Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • timkruzins3514
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2018
4.3

Have an area to drink your own alcohol. Hostel activities that dont refer you to another hostel. Price that reflects the neighborhood. Common area open after 12.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kamaladizdarevic419
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
7.4

Location is really not the best- there are a lot of dodgy people around in the area. I would not recommend this area to people travelling alone or female travellers. The hostel itself has a really cool atmosphere and I liked the decor. The breakfast is really amazing, you can have free bagels or add $1 to get pancakes or eggs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
8.3

Nice place to stay and close to most of attraction about 30 mins walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sabrinaramirez56113
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2018
6.9

Although the hostel and the staff were good, the location of this place is enough for me to not want to come back. It’s in an area called the Tenderloin( locals refer to it as the TL) and has an extreme problem for homelessness and crime. We did not feel comfortable walking around at night, but Uber and lyft were very easy to get. You also can’t have your own alcohol in there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chrisinhopi8306
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2018
9.1

Excellent, friendly staff and comfortable accommodations, safely tucked in the tenderloin. I'd stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Applejuice06154373
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2018
7.1

This was our first time in a hostel and that part.was fine. What we didn't like was the location of the hostel. We felt very unsafe at night with the homeless on the streets near the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2018
9.1

Homeless are not a real issue if hostel instructions and advice are followed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rotetraenen815478
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2018
7.4

Very good breakfast (=

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elleclough3048
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
9.1

We had such an awesome stay and even after check out they let us store our bags no charge so we could Adventure our final day. Super helpful staff. Best hostel and nicest by far that I have stayed in my travelling experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2018
8.0

It’s an awesome hostel, I always trust in Hi Hostels but this one should be moved , it is one of the worst neighborhoods in SF

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×