Hostelworld.com

Habitat HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • anaxxc
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
9.4

Definitely staying at this hostel again. The staff is nice, clean rooms and toilets, kitchen sometimes messy but cleaned multiple times during the day. 10 min walking from the beach and 20 from Chapel Road main bars and clubs. Easy to get to CBD by tram.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2018
9.1

Good clean hostel. Great location. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us your really positive review! So pleased to read you had a great stay and I hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Simone and the HHQ team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2018
9.7

Stayed at three hostels in St Kilda, this one was the best!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deanoldham75420
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2018
9.4

Really good hostel with good vibes. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving such a positive review... Happy and Safe travels Simone and the Habitat team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Oct 2018
8.6

Friendly and very helpful staff, great kitchen (but groceries seem to magically disappear...), room size okay, ensuite bathroom is modern, beds are extremely uncomfortable (bedsprings give the feeling of sleeping on a rock) but all in all a good option for a couple of nights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving your review and feedback. I'm sorry that it seems someone else has helped them to your food, we have cameras in the kitchen to deter this very un Backpacker behaviour!! I am also sorry to read about your bed being uncomfortable...next time let our staff know as we could have immediately replaced your mattress with a brand new one ..... Happy and safe travels simone and the HabitatHQ team

  • monteroomatias9992
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2018
8.9

It was a really nice experience. The staff, the environment and the key location makes the difference. If I go back to Melbourne, probably I will come back to Habitathq

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it and would love to see you back here again!

  • morkrako
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Oct 2018
7.4

The hostel is nice there is WIFI limited also its far from the city but near st. Kilda But there is few thing that misses like Lockers!!! Also there r people who kind of living in this hostel, in this case when travers comes there not downer beds beacuse everything taken by "living guest" i think its better to sperate them from the guest for short time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it. Our wifi has just been upgraded to give our guests 1.2GB free every day, when you stay with again you'll be able to take advantage of all this data! Our dorm rooms have free lockers for all guests to use, you just need to supply your own padlock to secure them. We also have extra paid lockers (super cheap!) in the common area if you need more! We're sorry you didn't know about the lockers, next time just ask at reception and we can help you out! Our hostel has a mix of short and longer term guests, and we like to encourage all our guests to meet each other and have the best experience they can! Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback, wishing you safe travels! The Habitat HQ Team

  • sarahswan923903
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
5th Oct 2018
8.9

A mixed of short and long term people, room is really messy with peoples stuff everywhere and the beds squeek like mad. Apart from this the hostels pretty good and from what I have heard it is the best of a bad bunch in Melbourne. I enjoyed it here, has a tele room, very social reception and outside area. Kitchen is quite small and always busy, not alot of room to put your food. St Kilda is a nice area and has the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and have extended your stay! From time to time we do have messy rooms from guests, just let us know at reception and we can follow up anytime. We also have a maintenance guru and our reception desk is open all the time, so any issues like squeaky beds can be fixed quickly! Thanks again for your feedback!

5th Oct 2018
8.0

Good location near St Kilda beach with easy tram access into the CBD. Events each night so fairly sociable and easy to meet new people even if a lot of the people there are staying long term.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you'll be back again! All the best for your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

28th Sep 2018
5.7

Not ad hyped up as a lot of people say it is. As a newcomer the atmosphere seems dull as most are long termers so already have heir cliques; hard to intigrate into the social side without getting drunk. Hardly saw any staff apart from on reception so unsure where they were. Kitchen is clean & has good facilities but no room to store any food if you haven’t already got a shelf. The wifi they offer was good & tje live music on Sunday is entertaining. Not great for St. Kilda.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×