Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2018
9.7

This was a wonderful experience! Postel is conveniently located near much of what downtown San Francisco has to offer. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere and inviting. Note: this is in the tenderloin district. If you’ve been, then you know what that means. If it’s your first time, you may be surprised. Lots of homelessness, open drug use on the streets, even nudity. I guess that’s just San Francisco! Not a reason to skip this one! There’s also an on-site bar for beer and wine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2018
8.3

In the Tenderloin within easy walking distance to the symphony and opera. Sadly, many homeless people in the area but I felt safe walking back from a performance at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2018
9.1

Great clean facility, love the ensure bathrooms (with bath tubs), rooms are clean. Full ratings if the evening desk staff (male staff) were even just a tad bit nicer, perhaps it’s because of the area the hostel is located they act the way they are - wouldn’t even let my friend stay inside to wait for Uber at night, such a sketchy area. In the day time, the staff were super friendly and helpful. No laundry onsite, but there are laundromats in the area (wash before 9pm).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • blgressgott1707
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2018
5.1

Staff was rude AF. Walked into a guy with hella attitude behind the desk. Same dude when I left, same crappy attitude. Won't be back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jabildgaard691839
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2018
9.7

Magical!! Loved it Beautiful first hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2018
9.4

Staffs were helpful, the room was clean and I liked that there's room service and change of towels every single day. I felt a little uncomfortable around the area but aside from that I liked that it's walking distance to a lot of tourist places. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2018
8.0

The hostel itself is great but the location isn't great. It's in the Tenderloin neighborhood of San Francisco, which has a reputation for homeless people, drug usage, and street violence. I personally never felt unsafe but it wasn't really pleasant to walk through the neighborhood. However, the location really is in the city center, so it's not far from BART stations or any major attractions in San Francisco. The hostel itself is perfect though. Clean, great people, great breakfast, great rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • armstrongmark945287
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2018
8.6

A pretty excellent hotel in a bit of a shabby part of town. Lots of homeless people but if you leave them alone, they'll leave you alone. Generous breakfast with option to add 4 pancakes or 4 eggs or 2 of each for $1 but free bagels was pretty great. Big lockers. A pretty great place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juliandersonk1039
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2018
8.0

Pretty good hostel, very clean. Staff are always trying to help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nicolep19917874
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2018
6.0

Please note this hostel is located in Tenderloin, a very bad area of San Francisco. I’ve lived in big cities and I’m used to seeing homeless people but i’ve never seen it as bad as in and around Ellis St where the hostel is based. People openly doing drugs, and as a female travelling alone I really did not feel safe walking back to the hostel in the evening. The hostel itself was super clean but pricey for a location this bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×