Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI Portland - Northwest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • adnieman3168
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2018
10.0

Really good place to stay. They get it. The facilities all work perfectly, the staff is friendly and helpful and it's in a nice residential neighborhood not too far from the train station and downtown. Checks all the boxes for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lgilbert5859
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Sep 2018
10.0

So good! Clean and secure. Lots of bathrooms. Each bed had a shelf, power strip, fan, and dim lamp. They had cheap amenities like soap, earplugs, and shampoo behind the counter. Free breakfast was great, people were super nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kuchleinra8592
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I’ve stayed in, really great community vibe, so easy to meet people and make friends! Friendly staff, the location feels safe, is easy to walk to supermarkets, thrift stores, everything you could need. The rooms were clean, the showers in the old building leave a little to be desired, but are much better in the new building! Kitchen facilities were good, and free breakfast and the cafe were much appreciated. Would %100 book again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mariehollister2666
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
8.0

Cute facilities with character in nice location. Nice staff. Cool and convenient café with discount for those staying. Could be a little more bang for the buck though (cheaper!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2018
7.4

Had a private room and only stayed one night so difficult to judge atmosphere etc. Looked as though the hostel ran activities each day and had a nice cafe attached so we wished we had more time to make the most of what the hostel had to offer. A little far from the centre but we were still able to walk to most places in about 30 mins. Room we stayed in was nice but could have been improved by more accessible sockets next to beds and another communal shower. Overall good stay and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mail9512
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2018
8.6

Really worth it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2018
9.1

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, atmosphere a bit lacking when I was there but they have social activities most days and plenty of social areas so it’s just a case of timing I think. Otherwise comfortable beds, basic but included breakfast and oddly enough day old bread from the bakery for free which I found to be really good toasted, but otherwise still good! Actually they had so much of it I took a few loaves down to Potluck in the Park mobile kitchen (google it, & do it too!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
8.9

Great location and setup. The beds in the dorm were super squeaky but bathrooms were clean and lockers were big. Great location to walk downtown, to Washington Park, to the east end - everything!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexszeto7639
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
8.3

This location is excellent for a traveler trying to explore downtown. The building is well maintained but it is old and only getting older, so if convenience is a higher priority than comfort, then this is an excellent place to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2018
9.4

This was a really nice hostel! Unfortunately, I found it a bit hard to socialize with people here but I’d stay again because of its proximity to downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×