Hostelworld.com

Grand Hostel Berlin Classic

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 5721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 5721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Nov 2018
7.4

"Get's the job done"- it's a fine place to stay, but a bit far from main sightseeing attractions. The staff were very friendly and the facilities were good. But the hostel was nothing special in terms of engagement and design. I'd probably stay somewhere else next time, but I have no major complaints.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rpasca96930
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
9.4

Very nice place to stay, friendly staff and a generally cozy atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2018
10.0

I arrived to this hostel on 2 hours of sleep and the cheeky receptionist Jan made me feel right at home with 2 cups of coffee. I've spent a good amount of time in Berlin before but this was by far the best hostel I've stayed in. The facilities are top notch and the atmosphere is ideal, especially for a solo traveler looking for some diversions. It's rare for such a big space, but this place feels like more than a hostel. And this is coming from a former hostel manager. Stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lilymrademaker6524
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2018
8.6

Everything was great at this hostel, except for the showers. Anyone could walk in on you showering if they wanted to and some of the curtains don’t pull over all the way so people can see in. Other than that (an easy thing to fix), it was great and I would highly recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • carolyn-baxter7799
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2018
9.7

I had an extremely pleasant stay here. The staff was super friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. It’s also fairly easy to get to from anywhere in Berlin, as it’s close to a U-Bahn station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aknuzio1424
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2018
9.4

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and we couldn't be happier. We arrived earlier than check-in but they let us store our bags. The staff was super friendly, the room was clean, and public transportation was only a few minutes away. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hayleighhoo39814
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Oct 2018
6.9

Despite some of the reviews this hostel isn't actually very far from anything. Metro on the front door, walking distance to other S bahn and U Bahn stations. Beds are comfy, they're not too close and hostel is fairly chilled out. Only thing I felt was it wasn't as sociable or had as much going on as other hostels and been in hostels with friendlier staff. Overall a good stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
8.0

Staffs were friendly, energetic. At night, there was a bar with Halloween decoration. Location was near metro, so it's very convenient to go around Berlin. This place is near very famous Kebab store and Curry 36. The only issue was about the additional price for bed linen and tax, which provided a false representation of the price, misleading easily me. However, it was still good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2018
9.7

Great hostel one of the best in Europe! A bit outside of central but located right beside the station and only 20 minute walk to get to central. Staff is very friendly and it feels like a hotel!!! What an amazing stay thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shivamlfc9009
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2018
10.0

cheers to the helpful staff. Made the stay so much better. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×