Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 4176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 4176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • morenewilliams18306
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
9.7

Loved my stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alebuffalohead4953
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2018
9.4

Loved everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2018
9.7

Great hostel with travelers from all over & all age groups represented. I only have 3 requirements of a hostel: price, cleanliness and security. HI Chicago delivered on all three. HUGE common room with ping pong, flat screen TV with comfy couches with charging stations. Though rooms are a bit dated and plain, they do have AC, lockers & towels. Breakfast free and substantial. Free water filling stations and bathrooms throughout. Hostel offers activities for socializing. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cleojarahidalgo
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2018
9.4

It’s been great! Everybody are friendly, and the breakfast it’s the best! A true meal finally. Big rooms and amazing design of the building.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2018
4.9

Wasn't a fan of the hostel. Lots of old people there. But that might just be Chicago in general

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mattosborn1685
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2018
8.3

This place did the job nicely, but it wasn’t as lively as most of the other hostels I’ve ever stayed in. The rooms are functional and the place is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a big kitchen and the common area has good facilities, it just wasn’t ever as full as I expected.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2018
8.3

This hostel has the most space, cleanest rooms and the best facilities. The unfortunate part is that the atmosphere is fairly dull. As a solo traveler it was not fun, it has nothing to do with the hostel, I think it’s just the city. I was also surprised at the amount of older people in the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2018
9.4

Check-in was a breeze! You need your room key to enter almost every room, including the elevator. I chose the more expensive private room under the impression we'd have two beds but we actually shared one double bed (my fault for not double checking before). I loved the free breakfast and the location was perfect, ideal and in walking distance of good restaurants, stores and the park. Would 100% recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2018
6.0

A very boring and impersonal hostel. You needed a keycard to get into the bathroom. The room was so cold i couldnt sleep and you only got the thinnest little thing for a blanket. Also they charged you a 3$ fee (which wasnt in the price when i booked online), per night, for not being a member. I wouldnt go again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. We try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay as we are all about wanting our guest to be happy. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

  • gmoigina1222
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2018
10.0

Excellent, Comfy bed, hot shower, lovely staff. Thank you for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest thank you for rating us so high.Thank you for your stay at HI Chicago and for sharing your wonderful experience online. We are delighted to read that you loved our hostel which was perfect for your needs. Thank you for being our guest. It was our pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Safe Travels Always!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×