, and they are very helpful. My small group arrived without a concrete plan for what to do in Mongolia, and the staff on hand organized an excursion to stay with a nomadic family (transportation, food, and guide included) within two hours of our arrival without advance notice. Our guide was incredible! Should I return to Mongolia I will definitely use Golden Gobi again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • it18977999
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2017
10.0

Golden Gobi was simply fantastic. It was clean, spacious, and the staff was friendly and incredibly helpful. When my friends and I arrived, they offered us an overnight tour out into a nearby national park for only $69 a person. It was incredible! The hosts we stayed with were positively lovely and our guide and bus driver were the coolest people ever. All part of Golden Gobi. For free they helped us arrange transportation to the airport. Next time I am in Mongolia, I know where I'm staying!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Nov 2017
8.0

Staff were not particularly friendly, the tour organiser was not overly facilitating when it came to joining a tour, which we wanted to do as we are poor backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2017
9.4

no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vika85life774
  • Russia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2017
6.3

Уборка оставляет желать лучшего, очень грязно. Нет фена. Завтрак что есть, что нет, сами покупали все, зато есть холодильник. Алтан-Цэцэг - замечательная, очень приветливая и отзывчивая. Остальной стафф - ужас. Расположение отличное. В общем, среднее впечатление.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Oct 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Very helpful. Clean and friendly. Breakfast is nice. They are happy to arrange tours. Stayed here in 2015, and again in 2017!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2017
10.0

One of the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever seen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lienhard31038
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Oct 2017
9.4

Great hostel, great location. All good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2017
8.0

Pleasant stay. The staff were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2017
4.0

The staff I first encountered was unwelcoming and not too helpful. They don't provide you a key so when I rang the front door not only did it take a while for them to answer, the staff answers the door seemingly upset I want to come inside. The bottom lounge's heater didn't work while it is -4 outside which is ridiculous. Lastly, the tours they offer are way overpriced. Search elsewhere for a hostel and do some research so you aren't forced to attend their ridiculously overpriced tours.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×