Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HK Austin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2018
9.1

Overall a really fun place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Mar 2018
10.0

Amazingly friendly staff, clean large rooms and close location to town. Definitely a great place to stay in Austin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2018
8.6

The good: All the staff live on site and are incredibly nice and welcoming. The atmosphere of this hostel is really its strongest point. I had a private room that was big, clean, comfortable and quiet. Good air circulation throughout the house. A great value. Location is good, not great. The bad: Security is poor. All the doors have number keypad locks. I don't think they have ever changed the passwords because they are written in large letters on the doors themselves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2018
7.7

HK is a beautiful, historic home turned hostel. One of the best I've been at in US. Friendly enough staff, clean, rooms big enough for people plus bags, bathrooms ensuite, small lockers (BYO lock), nice common area, big kitchen. But, overpriced and unlike hostels elsewhere in the world, maps are not provided and they don't tell you anything about the city unless you ask. Often ?'s are met with an "I don't know." Location o.k. Austin is a big city with a lot to see & do. Poor online communication

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2018
10.0

I had a great stay!! The staff there was SO friendly and welcoming to us, even as we arrived fairly late in the evening. We ticked off all the Texas boxes within a few blocks — tacos, BBQ, beer, swimming, and two-stepping. We'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Brix212
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2018
6.9

It’s alright. If you’ve been to hostels in Europe or Asia then this one will seem mediocre. The staff isn’t the friendliest, there isn’t much of a communal vibe (which is the main reason why I stayed in a hostel vs Airbnb or hotel), and they don’t offer any activities like bike rental. It was really over priced for what you get. But at least it was in a good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2018
10.0

Nice staff. Clean facilities. Lots of fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexanderclark912657
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2018
10.0

Incredibly friendly staff Super convenient location Great facility in itself. All amenities included. Created a very comfortable and relaxed environment for my short trip in the city of Austin. I will most definitely be returning in the near future. I highly recommend this hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2018
10.0

I was freezing and arrived early, they let me check in and offered me coffee. The house is literally a mansion, the mattresses are incredibly comfortable and there's plenty of space inside the house. Austin changed the way I see American cities, I could walk across the street and get amazing tacos and coffee without the need of a car. Wine bar across the street and many other bars and restaurants, if you like food the East side is prime location No shortage of partying on the East as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2018
9.7

Fantastic place far enough from the chaos of downtown traffic, while not far from any of the good stuff! Literally across the street from the food truck plaza with the best BBQ and street tacos, and Stay Gold, a very nice watering hole. Staff are very friendly and engage well with the guests. There's even a wall full of polaroids to document your stay! Kitchen/bathrooms/rooms are clean and contain all necessary amenities. Back porches (both downstairs and upstairs) are chill hangout spots.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×