Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 6391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 6391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Oct 2018
8.6

Good location; nice free breakfast, good bar in the evenings. Room slightly smelly, but that is it regarding complaint. Otherwise good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect, thanks a lot! Hope to see you again in either our hostel in Amsterdam or Lisbon :-)

  • sarahwebby19986113
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Sep 2018
7.7

Would stay here again, however expect a loud hostel! Cleaning staff are not quiet! Nor is the club downstairs, however if you need somewhere close to the city centre with pretty good facilities, a great bar! And a fun atmosphere! This is the one!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect review, thanks a lot!

  • pranil17119669
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Sep 2018
9.1

Good hostel, close to the city center and De Wallen. Absolutely recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot! Hope to see you again :-)

  • ashleyhurkett9077
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2018
9.1

Great location, basic rooms but you get what you pay for. Very loud at night but it was expected with a nightclub in the basement. The beds were sooooo comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice review! Thanks a lot :-) Please stay with us again either in Amsterdam or Lisbon!

  • inpsyc4272
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
5.7

I must tell you I am very disappointed in my stay. All I needed/wanted was a clean bed for a few hours. I was travelling for one night only, before returning home and just needed a clean bed. I did not have breakfast or use any of the main facilities. I stayed in 412 bed A, Friday night and have several bed bug bites which are still bothering me. I just hope they did not come back home. I wrote to the staff after my stay, not wanting anything but to let then know and no response given.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very sorry that your experience with us was this bad! It shouldn't be like this. I'm glad you've informed our staff, because we take this problem very serious, and as soon as we get a report from it, we treat the room with special cleansing so it can't happen again. Besides this I do hope you had a good stay.

  • blegear4084
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Sep 2018
8.3

We were put in a 6 person room instead of an 8 person room which was nice but the people in our room were all a lot older than us and quite odd. The atmosphere in the bar was a bit dead which could probably be helped by making the happy hour later as it’s at 5-6 which is annoying. Apart from that it was a good hostel and the breakfast was great! Also in a great location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Sep 2018
10.0

The best hostel I've ever stayed. I'm definitely going to stay there again and I super recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much!! We hope to see you again :-)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Sep 2018
6.0

Room windows and toilet leaked. We stayed with a group and booked an extra night but we had to confirm 4 times with staff across three days that we didn’t need to change rooms. Then last minute we were informed we had to change rooms so got up early, packed our bags and arrived at reception to be told we could stay in the same room! Stayed the night and woke nice and early to construction workers scraping the walls either side of our dorm!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and I am sorry about the confusion if you had to change rooms or not. I hope you enjoyed beuaitufl Amsterdam!

  • Sebas13cv
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2018
10.0

I was extremely happy with my stay here. From A to Z everything was amazing. The facilities within the hostel are great, nice restaurant and bar plus it has a lot of space to do various activities. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The security in the place was outstanding as well as the location. I coulndn't be any happier with my stay. Will definitely recommend it and go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2018
9.1

Good hostel but the rooms are very tiny. We had an annoying couple who took way too long to do anything and we could never access our stuff and the shared bathroom for 6 people was okay, just sucks when your roommates are nasty. The breakfast was average, Beds were comfy and the staff was great and you cannot beat the happy hour there & the location was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Sorry about the annoying couple ;-) I hope you enjoyed Amsterdam!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×