Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
9.4

No parking

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Oct 2018
8.3

I had a great experience overall, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast exceeded my expectations (besides the amazing bagels you can add eggs and pancakes for only $1). Though very close to all central attractions, it is surrounded by streets crowded with homeless people which might make it seem unsafe, specially at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • karenlvanes3257
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2018
6.3

I wouldn't return, the location was really bad, bed were plastic and the staff were miserable. We looked onto the road and witness ambulances each night and alot of homelessness. A bad impression of SF!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2018
9.4

Best hostel in SF. Period

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2018
9.4

Amazing place with friendly staff, great breakfast and amazing atmosphere. Had a great time exploring the city and coming back to my safe and clean room. Many thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Oct 2018
9.1

Prob best hostel I've ever stayed. Renovated nostalgic old building, with most beautiful & eclectic decor/furnishing. Electric room security, big lockers. Nice bar, lift, great breakfast. BEWARE! Corner of drug addict/ homeless district, hundreds lining sidewalks day and night (area bound by Larkin, Ellis, Market St) Very scary/unsafe feeling, esp women. Approach from Nth of Ellis St! Also mgt blare morose church & ancient music from 11pm, creates a sullen & oppressive funeral/church atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ruafeehan9861
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Oct 2018
8.3

The hostel is really beautiful, the staff are wonderful and the breakfast is great! The location is a bit scary (esp if you’re travelling alone) as there is a lot of drug addiction in the area. If you’re coming from the airport I wouldn’t recommend walking from Civic Centre BART station as it’s really confronting and not safe. I walked through the area at around 8/9pm..don’t!! Get the BART to Powell station and walk up O’Farrell Street..it’s only 2 mins longer but it’s much safer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ajherrin12496
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2018
8.9

Really great hostel in a bit of a sketchy neighborhood. Do not, I repeat do not venture out on foot heading east from the hostel. Staff is great, fantastic atmosphere, clean, and plenty of common space. Breakfast is AMAZING.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alizaspaeth-cook1208
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
8.9

The hostel is located in the heart of the Tenderloin. Nearby the sidewalks are literally lined with people openly using drugs and living in abysmal conditions. It was very disconcerting to see this, but, that said, things felt fairly safe. I felt okay walking around during the day alone and at night with a companion. The hostel itself was clean. The staff were kind. The other hostellers were great. I would absolutely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2018
6.6

If you read the reviews beforehand, it'll prepare you for the apocalyptic zombie scenes around the Tenderloin district. Safe but disturbing at the same time. But that's kinda San Francisco. Walkable to most points of interest. Nice, helpful staff, decent free breakfast. You have to pay to use the PCs which is unusual for hostels but again, that's SF - nothing's cheap. However, the main library (internet) is free to use which is a 7 minute walk away. Use the PCs here if it's open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×