Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland Hawthorne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2018
7.1

HORRID mattresses and squeaky bunks. Felt like I was sleeping right on the metal frame. Two showers in the whole place, just FYI. Convenient location to exceptional vegan Mexican food, baked goods, and pizza. Cool old house that is very eco - PLEASE invest in better or new mattresses!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Sep 2018
6.0

The beds were terrible in this old house/hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that, most folks like our beds. Please next time you stay at a hostel, let them know that it's a problem and we will try and find something that is more comfortable. Happy Travels!

4th Sep 2018
7.1

— Wednesdays OPEN MIC and free beer tasting!!! — It may not be located in downtown but taking the bus is really easy to get there. — Nice kitchen and coffee/te all day. • I was wondering if the staff girls are locals or other travelers. I didn’t felt they were enthusiastic to talk about Portland to other travelers. It was like they if they just wanted a JOB. • I wish breakfast were something else just than cereal and coffee/tea maybe some apple/orange juice and toast bread would be perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pdxsocialwork5488
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
8.9

Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. . r

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • CLARPUS
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
10.0

Met some interesting folks here. Great location on Hawthorne Ave with a helpful and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2018
9.4

Great location 10 min drive to downtown and also great food and shopping walking distance. Very secure with codes to unlock all doors, front desk staff was helpful and recommended things to do around town. Very clean and comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2018
9.1

Great spot if you want to experience the east side. Hawthorne is a good home base for good bars and restaurants, central to a lot of good neighborhoods. Fred Meyer (inexpensive grocery store) is just a few blocks away. The complimentary breakfast wasn't as nice as those I've had in other hostels, but it was free so I can't complain. The staff was friendly and I love how eco friendly the place is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2018
5.1

They have a weird no alcohol policy and it was super empty. Only reason to go there is if you want a cheap place to stay, no social scene at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review. FYI-The alcohol policy is common at many HI hostels and especially smaller ones where they don't have 24 hour front desk. Unfortunately, there is a liability with minors (youth hostel) and alcohol stored and used that we have to be responsible for. Of course this doesn't mean that you can't take advantage of the wonderful bars and breweries withing walking distance of the hostel, we just asked you don't store or drink it there. The hostel was full on a Saturday night, just mellow the one night you stayed. Happy Travels.

  • chloeedavis1263
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
10.0

lovely staff! Had a great time at this hostel, really recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • huskeyjennifer6997
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2018
10.0

This hostel was clean and comfortable with knowledgeable staff and kind guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×