Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 5964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 5964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jan 2018
8.9

There is a club in the basement and the music can be heard throughout the building, party goes on until 5am, good luck falling asleep if you are in the lower floors

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Although there is an underground club, we do care about guests sleeping too. You can always call the front desk from the comfort of your bed or stop by- a staff member is available 24/7 and can help asap! Just have to ask :)

  • kwabenaasiama5527
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2018
7.7

For the most part, it was very convenient. The rooms were not a 5-star, but it was just enough for a hostel. The environment is also vibrant with many people around to talk to and make new friends. A great place for backpacking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're glad you had a pleasant stay, and hopefully met some cool people! :)

  • chinty88
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2018
8.3

The staff is really accommodating when it comes to storing facilities, they helped me out big time on New Year's eve. The location of the hostel is perfect when it comes to sightseeing and devouring delicious food, also there's a coffeeshop nearby for obvious purpose in Amsterdam. The hostel has a gift of wit for sure with the funky messages placed all around. I had a basic room in the highest form of possible basic definition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and are looking forward to your next visit! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2018
6.6

Wasn't the worst. Wasn't the best. Service was appalling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with our staff- they're usually very lovely and happy to help, just ask! :) We hope you loved exploring Lisbon and had a great vacation!

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2018
5.1

Cleanliness is wrong and full of blokes coming to get their marijuana experience..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! There's all sorts of guests- as long as everyone is respectful of each other and the house rules, everyone can do their thing! Our staff does clean all rooms, bathrooms and common areas each morning- sorry that you didn't have a great experience with this! We hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2017
8.0

Very good hostel in a cool neighborhood, perfect for one night. As they clearly state, you get what you pay for, so reception isn’t great and rooms aren’t super nice or clean but good enough. Bar had a great happy hour and fun bartenders, not a huge party atmosphere but great place to start and end your night. Free breakfast in the morning was also an added bonus. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're looking forward to your next visit :)

  • virginiavillarruel823
  • Argentina, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
10.0

Very nice experience. I strongly recommend this hostel!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're happy you had such a good time staying with us! We're looking forward to your next visit to beautiful Amsterdam :)

  • paris_juanmu3483
  • Colombia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2017
8.6

Perfect hostel for anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam for a few days, great value for money, the included breakfast is also great, the locker you get has a bunch of space, and the staff was very welcoming and helpful all around. Obviously one of its most appealing features is its location, overall great for people wanting to discover Amsterdam and know they're always just a few-minutes walk away from it. Biggest downside is the cleanliness, but it's ok if you're just staying for the night sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to keep improving! We hope you did have a great time in Amsterdam, and hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2017
7.4

Hans bringer was what it said it was, a budget hostel. Toilets were quite smelly and the beds had no ladders to the top bunk, but otherwise was good value. Had an amazing happy hour with great drinks specials!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the Hans Brinker! Almost all rooms already have the new beds with ladders, sorry that wasn't the case during your stay. We are in the process of revamping and updating several of the hostel's facilities, so we're excited to show them off when you visit next!

  • georgiasuttonhitch9114
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at Hans Brinker! The staff were lovely and friendly, the rooms were basic but clean and everything worked! Would 100% recommend to anyone staying in Amsterdam. Make sure to visit Nader Grill just down the road from the hostel, Boris is a wonderful host and the steaks are out of this world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for our review and for recommending us to your friends! We'll pass on the praise to Boris :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×