Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
9.7

We absolutely loved this hostel! Very cool interior with lots of different spaces to hang out! Great breakfast too! Only comment I would make is that there are a couple of blocks of rough streets close by to avoid when heading towards Union Square..which we didn't know until we found out the hard way while walking back to / from the hostel.. maybe the staff could warn people when they arrive? But otherwise a great experience and we would love to come back one day! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marie945417
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
8.0

The hostel itself has been really nice! It was tidy, clean, nicely decorated, a lot of comfy chill out areas, a bar, coffee and tea have been available the whole day for free and the breakfast was nice as well. The staff has been super friendly and helpful. However, the area of the hostel is a bit bizarre. It’s not dangerous, but we felt a bit uncomfortable walking past the homeless and it has definitely not been the nicest welcome. If you can handle this, the hostel is a good catch for you :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benntheakston553
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2018
8.9

Best hostel in the worst place. Felt safe but wasn’t to keen to leave after dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katherine-may1285
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2018
8.9

Lovely hostel! Very clean and comfortable (but small) rooms and cosy beds. Staff were super friendly and made sure that you had everything you needed. I rang the day before checking in as I had read the reviews about the location and the gentleman I spoke to (unfortunately didn’t catch his name) was so lovely and made me feel a lot better. I didn’t have any issues about the location when I was actually there so don’t let that put you off but still be vigilant!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ConorProbyn-Wood
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2018
9.1

I personally did not feel the location was an issue at all. I went out to a few bars during my stay and walked back through middle of tenderloin by myself at 2am and had no problems. I have stayed at 3 different hostels during my time in San Francisco and this deffinatley had the best atmosphere in terms of travelers and hostels. Extremely clean facilities and the decor is awesome. Great location, abit pricy but we are in San Framcisco after all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • luizhab2517
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2018
6.9

Needs bathrooms improvements

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2018
5.4

The facilities are Ok, but the hostel is located in a very creepy place as you cannot walk around without see people doing drugs every 2 meters, just when we arrived someone was smoking from a sort of pipe just on the front door of the hostel, and needles all around the place. Not a nice place to stay for location, but if you don't mine the feeling the facilities are correct, quite overpriced for this location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Sep 2018
10.0

fantastic will stay when going back in about 18 months time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pcarvajal1828599
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.1

Area was a little sketch but i felt at home whenever i was chilling at the loft. Would come here again. Enjoyed the stay very much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
9.1

Such a cool building with so many interesting things! The bar area is super convenient to meet people in and the staff were very friendly too. Only downside is the area but it’s only a very short walk to some really nice areas too so don’t let that put you off.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×