Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 6045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 6045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mcald0598298
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2018
9.1

After reading the other reviews, I was prepared for much worse! This hostel is great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Keeping your expectations low is great, then everything is great once you stay here :) We do like to keep it basic, but the essentials are always there! Plus, who doesn't love 2 happy hours per day?

  • tomchamp99
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2018
9.1

there was a whole team there when we stayed and they were quite loud. other than that great hostel, facilities, and the drinks and food downstairs are a really good price for the food you get.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you have any noise complaints, our 24/7 reception staff is happy to help!

  • Brennamei
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
8.0

The location is perfect!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the central location, there's always something fun to see or do just around the corner! :)

1st Apr 2018
6.9

First of all, they announce happy hour over loudspeakers inside of the rooms... unexpected and uninvited. Why is there a loudspeaker in every room? Bathroom is in the room which is very noisy and stinky. Nice outdoor patio... if you ignore the vomit. Good included breakfast. But they know how to market themselves... you get what’s advertised.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're glad you moved passed the vomit and still enjoyed the patio. Hans Brinker happy hours are two of the happiest hours throughout the day- the one we happily announce is from 17:00-18:00 and the other from midnight until 1:00. We're glad you did have a good breakfast and hope you had a great time exploring the city!

  • Gymik
  • Czech Republic, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Apr 2018
9.7

All was great except the fact that Amsterdam is overall an expensive city and that our roommate snored a lot :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! For guests with snoring roommates, we also give out free earplugs at the front desk! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2018
4.9

Receptions was extremely unpleasant. We took a 6 bed mixed dorm. The room smelt like vomit and the beds were dirty. We ended up leaving and going to another hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Sorry to hear that you didn't have a great stay. When sharing a room with others, it can sometimes be fun and awesome, and sometimes you get a roommate that might have had one too many. We hope you did end up having a lovely time in Amsterdam!

  • ankur19sach5838
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2018
8.0

Pros: good hostel , great location and atmosphere . Breakfast is perfect. There is a bar at reception and disk under the hostel. Cons: Room/Bathroom was bit older and bit smelly. But Value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're glad you had a fun stay with us during your time in Amsterdam! Come visit again soon :)

  • ypolianski7736
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
8.3

Good, BUT they close the only public space at night. I checked out at night and didn't have place to pack my bag. My neighbors were sleeping so I did it in the corridor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! You can always pack your bag ahead of time and then enjoy the bar and/or club until you have to check out :) We have a free storage area where you can store your luggage!

  • laurencoyneemail59
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2018
9.4

For a hostel that advertises itself as the worst in the world, we were both very pleasantly surprised! We stayed in a twin room and it was clean, spacious and had an ensuite bathroom. Downstairs was a bar with a continental breakfast included in the morning, and there was a 24 hr reception so we could check out early enough to go for our flight at the end of the trip. It is also a perfect location with a short walk into the centre and nearby lots of shops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you and your friend were pleasantly surprised! We're looking forward to your next visit- you know where to find us!

  • manikanthkolla901828
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2018
4.3

I’m not happy with the cleanliness, ambience and staff

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Our staff is happy to help with any questions or concerns you might have- all you have to do is ask. Our staff cleans all rooms, bathrooms and common areas daily- sorry to hear that we didn't meet your standards. We hope you did enjoy exploring he city!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×