Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 580 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 580 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ivonnelopez23238701
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2018
10.0

Wonderful place to stay! Highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hopeofdawn5383
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2018
8.9

Beautiful place in a quiet, cozy neighborhood with lots of nearby amenities. Everyone was very friendly, and the private room very comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome, so glad you had a good stay! Happy Travels!

  • foot15and3quarters6755
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
10.0

HI Portland was great! The location was perfect for everything I needed and the staff were friendly, helpful and hardworking. I will recommend this hostel to friends. Thanks especially to Steve and Blackie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katedagreat
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Oct 2018
9.4

Had a great stay at the Hawthorne! Funky atmosphere (as in good funky) and very clean, comfortable and cozy. Making pancakes in the morning was a treat and Blackie was great company out on the porch. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yay, we are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Blackie sends her regards!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2018
10.0

Good place liked the pancakes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Sep 2018
10.0

Everything was done properly. Blackie the Cat was a superb host.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jaycswartz8248
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2018
8.3

Laid back, peaceful place on a main street just east of downtown.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andrewpwichmann3873
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2018
9.4

I think it's fair to say this was one of the best decisions on my trip across the US so far (it's kinda hard to beat Burning Man, though). This was the first time I had ever stayed at a hostel, and I'm liking it so much that I have decided to stay an extra few nights. This hostel is super eco-minded which I adore. There is a free breakfast of oatmeal, DIY pancakes, or cereal and coffee/tea to boot. I also really appreciate the full kitchen which allowed me to save loads by cooking in bulk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow, we are honored to be spoken with such a regard. Thanks for your comments!

  • lhd0225
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2018
9.1

This hostel may be the oldest that I've ever stayed in. Fun fact, one of my Lyft drivers explained to me that it use to be a nursery back in the 70s. The location was perfect since Hawthorne is a neighborhood that is the epitome of Portland. I stayed about a week and felt as though I got my money's worth. I was walking distance of a bus stop, food trucks, a gas station with an ATM. With it being said of being an old building, the beds were squeaky. It was not the softest mattresses.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2018
7.1

HORRID mattresses and squeaky bunks. Felt like I was sleeping right on the metal frame. Two showers in the whole place, just FYI. Convenient location to exceptional vegan Mexican food, baked goods, and pizza. Cool old house that is very eco - PLEASE invest in better or new mattresses!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. Sorry if you had a tough time with your bed. We'll take a look at that mattress and bed and see what's going on. Next time if there's an issue, please tell us while you are here and we'll try to accommodate you and make it right. Happy Travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×