Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Greenpoint YMCA

  • 99 Meserole Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11222, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 682 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 682 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jun 2018
4.9

The rooms are shabby , there is only one men’s bathroom and the staff is unco-operative.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • alicebumstead4758
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2018
9.1

Great stay. Very good value accommodation for site-seeing in NYC. Hostel was very clean and had everything we needed. They provided towels, had a water fountain and the breakfast provided at a nearby diner was lovely. The hostel was also only a short ride on the subway from the city centre. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • geterkr7186
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2018
9.1

I carefully read many reviews and recently they were negative. I almost bailed. However I took my own linens, toiletries, and towel. When I got there, I was pleasantly surprised. I felt safe since the police station was across the street, slept well (no bed bugs) and had a decent free breakfast a block down the street. After I shared my experience with born New Yorkers, we agreed that there are still some good things about New York. Read everything before you go. Bikes are available to rent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2018
7.4

1. 24/7 staff available which is awesome 2. You need staff to let you into the guest rooms above the YMCA (safe) 3. Room was clean but very old, bed was firm, hardwood floors in room 4. toilet and showers were relatively clean, hair and body gel available (code access, safe!) 5. Awesome location about ~450-500m (0.3mi) from Greenpoint or Nassau subway stops (green line) 6. Lots of places around the area for food and drink, supermarket/groceries close by 7. No kitchen which was a bummer

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aosullivan5790
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2018
8.6

Excellent hostel with really helpful staff, particularly the lady on the reception who sorted us out with no fuss at all. Preferred this hostel overall to the hotel we stayed in before it. Will definitely stay again when visiting New York.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
19th May 2018
8.6

This hostel was a pleasant surprise. It's located in Greenpoint, where you can conveniently get around with subway. To Manhattan there are several connections too. Our twin room was spacious enough but very basic. But for a couple of nights stay it was ok. Shared toilet facilities were good and we never needed to queue to them though there were just 2 showers and toilets on 2nd floor for women. Breakfast was served in a nearby diner but food was ok. Wifi didn't work that well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Apr 2018
6.9

Great price and location is near a subway, so not too bad. But I didn’t realise it was a local community centre. The communal bathroom is very communal and you see everything. There were some interesting characters in there! Book here if your really cheap, just don’t expect much. The room was safe and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • clongworth2038
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2018
9.1

Great Location - Can walk to most everything in Greenpoint - Subway close By - liked the free breakfast at the 3 Decker restaurant- Room was clean - we brought inflatable air mattresses and put them on the beds which made all the difference in comfort- Lots of stairs were a challenge for me ( was on the 3rd floor and had to go to the 2nd for the men’s bathroom) Staff was Great! Good Value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×