Hostelworld.com

Greenhouse Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • teemonster952830
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2018
10.0

I absolutely LOVE staying at the Greenhouse Backpackers in Melbourne. It is in the prime location - very easy to get to, close to trams, food etc. Staff are friendly, rooms are neat and tidy and value for money is fantastic. I will continue to keep staying here every time I visit the city. I'm always recommending the Greenhouse Backpackers to my friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emma_stocken8434
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Oct 2018
4.9

No air con/fan in the bedrooms and also no windows in the 6 bed dorms. Common area is dated and worn, whole place could do with redecoration.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maddiekerr168805
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
8.6

Pros: Awesome location, great staff, nice kitchen and common room area although the couches are old, bathrooms are clean. Cons: No windows in the room, 2 powerpoints for a room of 6, very very noisy. Would stay again but for no more than a few nights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Aug 2018
6.6

Pros: fantastic location, good price, bathroom was clean, large rooftop area, staff were nice. Cons: windowless room, lots of homeless overnighters meant my room was abrasively pungent, dirty common area- especially the couches. Claims to be the best hostel in Victoria, if that is the case it speaks very poorly on the state of hostels in VIC. Decent overall but definitely nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jul 2018
8.3

Probably still one of the only decent hostels to stay at in the Melbourne Cbd. Great sized place and always easy to meet fellow travellers when staying. The hostel was always relatively clean. Theres always someone on the main desk and the staff are helpful. My only minor gripe is the wifi was pretty s**t in my room. Apart from that Recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kesjang6184
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2018
10.0

Didn’t get much sleep from roommate coughing all night but that’s what expected on shared rooms. Overall accommodation, staff and facilities spot on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jun 2018
4.9

Normally I’d never write a bad review but this hostel is awful. Stayed for two nights last week and it was fine, a little dirty and really uncomfortable beds but that’s okay. Came back for one night this week and the dorm (one of those with a window) had a generator or AC vents outside which were soo loud. Could not sleep at all, not even earplugs helped. Also, 4th floor hallway smelt of urine so badly, I got nauseous every time I left the room. Staff were friendly but kitchen was nasty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kerrydeg3531
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2018
9.7

Tepid showers . No vegemite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×