Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HI San Francisco - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4697 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2018
6.6

Our first impression was a drunk homeless man getting escorted out of the common area. The security consisted of showing your room key to the front desk staff, but they we’re not always free to look up and check especially with large groups. However, at night you did need a key card to open the front door. Pictures are outdated as the building is much older and the windows in our room wouldn’t shut so it got cold. The location is ideal and the staff are friendly but not the most helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I am sorry that we made a poor first impression. While 24/7 keycard access to the building seems like a good idea, it never accounts for who catches the door and enters afterwards, thus we need to check those passes manually. Due to your comments we will be refreshing staff on security protocols. I apologize for your window and have dispatched our maintenance team to look into this. Sincerely, Mike

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2018
10.0

I loved my stay, the staff couldn’t of been more helpful, beds were really comfortable, really great location. I haven’t any negative comments at all, I would highly recommend you to friends 😀👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for your business! -Mike

  • FrazerShep
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2018
9.7

Great vibe, cozy atmosphere. Nice and central as well so everything is in walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LokiMiller8448
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2018
10.0

This is the 'Uber' of hotels. I'll never stay in a hotel again after this experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, we prefer to be the "Lyft of Hostels," but thank you so much for the compliments! -1 for Hotels, +1 for Hostels, yay!

  • catherine8509247806
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2018
8.9

My stay was pretty great. The location was super convenient! Less than a 5-minute walk to Union Square, around a 5-minute walk to the BART, MUNI station and the Cable Car Station. I found the bunk bed to be extremely sturdy, but there seemed to be no way of controlling the temperature besides opening a small sliver of the window, and it was unbearably hot even though it was February. The shower rooms are a bit small, but besides that, I think it's a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya, I am happy to hear you had a pretty great stay and found our location to be good. Our heating system is centralized so we turn the whole building on or off at once. The weather changed pretty drastically this past week and we did not respond quickly enough in adjust the heating the first night. Apologies there, we could have done better. -Mike

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2018
9.7

Nothing to fault, we had a wonderful stay here. Only thing would be the broken elevator, but the staff were happy to help us up the stairs. Great bathroom facilities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us at HI San Francisco Downtown Hostel! I am terribly sorry about the elevator, we are working on it. I am so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay regardless. -Thank you, Mike Foyder, GM

  • jjheaphy4325
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2018
9.1

Super friendly and helpful staff. Decent location and on-budget pricing. Had a very pleasant stay and shall return. Thanks HI Downtown!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2018
9.4

My only complaint was that the elevator was broken. So if you are not able to climb several flights of stairs, don't stay here. Otherwise, I had a great experience and would definitely stay here again. It was very clean, the location is central to everything. It is a short walk from the BART. There is a 24 hour diner next door that serves really great food. They also offer different tours and activities which is a great opportunity to meet other travelers, especially if you are by yourself

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stephanie10921733
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2018
8.0

This was my first time staying at a hostel and it was a great impression. Staff was friendly, people were great. A couple of negatives were: the cleaning staff was louder than guests every morning at breakfast. Being in room 306, we could hear them talking so loudly it felt like they were in our room. Also the elevator was out. THAT was ridiculous. It was out Sunday... understandable it's Sunday. But Monday... Tuesday AND Wednesday. more breakfast options waffle maker? Overall AWESOME

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I am happy to hear we made a great impression! Sorry about those negatives. We could have been more clear about the elevator as it has been down for a couple of weeks now, but we are mostly out of the woods and should have it up within 1 week at this point. Unfortunately it has been a very big time consuming repair project on that one. Well, we recently did some work near the kitchen and removed carpet with made the area a bit louder. Thank you for bringing this up, we are going to work on the acoustics in that area to quiet things down a bit! -Mike

  • fekaess2288
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2018
9.1

Great Kitchen, great people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×