Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 2316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 2316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • baljeetd5228
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2018
6.6

Great location. Staff a bit uninterested. No atmosphere really which is ok as the location more than makes up for everything. The shower was blocked but again I didn’t report it as value for money was good. The only real gripe is that the walls ceiling and floor in my room were painted black. This was really depressing. The hotel reception and stairs are all black too. As a person who likes light and brightness I found it reallydepressing. Bring a bucket of white paint with you here :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • RICKYSOMETHING
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2018
7.7

The place is good. The location is great (only a block from the bulldog hostel and red light district). Warning, if you have ANY type of leg/foot/walking trouble, you will not like the stairs here. They are extremely narrow and go almost straight up. The steps are about 8inches from front/back so a normal person has to walk sideways with back against wall because a shoe will not properly fit unless turned sideways. I did 1 night here then went to bulldog 2 nights. Not bad for 1 night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • walid_abaza4344
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2018
8.6

perfect location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2018
8.0

Hostel is decent, the best part being it's location. Very near to Amsterdam central and in red light district. Space is little congested but fair place for shorter stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessicaaprilkilby7259
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2018
7.1

Location was perfect. Cannot fault the staff, friendly and helpful. It is a bit pricey for a hostel. Facilities weren't great, the plug on my bedside was broken, not a great deal of light in the room and the shower flooded constantly. When the shower flooded it would flood all the way to the toilet. The hostel's solution was to put a rolled up towel on the floor to try and stop it. Also could do with more than one toilet and shower when there's 8 people sharing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tardis421691
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2018
5.1

Location is fantastic, perfect for a city break stay. Unfortunately the shower riser in our room was broken, as was the toilet seat. You could see mound growing in the grout in the tiles, and the decore throughout is generally tired. Beds were comfy. Staff lost our first key after we leafy it at reception and went out for the day, which was disconcerting. Breakfast not included. Generally for the money we paid the value was poor. Trading on location rather than quality.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kreich13833
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2018
6.0

Don't stay here unless you are okay with a loud, smokey environment. The hostel is definitely meant for people that are going out in the Red light district almost every night. Stay in a private room unless you are okay with the other guests in your room coming back very late.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Mar 2018
4.3

Located in the red light district was somewhat an issue. Says 24hr reception/no curfew but the staff working the desk would lock the front door for “security”& not be at the desk to let you in. The room was a sketchy shed in the back deck of the hostel,dirty with cobwebs,torn plastic wall paper of who knows what movie,broken off ladder on the bunk bed with sharp metal,no guard rails on the bed. Meh attitude from the staff. Things could have been worse but they weren’t good either.Not recommended

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • connnor247
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2018
7.7

If you’ve come to sesh this is a banging hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Dolby21
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2018
4.0

Never any loo roll staff rude and the only hostel I have stayed at where things have been stolen even saw on member of staff cleaning an excrement stained big brush in the sink of our room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×