Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Banff Alpine Centre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1344 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • catherineveilleux26610
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2018
4.9

Staff was not very friendly - made me feel pretty stupid when asking questions as for where the facilities were located. No one was present at check out and I was in a hurry so I just left the card to a staff who was not at the desk. Definitely weird atmosphere if you're used to friendly party hostels like the ones in South America or Indonesia ... Very calm, and not so good atmosphere to make new friends if you're a solo traveler. Located >2km from downtown Banff ... Not ideal

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, I'm really sorry to see that you found some staff not to be friendly. This is a really unusual occurrence with our guys to date but for sure I will be speaking to all of the team to make sure they all give their best when espousing the charms of Banff. We can have a chill vibe located as we are in the middle of wonderful Canadian nature & we can never hope to bring the party as much as the South Americans - but if you're ever back with us be sure to check out our themed Karaoke Nights or Jam Nights in our Storm Cellar which can be lots of fun! Lewis, Assistant General Manager

  • lordylordy
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2018
9.7

Gorgeous spot, wonderfully clean and had everything I could have needed. Highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chris8169
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2018
9.4

The Hi Alpine hostel was perfect for our 5 night stay in Banff. The kitchen and bathrooms were always super clean and useful to have. The included bus passes were brilliant saving us around $25 each. The location is a little out of town but perfect for local walks, you can walk into town in about 20-30 mins if you don’t want to get the bus and the scenery is beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eabanjb4415
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2018
5.1

No front door security. Room door did not always lock. Bathrooms were ok, but not great. Reserved a twin private share. Got a quad private 4 two. Booked well in advance. Not good value at $130 per night for night 1&2. Night 3 was $243!!! That’s $120+ per person. We moved. Across the street to a private room with a private bath. Plus full private kitchen and NO NOISE. The noise of shared rooms with doors open is very bad for sleep at 11:40, 12:50 and 2:40. Security useless

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us here at HI Banff. As described on Hostelworld the Basic Twin Private is "dormitory sold as private room, based on double occupancy" this is where we offer a 4 bed dormitory as a private room for people that would prefer privacy. The reason the price can climb high is because that would be the equivalent of the beds selling individually. I will speak to our 24hr night security guys to let them know of your feedback. Again, thanks for your feedback - we always try to do better. Lewis - Assistant General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2018
9.4

Gorgeous spot and wonderful vibe but a little far out of town. Everything was clean and easy to use and there's a great kitchen for guests. We had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shaimajaff5136
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2018
5.7

The staff not friendly at all.. Not giving any information about staying if you didn't ask. Bathroom not clean and no garbages to put dirty staff on it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, I'm sorry you found our staff to not be so friendly. I will be sure to pass on your feedback, including to our housekeeping department. Lewis - Assistant General Manager

  • barrettino
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2018
9.7

Incredible staff that are super super helpful! Everyone I spoke to was very eager to help. The free bus pass is superb and the activities that they run are pretty cool and extensive. The burgers in their cafe are to die for!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There, Thank you for your kind words, I'll be sure to pass them on to the team. Especially to our Cafe team - those burgers are superb eh! Lewis, Assistant General Manager

  • djtodd7091807
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jun 2018
9.1

2 great stays in the HI Banff, the lockers are huge and the bus pass is super useful. Also plugs and lights above ALL beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Great to hear that you enjoyed your stays here at HI Banff. It's true about the lights & plug sockets by the beds - it's the little things that make life comfy for a hosteller! Hope to have you back some day! Safe Travels - Lewis, Assistant General Manager

31st May 2018
9.4

Staff was very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2018
5.4

Really bad wifi and the washrooms were dirty. The rooms are okay but not really nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback. We are always working on improving our Wifi. I will pass on your feedback regarding our washrooms to the housekeeping team, our washrooms are checked every 2 hours all day & night and deep cleaned once daily but during high traffic times we do appreciate feedback if they are ever found to be in bad condition. Kind Regards & Safe Travels - Lewis, Assistant General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×