Hostelworld.com

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 5360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 5360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zwfeng815
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2018
10.0

The staffs at the front desk were really friendly and helpful, we had a great time staying here! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2018
9.7

Only stayed here for a few hours, basically just to sleep overnight. Breakfast was good (bagels, bananas, apples, etc.). Parking nearby is very expensive, so make sure to factor that in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2018
5.4

A little disappointed from that hostel, the staff wasn’t great and did any really seem to care about the gusts, the hostel “activity’s” if you can really call them that why, are not happening, and if they do it’s a gay from a bar that will take you to one place (a shiti one bay the way) and will disappear

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2018
8.3

Buen lugar, muy bien ubicado, el cuarto estaba cómodo y se sentía seguro, tanto para acceder al cuarto, como los roomies que tenía. Fue mi primer hostel pero me agrado, así que volvería sin duda.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Nov 2018
10.0

Good value for money, spacious room with large locker space, clean, 2x USB and 2 plug sockets per guest in the room, staff helpful, centrally located, would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2018
9.4

This hostel had everything you need, is in a great location, close to BART station, with a very good breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! We are so happy to hear this! Thank you for staying at HI San Francisco Downtown Hostel! -Mike

  • ashsutherland6122
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
10.0

Awesome hostel - amazing breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! So happy to hear you loved our breakfast! -Mike

  • pauloandrediasbastos015272
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2018
9.1

Great staff. Great facilities. Great environment and activities. The only drawback is the location, as downtown is not the nicest place in San Francisco. But if you want to stay in the heart of the city, HI San Francisco - Downtown is still highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your compliments on our staff and activities! While over the past few years I have seen some negative changes in our neighborhood, I am very confident that with some recent initiatives in our amazing city that the Downtown areas will see some much needed improvements. -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2018
10.0

I really loved it staying in this hostel !! They helped me with any questions I had and it was fun!! Breakfast was also good !! Totally worth it and the location is awesome ! I’ll definitely come next time to this hostel for sure !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon! -Mike

  • tillyjeanette
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Oct 2018
8.6

Loved my room (shared female dorm) and it was right next to union square which made it perfect for travelling around. The Theatre room was also pretty cool to watch tv but was often used for people to talk than the actual use of it. Could do with some more promotion of their events for socialising, but I was more than happy with my stay here overall!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, I am happy to hear you loved your room and our location. I apologize if people were socializing in places you did not want to socialize and we failed to facilitate socializing. Ok yes, I am poking fun at you, but I understand what you are saying =). We have an almost entirely new team at our desk and I definitely agree we do have greater need for event promotion. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall! -Mike

×